We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trinity Site

Trinity Site
Albuquerque, NM
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 86 Attractions in Albuquerque
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The exact spot where the first atomic bomb was detonated.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A hard place to get to, but once you're there, you can understand why the site was chosen. Being open for public access only twice a year, the first Sunday in April, and first Sunday in October, is a hinderance, but worth planning a visit around. Once you're there it is an "AWESOME" experience to stand where the first nuclear bomb was detonated, and see the site where Oppenheimer and the other scientists lived.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    19
    10
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Super Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very historic and with the old world style. Nice place to take pictures. Children might not like it - to boring for them.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“It's is only open to see during certain times of the year”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

There isn't a whole lot to see as far as where the explosion took place. I don't think I have to mention why. One of the old buildings where they worked on the bomb is still standing but not much to it. Just a bit of history that started the Cold War not much less what the bombs did to Japan.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Helps bring history to Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This event (only open to the public twice a year) has been on my husband's bucket list for some time. I am very glad we scheduled it for our western trip this year. It is certainly worth seeing. It helps put everything in perspective. One of the volunteers was answering questions and was so educational and informative that I could have spent all day listening to him.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aztec, New Mexico
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A unique visit to a one of a kind historic event.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This was my fifth visit to a ground zero and was the best site in New Mexico. The other two in NM are Projects Gassbuggy and Gnome. Both of those were just plaques on the ground. The other two sites visited were Hiroshima and Nagasaki.

The While Sands bunch really provide more activities than just plaques including a visit to the restored ranch house where the "gadget" was put together.

The total time from arrival to departure (including wait time for the gates to open at 8am) was about 2.5 hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trinity Site also viewed

 

Been to Trinity Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trinity Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.