We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cibola National Forest

Cibola National Forest
Albuquerque, NM
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 86 Attractions in Albuquerque
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Running
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 1.5-million-acre park whose elaborate trail system includes La Luz Trail, which climbs over 3,300 feet in nine miles.
South San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I drove through Cibola National Forest to the 10,900 foot elevation peak of Sandia Mountain and what a beautiful sight it was. The drive alone was beautiful and the view from the top took my breath away. Total driving time is about an hour from Albuquerque and it's well worth the drive. There is also a short but beautiful hiking trail that's not strenuous at all. I'd highly recommend this to anyone visiting or living in and around Albuquerque.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“At top of the Sandia Tram”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Gorgeous vistas and beautiful weather. However, this national forest is not staffed at the top of the tram station, so I was unable to get a stamp for my national parks book, nor get specific advice on hiking. I was told the national parks were unable to staff this, but given that over one million visit it annually, it should be staffed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socorro, New Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“4th July Canyon Maple Trees in Cibola Nat Forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Fourth of July Canyon/Campground is located in the Cibola National Forest on the eastern side of the Manzano Mountains and southeast of Albuquerque, NM. Within the campground area there is a large group of indigenous Bigtooth Maple trees with beautiful oranges, red, pink, and yellow foliage in October of each year. The colorful maples are where the canyon derives its name.

To reach the Fourth of July Canyon, travel to Tajique, NM on NM55 highway. On NM55, turn west (toward the mountain) just immediately south of the Tajique cemetery on Forest Road 55. In approximately 7 miles, you will arrive at the Fourth of July Canyon/Campground. Note at times, Forest Road 55 becomes dirt, rough, and single-lane roadway.

There is a trail guide dispenser near the start of Crimson Maple Trail in a small green box. This guide describes each of the 11 stops along the trail.

There is a fee for overnight camping but I believe leaf peeping is free during the day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euclid, Ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great hiking trails. Saw a herd of deer and other critters. Lovely sunset. Enjoyed our visit and the day at the forest.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very scenic drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Since the tramway was closed for annual maintenance, we took the scenic drive up to the Sandia Peaks. The drive was very nice and we got some great pictures on the way.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cibola National Forest also viewed

 

Been to Cibola National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cibola National Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.