We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Museum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albuquerque Museum

Albuquerque Museum
2000 Mountain Road NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
505 243 7255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 183 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The city's rich heritage is the focus at this museum, which features exhibits depicting the art, history and culture of the Southwest.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice Museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

For a small museum, they did a nice job. You won't see many names that you recognize, but its worth a visit particularly if you can go on a docent led tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank derrick6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Real New Mexico history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I love that New Mexico is a multi-cultural state; however, there exists the oldest Spanish colonial era culture in New Mexico(Socorro North), which is often overlooked or confused with Mexican culture to those that are not from here. The Albuquerque museum is a good showing of the original Hispano culture found in NM.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Isabandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
394 reviews
227 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
“Decent Art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Decent art works, with a good mix of art types. Good flair for the Southwest art. Kids took art classes here over multiple summers, that I would highly recommend if you live in the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bruce p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
537 reviews
351 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 659 helpful votes
“New and large museum that features both history and art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We really enjoyed this large looking museum. From the outside it really looks large and obviously rather new. It seemed to be constructed with lots of room in mind. I was a bit surprised that the displays were not larger but it was also nice to be in a museum that was not crammed together and had room for possible expansion. Inside the museum part was devoted to the history of the area and part to art by New Mexican artists that was most likely on a rotating or changing system. We enjoyed both. We also had a free walking tour of their large sculpture garden and the museum also provided a free one hour walking tour of nearby Old Town Albuquerque that was very worth while for folks from out of state. The museum also had a gift shop and a small cafe which we did not use since we dined in an Old Town restaurant. We thought the museum was very good, especially for those who were not from New Mexico. Because they were doing some renovating the museum was free when we were there recently. Guess we were lucky but we left a donation.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank unclelouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Art and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Changing art exhibits, some very wonderful and various permanent collections. Musical events in the evenings in the garden. Beautiful sculpture garden, and little paths leading to Old Town Patios. A whole section on Albuquerque and New Mexico history. Nice gift shop and branch of Slate Street Cafe for a nice lunch. Special events and programs, too.

Helpful?
Thank Linnea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albuquerque Museum also viewed

 

Been to Albuquerque Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing