We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You need to update the inside of this hotel it is dated and...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque

Save Saved
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1511 Gibson Blvd SE, Albuquerque, NM 87106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #62 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
El Paso
1 review
“You need to update the inside of this hotel it is dated and...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

You need to update the inside of this hotel it is dated and the staff needs some help. But the bed was ok and it was a good price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deven N, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for posting the comments on Tripadvisor. We appreciate guest giving us their views through this portal. We have planned upgrades in process on certain areas so as to meet the guest satisfaction and more enjoyable stay all the time. Once again Thank you for stay and wish to serve you better on all your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    171
    115
    57
    34
See reviews for
176
116
55
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vienna, austria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed at this property for just one night in mid January. I chose this hotel for the location and the competitive rate of USD 50.- (+tax).

This is an older property by the airport and both the common areas and my rooms showed some wear and tear (especially the bathroom and the a/c unit), but everything was in working condition. Also, the room seemed “hotel clean”. No issues here.

Check-in took longer than usual because their system did not “like” my primary credit card, although it was the same card that I used to guarantee the room. What was remarkable that the lady at the check-in took the time to actually try to sort it out and even discussed possible solutions with the manager. Although it did not really work out, the whole process was a positive experience, just for actually trying to solve an issue. Although this hotel is not new or perfect the attentiveness of the staff makes the difference in a positive sense.

The room itself was quiet (with no airplane noise) with a fridge, microwave, and very comfortable beds (and some wear and tear). Free WIFI was working OK, but not particularly fast. Windows could be opened, which I consider a particular plus. Also, breakfast which is included in the rate was quite good.

So, all in all it was really good value for the money paid. If I will be ever again in the ABQ area, I will happily return to the Hawthorn Suites Albuquerque.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

We are very thankful to have customers like you, We apologize for the issues you had during check inn and we are glad we were able to rectify them as soon as possible. We are in the process of renovating areas of our hotel and we are updating some of the dated items as well.

WE take pride in making sure all areas inside the rooms/ AC, TV Bathroom are always 100% functional and clean .

We are also in the process of upgrading the WIFI service to a faster one.

Thank you so much for your valuable time !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberal
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Staff seemed uninterested upon arrival, during stay and upon checkout. Ice machine on 2nd floor was plugged in, but did not work. No vending machine on 2nd floor. Went to front desk to check for ice and told there was ice on the 2nd and 3rd floors. When I advised them of the situation on the 2nd floor, there was no apology for inconveniencing a guest. Breakfast was just okay. Probably will not stay again. I think it is geared for UNM sports fans in for games.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deven N, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for the comments, it really helps us to make changes towards making the guest stays comforatable and enjoyable. I truly apologized for some inconvinience you have faced during your stay with the ice machine not working and front desk not informing you about it. I will personally look into this and take necessary action. Guest stay satisfaction is our highest priority and hope we will get a chance to serve you better on your next stay.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Juanita at check in was wonderful....friendly & very knowledgeable about the area. Jesus was a courteous & pleasant shuttle driver when we went into the city for dinner & some nightlife. Our room (319) was nice & spacious. King bed was very comfortable & the shower was hot & strong the next morning. Breakfast was eggs, sausage links, waffles biscuits &gravy, toast, Englishmuffins, fruit, cereal, juice & coffee, & the attendant very pleasant and attentive. Would absolutely recommend this hotel & will stay here again when in the area, next.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_services2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to first of all thank you for complimenting our beds, we used Franchise certified beds to provide the most comfort for our guest's

Regarding the motion sensor lights there is a function on there to use them as a regular light ( always on) we apologize that we did not mention that during check inn .

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque

Address: 1511 Gibson Blvd SE, Albuquerque, NM 87106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#40 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque, New Mexico Prides Itself on Treating Every Traveler like Family. Enjoy an Extended Stay with Southwestern Hospitality in the Heart of New Mexico. Just Minutes from Downtown and Less than One Mile from Nearby Albuquerque International Airport, this Hotel is also near the University of New Mexico-UNM and the Albuquerque Convention Center. Take advantage of our Complimentary Airport Shuttle Service to and from the Airport. Whether you Stay for One Night or an Extended Stay, for Business or Leisure, our Convenient Location and Service will Cater to your Expectations and Guarantee you a Memorable Visit during your Stay in Historic Albuquerque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Albuquerque Hotel Albuquerque
Hawthorn Suites Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Albuquerque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.