We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass on LQ Pan American – Stay at Company Property Across Highway” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr NW

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr NW to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr NW
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7439 Pan American Fwy Northeast, Albuquerque, NM 87109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 146 hotels in Albuquerque
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Pass on LQ Pan American – Stay at Company Property Across Highway”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Having stayed at many La Quintas, this is the worst I’ve stayed in. I think a contributing factor is that this property used to be another brand, so it’s not really a ‘real’ La Quinta. There’s another La Quinta across the highway that was company built. I mistakenly drove up there first, and it looks the way you expect a LQ to look. It’s probably a much better choice.

This Pan American property is sort of like the early 70s movie that I remember called The Gang That Couldn’t Shoot Straight. The staff is nice enough and they seemed to try hard, but it’s just not up to La Quinta’s standards for cleanliness, quality and experience.

Foremost, the property is run down. My bathtub had a big chip in it and water stains on the bottom. Carpets were worn. Doors were beat-up, scratched and dirty. Rooms are small, and not typical of usual LQ rooms. The elevator walls were scratched and vandalized.

The carpet in the hallways was dirty. It didn’t even look like it had been vacuumed recently. The ice maker on the first floor was out of order, with a sign to go up to the 2nd or 3rd floor. Of course, when I got to the second floor, that one was out of order, too. It would have been nice to say so on the first floor sign.

Location is not great. You’re right on top of the highway and parking is somewhat limited. There are few services at this interchange, just a couple restaurants, but I couldn’t find a gas station nearby.

The pool was covered and clearly not open when I stayed on March 14. Perhaps it’s too early. Probably best anyway, my first floor room’s window was 10 feet from the pool.

Breakfast here was the usual LQ choices of hard boiled eggs, waffles, other breads, some fruit and yogurt.

Thankfully, I was just spending a night passing through, but I wouldn’t stay at this La Quinta ever again. If you need to stay here, such as driving between Denver and Phoenix, try the one listed on San Antonio Drive, across the highway. It looked like the real deal.

Room Tip: Pick the San Antonio Drive La Quinta instead!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    45
    15
    16
    9
See reviews for
51
43
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

At this hotel's continental breakfast, we asked if there was cold water to drink. They said, "no."
We asked if there was a water fountain in the hall. They said, "no." This is the first time I have not had cold water available at breakfast. This hotel was dirty in the elevators and an obvious lack of vacuuming through the halls. The rooms were just a bit better. This hotel was far from pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here while in ABQ to see the city and the surrounding area. Hotel entrance is actually off Elison but the GPS took us 'around the block' for some reason and brought us down Pan American Frwy. There is lots of parking around the facility so no problem here. Restaurants are all over this area, mostly on the east side of I-25.

Staff was superb and the room was perfect for our needs - we travel with a dog. Hotel is right off I-25 but our room was on the opposite side so no road noise - not that I can say if there was road noise on the other side. Only problem with side we were on is the garbage is stored there and WM comes about 8 AM for the pick up.

Room was clean and tidy after each day when we returned.

We'd stay here again if in ABQ.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a 7 day road trip.

Check in was easy and pleasant. You could not ask for a nicer desk clerk. Friendly, efficient and helpful. She had us in our room in record time. The hotel is a little difficult to find. It is right next to the Hampton Inn and is on the west side of I-25. There is another La Quinta on the east side of the interstate.

The room, 308, is faces i-25 but is relatively quiet. I can not hear anything but the bad boy mufflers and an occasional truck if I try. The furnishings are standard hotel room things. Good quality and well maintained. We only lack luggage racks. The internet connection is excellent and easy to use without going through all the usual hotel loops to get up and running. The bedding is okay. 3 pillows, a comforter, and a blanket. Good quality flat screen 37" inch HDTV. The sink is in the room. I don't like that kind of arrangement and deducted 1 dot for that. Everything is clean.

I used the fitness room. It had a treadmill, stepper, and bike. All middle of the road quality. A good TV was available to help you cover the miles.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway. Need to get there early however because those rooms go fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr NW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr NW

Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr Nw Hotel
La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr Nw Hotel Albuquerque
La Quinta Inn And Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr Nw
La Quinta Albuquerque
Albuquerque La Quinta
Address: 7439 Pan American Fwy Northeast, Albuquerque, NM 87109
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#52 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr NW 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr NW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Journal Ctr NW, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.