We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Route 66 - Central Avenue downtown - good daytime stroll” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Avenue

Central Avenue
Albuquerque, NM (Huning Highland Historic District)
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 86 Attractions in Albuquerque
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: Walking, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Street with full range of nightlife from restaurants to bars to a comedy club and a musical theater.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Old Route 66 - Central Avenue downtown - good daytime stroll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

While Route 66 ventures for miles, stopping in the downtown Albuquerque portion, where it is Central Avenue, is a good afternoon jaunt. It offers a taste of the "old city" with some quirky coffee shops, a few galleries and a must go: Skip Maisels - the best stop for wholesale native American jewelry and crafts in Albuquerque. It is fun for an afternoon, but does shut down a bit after dark.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Familiarity breeds contempt?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

While I'm not really contemptuous of Central Avenue, to me it is "just" basically Albuquerque's main street. It's reputation is rather unsavory, which becomes more unsavory the farther from UNM you travel. It's not a street I'd cruise for the fun of it. As far as I'm concerned, Central is the street you take to get off the freeway and to go somewhere else in Albuquerque.

Added: the system would not allow me to pick multiple "sorts of visit"; I've been down central with family, on business, with friends. I ended up choosing Business as I couldn't "back out" of my choices. I have been on Central Ave. many times since at least spring of 1972 (if any earlier, I don't remember) but again the system doesn't allow for multiple dates. I chose June, 2013 because that's the last time I was on Central for business.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“They are trying!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

There are stretches that are really nice, and stretches that are gross! Nob Hill and several blocks East and West are great (hate to see the chain stores coming in though!) The UNM area is OK. West of the freeway is getting better, and downtown is interesting for the architecture alone.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stumbling and going from poor to great...piece by piece”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a case where the round robin of private company makes investment, city makes public investments to support the area then another private round of investment happens and then again private....
This area has the love of the old rt 66 complete with neon on the section between UNM and east to almost San Mateo where it hits the underbelly of the city. I like it a lot since the city redid the street lighting and made other improvements to walkability. The area is well served by transit and unfortunately the city is considering making an out of character investment into streetcar rapid transit when the logic of the route is poor and does not support the two most important urban centers of Uptown and Downtown by a better route than Central Avenue. We will miss the trees and the medians if the politicians accept this project. Otherwise the area is well stocked with variations of cuisine and ecletic bars and nooks and crannies filled with interesting shops.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“GO at your OWN RISK!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'm in this area on a regular basis. This is a bad area- especially at night. Albuquerque Police are slow to respond and sometimes complacent. There are many cool shops to visit but go during the DAY. Lock your car and hide or remove anything of any value. If you go during the day, prepare to be approached by street people asking for money. If it's been windy at all, be prepared to walk through garbage on the sidewalk.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Avenue also viewed

Albuquerque, NM
Albuquerque, NM
 
Albuquerque, NM
Albuquerque, NM
 

Been to Central Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.