We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trinity Site

Trinity Site
Albuquerque, NM
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 206 things to do in Albuquerque
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The exact spot where the first atomic bomb was detonated.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A hard place to get to, but once you're there, you can understand why the site was chosen. Being open for public access only twice a year, the first Sunday in April, and first Sunday in October, is a hinderance, but worth planning a visit around. Once you're there it is an "AWESOME" experience to stand where the first nuclear bomb was detonated, and see the site where Oppenheimer and the other scientists lived.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    26
    12
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very historic and with the old world style. Nice place to take pictures. Children might not like it - to boring for them.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Helps bring history to Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This event (only open to the public twice a year) has been on my husband's bucket list for some time. I am very glad we scheduled it for our western trip this year. It is certainly worth seeing. It helps put everything in perspective. One of the volunteers was answering questions and was so educational and informative that I could have spent all day listening to him.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aztec, New Mexico
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A unique visit to a one of a kind historic event.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This was my fifth visit to a ground zero and was the best site in New Mexico. The other two in NM are Projects Gassbuggy and Gnome. Both of those were just plaques on the ground. The other two sites visited were Hiroshima and Nagasaki.

The While Sands bunch really provide more activities than just plaques including a visit to the restored ranch house where the "gadget" was put together.

The total time from arrival to departure (including wait time for the gates to open at 8am) was about 2.5 hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“It's not physically much but it's so much more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My visit to Trinity was unexpected and the ride is long, but I traveled with several Nuclear Physicists and self proclaimed science geeks (we all work with Radiation even if we don't know the true dynamics of it). I'm not sure what you're expecting with a four hour drive through the desert, but to feel the historical power and prowess of a place is more than words to describe. Understanding how a place is forever marked by actions over a generation ago is eye-opening and its worth the trip if you're nearby on one of the public days.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trinity Site also viewed

 

Been to Trinity Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trinity Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.