We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science

New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science
1801 Mountain Rd. NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
505-841-2800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 86 Attractions in Albuquerque
Type: Natural History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors explore the origins and geological history of the American Southwest through vivid displays including dinosaur models, ice-age cave replicas, a naturalist center and a walk-through volcano.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

For such a small city, Albuquerque has a very nice Natural history Museum, I have visited other ones in major cities that were not as good.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    98
    34
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewood, New Mexico
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Local Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

For its size and location, the NM Museum of Natural History and Science is a wonderful place to take kids. The admission price if well worth the exhibits, from the dinosaurs to the formation of the Earth to the volcano exhibits. You can easily spend a few hours here and the staff is always friendly and helpful. The main exhibits change often and the restaurant isn't bad. The gift shop is nice also. I've been to several other Natural History museums around the country and this is actually one of the better ones.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A Trip Through Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The short version: A collection of live animals, fossils, and a variety of other exhibits make this a worthwhile stop in Albuquerque.

The long version: My wife and I recently moved to Albuquerque and have been seeing all of the local attractions on the weekends. This trip just happened to be on the first of the month, when they have free admission to the non-special exhibits for New Mexico residents. We did not visit the Planetarium theater, the DynaTheater, or the Titanic exhibit (based on other reviews here), which all would have cost more.

We arrived on a Sunday morning at about 10:30, and it wasn't too crowded. We picked up a map, but just started walking around. I would recommend others looking at the map because you'll see, as we did at the end of our tour when I checked to make sure we didn't miss anything, that there's an intended order in which you should visit the exhibits. We didn't know this, and just walked around - often times going the wrong way through exhibits.

We walked past the gift shop and cafe to the lobby where there was a giant replica of a T-Rex skeleton. We appreciated the plaques near each of the fossil exhibits throughout the museum telling which parts of the skeletons were actual fossils and which were man-made. The lobby also had a special travelling fossil exhibit for the day, where kids could pan for gold, uncover fossils, make stone bracelets, and other activities. There was a nice collection of rocks and minerals off the lobby.

The first major exhibit we walked into was the Start Up exhibit, about the history of computers and the Microsoft/Bill Gates connection to Albuquerque. There was a short video playing called "Rise of the Machines" - I would highly recommend it. The presentation was very entertaining - from the point of view of older computers (with personalities) as they talked about the history of computing. There were two controllers in the corners of the room, and after the presentation was done, visitors could play a version of Pong up on the big screen. This was my favorite part of the museum.

From there we went to the space/planetarium section. Other than the projector globe, this was a bit underwhelming (although we didn't go into the planetarium to see the movie, which could have redeemed this exhibit). There were small exhibit about caves, volcanoes, the history of sea life (including some small aquariums with starfish, rays, anemones, and some small fish), dinosaurs (including many more fossil collections), climate history, and the origins of the universe. There was a small room called the "Evolator" near the sea coast and volcano exhibits which played a small video (which looks like it was filmed in the early 90's) looking at what the Albuquerque area looked like throughout millions of years of history. Off of the lobby, there was a space to view people working on fossils, and there was another small room with specimens (both alive and dead) of local animals including spiders, snakes, frogs, and more.

All in all, it was an enjoyable visit. We spent probably a little over 3 hours there, but we didn't stop and read all of the information in all of the exhibits - there was a lot of writing on walls. There were also a lot of interactive exhibits, but shortly after we got there, it became very crowded - especially with families with children. Rather than wait our turn for some of these exhibits, we just kept walking through (you know how children can be). And again, if we had paid for admission, we probably would have spent more time seeing movies in the planetarium and DynaTheater. I don't know that I would go again, but it's definitely worth seeing once (especially on a free admission Sunday). There was a free parking lot, and right next door was the Explora center (which we haven't been to yet) and the Tiguex Centennial Park. I think if you take your kids, you could make a very long day out of all three activities.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place for the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Not much time spent here. This is great if your with kids, it'll give you plenty of time to teach them something. At most an adult can burn through here within 20-30 mins.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Morro, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love to Learn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great place to learn! Atmosphere is quiet. Loved to go when I was writing essays and presentations for school!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science also viewed

 

Been to New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.