We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene ans surreal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albuquerque Biological Park

Albuquerque Biological Park
2601 Central Ave. NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (West Old Town)
505 764 6200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 125 Attractions in Albuquerque
Type: Aquariums, Zoos, Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Park complex offering three main sections the whole family can enjoy: Albuquerque Aquarium, Rio Grande Botanic Garden and Rio Grande Zoo.
rio rancho, nm
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Serene ans surreal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Have never been able to decide if I like the "Alice in Wonderland" section or the magnificent formal rose garden/wedding chapel best. Great summer concerts! Docents are always happy to share their love of botany.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    159
    25
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A great break from business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I squeezed in an early morning visit to the Botanical Gardens and Aquarium in Albquerque NM in November. I arrived at 9am (avoided the school kid rush) and had the place almost to myself. This time of year lots of the plants were browning and losing their leaves. The Japanese Gardens were spectacular, don't miss the waterfalls and the many winding paths to vignettes. They were setting up for the Christmas light displays which looked to be wonderful.

The Aquarium is small and nothing spectacular but a nice contrast to the gardens. Great price for both, much less expensive than other gardens I've visited.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Sorry - not impressed with the plastic lights...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I had a day to myself while my husband was in a conference so I thought ths would be a perfect place to visit. It wasn't. They were already setting up lights for Christmas throughout the park and it really took away from the beauty of the gardens. It was mid-October when I visited so it really was out-of-place. I stepped into the reptile room to be greeted by a man who was hiding a large cock-roach in his hands. I couldn't leave fast enough. The aquarium seemed very small - though well maintained. I probably just went on a wrong day but to me it wasn't nearly as nice as the reviews indicated.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Amazing gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great gardens with themes like Japanese, Mediterranean, southwest, curanderos, tropical, butterfly, children's, etc. plus nearby aquarium. You can spend the whole day there, easy parking, different in all seasons. We are very lucky to have this.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Beautiful venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The venue was great for visiual and photography took our engagement photos there. what an experience

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albuquerque Biological Park also viewed

 

Been to Albuquerque Biological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albuquerque Biological Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.