We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Children's area is very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albuquerque Biological Park

Albuquerque Biological Park
2601 Central Ave. NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (West Old Town)
505 764 6200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 86 Attractions in Albuquerque
Type: Gardens, Aquariums, Zoos, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Park complex offering three main sections the whole family can enjoy: Albuquerque Aquarium, Rio Grande Botanic Garden and Rio Grande Zoo.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
128 attraction reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
426 helpful votes 426 helpful votes
“Children's area is very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

On our way to Albuquerque Old Town we happened to find this place. We didn't have a lot of time, but we stopped for about an hour or so. The parking lot was huge and there was no charge. We were able to get in for free to the gardens.

It is located on 52 acres of land near the Rio Grande River.

We enjoyed the Heritage Farm with an adobe farmhouse, a beautiful pond, lovely flowers, rare plants area and a children's area that was fun. The Children’s area is sponsored by the Rotary Club and is called the Children’s Fantasy Garden. You do not have to be a child to enjoy this area! It was fabulous. You could walk inside of a super size pumpkin (not a real one) and learn about the insides. If it has been a long trip – take your kids here.

There is also a zoo and an aquarium nearby, that we did not have a chance to see. Those areas have a fee. We will tour more of the park the next time we come and have more time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    164
    25
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Great Fun for the WHOLE Family- STAFF APPEARS TO NEED MORE TRAINING.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love this place. I go quite often. It's clean. On a few occasions I've seen people reach into the trout display and try to catch the fish (GROWN ADULTS with kids watching). Several times I've flagged down workers who did nothing to stop this from happening. I've seen the same thing happen with the stingrays. When I talked to staff about this, they offer a weak apology. It's not about apologizing to me. It's about taking better care of your animals.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Provides entertainment for the whole family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Zoo is very nice. We enjoyed the aquarium also. Price is reasonable (we have become annual members). Parking is easy and close. Staff always helpful and friendly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent biopark!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

From the holiday season light tour to the first-class aquarium, the Albuquerque BioPark is always a thoroughly refreshing place to visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Maybe good for kids and better in warm weather”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The aquarium was OK, a nice refuge from the cold but quite small by comparison. In winter the botanic gardens have little to offer unless seen at night when the holiday lights are on display. The conservatories were nice, but also quite small.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albuquerque Biological Park also viewed

 

Been to Albuquerque Biological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albuquerque Biological Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.