We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Museum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albuquerque Museum

Albuquerque Museum
2000 Mountain Road NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
505 243 7255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 201 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The city's rich heritage is the focus at this museum, which features exhibits depicting the art, history and culture of the Southwest.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

For a small museum, they did a nice job. You won't see many names that you recognize, but its worth a visit particularly if you can go on a docent led tour.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    86
    14
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Real New Mexico history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I love that New Mexico is a multi-cultural state; however, there exists the oldest Spanish colonial era culture in New Mexico(Socorro North), which is often overlooked or confused with Mexican culture to those that are not from here. The Albuquerque museum is a good showing of the original Hispano culture found in NM.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
194 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
390 helpful votes 390 helpful votes
“Decent Art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Decent art works, with a good mix of art types. Good flair for the Southwest art. Kids took art classes here over multiple summers, that I would highly recommend if you live in the area.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
508 reviews 508 reviews
339 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
651 helpful votes 651 helpful votes
“New and large museum that features both history and art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We really enjoyed this large looking museum. From the outside it really looks large and obviously rather new. It seemed to be constructed with lots of room in mind. I was a bit surprised that the displays were not larger but it was also nice to be in a museum that was not crammed together and had room for possible expansion. Inside the museum part was devoted to the history of the area and part to art by New Mexican artists that was most likely on a rotating or changing system. We enjoyed both. We also had a free walking tour of their large sculpture garden and the museum also provided a free one hour walking tour of nearby Old Town Albuquerque that was very worth while for folks from out of state. The museum also had a gift shop and a small cafe which we did not use since we dined in an Old Town restaurant. We thought the museum was very good, especially for those who were not from New Mexico. Because they were doing some renovating the museum was free when we were there recently. Guess we were lucky but we left a donation.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Art and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Changing art exhibits, some very wonderful and various permanent collections. Musical events in the evenings in the garden. Beautiful sculpture garden, and little paths leading to Old Town Patios. A whole section on Albuquerque and New Mexico history. Nice gift shop and branch of Slate Street Cafe for a nice lunch. Special events and programs, too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albuquerque Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albuquerque Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.