We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but not what I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science

New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science
1801 Mountain Rd. NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
505-841-2800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 183 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors explore the origins and geological history of the American Southwest through vivid displays including dinosaur models, ice-age cave replicas, a naturalist center and a walk-through volcano.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting but not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We enjoyed our visit to the Museum but was disappointed that it was so small. We expected to see more. The exhibits are nicely done. But we were through it in about 1 hour. The gift shop was fun and full of cool stuff for kids and adults alike.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dallas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good use of time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Had a day to myself and decided to explore. This is ABQ so its not the biggest museum but worth the time and money if you have it. Saw the Jerusalem exhibit and that was pretty cool.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ladynitro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“It's New Mexico History at it's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Whether you're going just for the museum, or you're in Old Town shopping, just pop out the back of Old Town to the east and it backs up to the parking area. It's right there. From the beginning of time...or close to it, the museum takes you through all the history of New Mexico, as any good Natural History museum should.

From kids to adults, it's a great learning experience. Set aside half a day if you really want to get into the true history of the area. It's NOT to be missed!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LasVegasSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best museum yet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Finally someone put some thought into the flow and layout of a museum. The story of our earth is displayed on it's historical order. Unlike others wher you see ancient greece in a room next to a room of american craftsmen period. Many of the diplays are hands on and you are encouraged to touch. Wow i touched a dinosaurs egg and huge leg bone.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maryann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

It IS a nice museum , but was built more for grade school and younger in mind. our guys are teenagers and were quite bored.

Helpful?
Thank Kenda_P_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science also viewed

 

Been to New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing