We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Airport Hotel in Albuquerque” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1921 Yale Blvd. SE, Albuquerque, NM 87106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Chicago Suburbs
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Good Airport Hotel in Albuquerque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Recently (Oct. 2011) I needed to stay overnight in ABQ. I came from Santa Fe by shuttle to the airport & had some meetings at the UNM, which is near the airport. I picked this hotel because they had a free shuttle that picked me up at the airport & I could use it like a taxi to get back & forth to the UNM. (I travel often with my husband & we stay at 4-star places on vacation, so I'm a little fussy.)

This Holiday Inn was nice as far as this type of chain hotel goes--just a fairly ordinary business traveler's hotel at the airport--fairly new & maybe a little above average, but what made it a great stay for me was the excellent front desk staff, especially the morning desk clerk, Bill. So often nowdays, moderately-priced hotels have inexperienced 20-somethings at the front desk, who don't know how to handle or have any desire to solve problems. The front desk staff at this Holiday Inn was staffed by polite, efficient adults who really seemed to care about the guests & were willing to "go the extra mile" when necessary.

My room was clean & quiet at the end of a long hall. The decor was typical, contemporary hotel furniture. The bed was a little firm, but that's what I like. The breakfast was above average. Among the many offerings, one day they had some good sausage, biscuits & gravy. Another day their sausage links were tasty. They served fresh fruit & yogurt everyday. Their decaf coffee (with hazelnut creamer) was especially good & you could pick up a free copy of "USA Today" each day. They had WiFi in the rooms & a small office center with 2 computers & printer.

I'm sort of a picky eater, so the thing I didn't like was that there was only an Applebees nearby for dinner (which seemed to be frequented mainly by single men with shaved heads & women wearing tight, low cut tops--you get the picture I think. Since I was on my own, I didn't feel like exploring anyplace further away, so I ordered a very dull carry-out sandwich & took it back to my room.)

Be prepared to speak Spanish if you need to talk to the chambermaids.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABQYI, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review of your stay at our property! It was truly a pleasure to read! I will be sure to pass on to Bill your kind words. I am so pleased to hear that he and the rest of our staff made you feel welcomed. It is great that our complimentary shuttle service worked out well for you. Should you join us again don't forget that our three mile radius encompasses a great many restaurants so if Applebee's is not to your liking we can provide door to door service for lots of great cuisine! Thank you again for your kind and thoughtful review and thank you for being our guest!

Molly Judd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    67
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
54
51
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reno
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I love the Holiday Inn Express Brand and stay at them often. I thought this property was below average when compared to other Holiday Inn Express locations I have stayed at in the past year. The staff wasn't friendly on check in and when we were in the lobby and at breakfast. The breakfasts ended early one day when we got there with a few minutes to spare after viewing the balloon fiesta. Overall, not the best experience but I would try it again in the future to see if it was just something with the staff and management that was on during my stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABQYI, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of our property. I am terribly sorry to hear that you did not feel that we were up to the standards that you have come to expect from our properties. I will be bringing your comments and concerns to the attention of all staff involved as well as making sure that we all work to keep this from happening again. I am pleased to hear that if in the area again you are willing to give us another shot. I am sure you will find that we have corrected all the issues you encountered and have used your valuable feedback as a learning opportunity. I thank you for pointing out our challenges as this is always our best means of improvement. If you have any further questions or concerns I invite you to contact me directly so that we may further discuss them. Thank you again!

Molly Judd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed at this hotel recently for a conference (altho' this wasn't the conference "hotel") and was happy with my choice. While a basic hotel, it does offer comfortable rooms with excellent bed linens and matresses. The room was spacious for my purposes and the free WiFi was great. The included breakfast was "continental" but included eggs, bacon and pancakes, if one wished for them. I would say it was fairly basic, but the breakfast food was well stocked, whether you came down at 7 or 9 am. (Some places you have to get there early or you are out of luck!). I greatly appreciated the hotel shuttle service which made getting around easy (they even took me to Old Town one day which certainly exceeds their 3-mile limit). Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful. The tiny business center was stocked with paper and pens. The only drawback for me was the shower. The shower had a "rainshower" type nozzle which reduces the water pressure considerably, and also some of the holes were minteralized and the rain shower was more like a light sprinkle through a forest. The management would do better to replace those shower heads with something more standard. While the housekeeping staff was quite good, the management should have the rugs shampooed because they are starting to show dirt and wear. That is a shame because the staff does such a good job keeping everything clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABQYI, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you for taking time to post a review of your stay at our property! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our complimentary breakfast and shuttle service. I am sorry to hear that you did not find our showerheads to be to your liking. I will certainly bring your concerns to our planning department. I appreciate you bringing both that and the issue of the carpet to my attention so that I may immediately begin working to correct these issues. Our best means of improvement is always the valuable feedback that our guests can provide. Thank you again so much! We hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Molly Judd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I'm looking to switch favorite chains, and am giving Holiday Inn a chance. On the good side, the rooms were clean and nicely apportioned. The bed and pillows were fine. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. I can see the appeal of the cinnamon rolls! The pool looked decent and the workout room equipment was cheap and a little worn out - I'd recommend another hotel if that's important. there's not much in the neighborhood, but it's an easy drive to KAFB and the airport. Overall, a favorable impression!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

We had a great breakfast omelettes ham etc, I'm so impressed with the area near the airport the rental car return road signs were well positioned so I felt no stress the car rental center was well organized, fast and security was fast with many lines ready to go. I still feel the relaxation from the trip.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasilla
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011 via mobile

Staff was great!Rooms were Comfortable, black out drapes, working AC, nicely furnished with new appliances & electronics. Pool clean & was open till 11pm included a hot tub. Breakfast not the best, but still free, no major complaints. Shuttle service avail to airport, quick 5 min drive, runs every 1/2 hour starting at 4:30 am. Nice gym, small but updated & efficient, outside smoking area w/ bench for smokers. Ample parking outside. Approx 2 miles up Gibson for nearest gas station. Overall great place. Would def return!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We were upgraded to a suite which was roomy and clean. The staff was pleasant and quick to check us in and out. The only downside to the room was that the sound proofing was not great and we could hear the person in the room above us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Quiet, Pool, Bu...
Show More
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town
Free internet...
Show More
Hampton Inn & Suites Albuquerque North/I-25
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Comfort Inn Albuquerque Airport
Comfort Inn Albuquerque Airport
#13 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#1 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Pool, Budget, F...
Show More
Days Inn and Suites Airport Albuquerque
Quiet, Pool, Bu...
Show More
Menaul Development Area
La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport

Address: 1921 Yale Blvd. SE, Albuquerque, NM 87106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#14 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#44 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of the Sandia Mountains, our Albuquerque airport hotel's property offers majestic mountain views and an opportune location near outstanding attractions like downtown Albuquerque, Historic Old Town, Journal Pavilion, Isotopes Park, Balloon Fiesta Park, Sandia Tram, and Sandia and Isleta Casino. If you're traveling with kids, the Albuquerque Zoo and Natural History Museum are also nearby.Looking for outstanding hotels in Albuquerque? Consider staying with us, as we offer perks like a 24-hour fitness center, complimentary breakfast bar and high-speed Internet access throughout this Albuquerque hotel. For great deals and amenities, our modern hotel is definitely the smart choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Albuquerque Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.