We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River of Lights was magical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albuquerque Biological Park

Albuquerque Biological Park
2601 Central Ave. NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (West Old Town)
505 764 6200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 123 attractions in Albuquerque
Type: Aquariums, Zoos, Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Park complex offering three main sections the whole family can enjoy: Albuquerque Aquarium, Rio Grande Botanic Garden and Rio Grande Zoo.
Fenton, MO.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“River of Lights was magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

While visiting Albuquerque, we found a brochure for the River of Lights holiday attraction in the Bio Park. I called the organization for information; the city employee who took my call was patient with my questions and provided useful information. We attended the event on a warm night in early December. It was magical with many areas lit with different types of light exhibits, from those that appeared to be moving, to those surrounding a lake, and others that provided entertainment for those of all ages. Before going, I thought the $12 tickets were expensive, but it was well worth it...I would go every year if I was in Albuquerque.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    139
    21
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IF ID
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Glad We Visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We visited this attraction the day after Christmas. Although most of the plants were in winter mode, the park still had enough attractions both indoors and outside to make the visit worthwhile. Another plus during this visit was the Christmas light decorations, which were beautiful and well done. Finally, we were pleasantly surprised at how large this park is.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimmitt, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“River of Lights a holiday MUST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

During our visit to Albuquerque we became aware of a delightful holiday tradition at the Bio Park called River of Lights. The entire park is transformed into a magical place of lights with everything from butterflies to dinosaurs. Great place for families and a must for children. Tickets were $12 but worth every penny. A free park and ride is offered and is the best way to go. The shuttle drops you off right at the front entrance and you have no parking hassles. Best tip...go early in the evening to avoid the large crowds. Hot chocolate and snacks are available for purchase in the park.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“great small aquarium and botanic gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Not to be missed attraction if you have kids or teens, and great for adults too. The aquarium is small but worth seeing. The botanic gardens were worth seeing even in the winter, particularly for the indoor desert garden. The combo ticket is the best because it includes zoo entrance and the train between them. The River of Lights in the botanic gardens was spectacular and the best we've ever seen anywhere. The Shark Reef café in the aquarium was also great, especially the evening buffet in front of the shark tank to watch sharks, rays, turtles, and other fish while dining.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
431 reviews 431 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“River of Lights!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Exceeded my expectations! This old dude has been through several similar holiday light displays around the country over the years and this is without exception the absolute best ever! The amount of detail, care in display and creativity is way beyond anything I expected. If you missed it this year, make plans for next year!

The train display was also the best I have ever seen. What a great time I spent with my sister & her boyfriend!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albuquerque Biological Park also viewed

 

Been to Albuquerque Biological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albuquerque Biological Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Albuquerque Biological Park to your Saves list