We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room, very friendly staff, Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Menaul Boulevard NE, Albuquerque, NM 87107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #74 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Houston, Tx
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Spacious room, very friendly staff, Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

The Holiday Inn Express on Menaul Blvd in Albuquerque, NM is a very good hotel. The service was first rate and very friendly. The room ( double queen) was very spacious and clean. Furthermore, we could not find a problem with the room at all, quite an uncommon experience for us. The kids loved the pristine pool which was very clean. The laundry room was nice. The computer room was a nice touch. The breakfast was excellent consisting of a wide selection of eggs and sausage, biscuits and gravy, and the usual continental fare. Notably, missing from the menu was fresh chopped fruit and grits which is standard at other hotels of this caliber. The workout room was spacious and all of the equipment worked, though it was too warm. The hotel is located centrally just off of I-40, 15 minutes from the Sandia Peak Tram, 8 minutes from Balloon Fiesta Park, and 6 minutes from Old Town. We highly recommend this hotel. It is a bargain.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    62
    15
    13
    9
See reviews for
51
42
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, Hampshire
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

An excellent choice if you need to stay in ABQ. It's neat and clean with all the facilties you need at a good price.

The staff are lovely, genuinely friendly and helpful and always on the button.

Breakfast was fabulous with lots of choice, top quality food and a friendly and funny lady to help you out. You also get a discount at Applebees next door.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

This was one of the nicer HI Express locations that I have been to. The building was new and very clean. They had an arrangement with the restaurant next door for 15% off your meal. If you're looking for a clean, comfortable room, this is a good pick.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

Very friendly staff. Asked if we could check in 1 1/2 hours early.
" No Problem!" Front desk called room one hour later to make sure room was to our liking and asked if we needed anything.
Very clean, fresh bed linens. Comfortable mattress. Big, fluffy towels. Clean and spacious living room and office area. Kitchen area had plates, cups, bowls, plasticware, can opener, etc. stored in cupboards.
We went to explore the area and when we came back at 4:30, there were fresh baked cookies and milk set out in the dining room. What a nice touch!
The breakfast was one of the best. Hot breakfast had bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, fresh biscuits and sausage gravy.
Cold breakfast had cereal, yogurt, boiled eggs, sweet rolls, muffins, toast, bagels, fruit.
Juices were orange, cranberry and apple. Very good coffee with an assortment of flavored creamers.
Even though dining room was busy, all food and drink was replenished immediately. Tables, counters, etc., were kept sparkling clean.
This hotel offers so much more for the rate. We will stay here every time we need a hotel in Albuquerque. We highly recommend it!

  • Liked — Cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEABQ, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown, responded to this review, February 25, 2009
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We strive to be the best and from your experience it sounds like we did a pretty good job. We encourage you to come back and stay with us again sometime. If you have any questions or comments you can email me at aaron@finehospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

Very clean and well maintained hotel. Yes, the bathroom feng shui has a lot to be desired as far as manuerving about, but the rest of the room was very comfortable. GREAT bed, very comfortable mattress and nice linens. Clean, big fluffy towels. The "firm" pillow was still too soft for me, but I've learned to always bring my own pillow anyway since I'm so picky. There is a mini fridge and a microwave in the room. There's an AppleBee's in the parking lot, other than that there isnt much else within walking distance. There is a WalMart Super Center nearby, I drove over and got cokes and water and snacks for the room. The staff here at the hotel, as well as everyone else around town were some of the nicest people I've run into in all my travels. I stayed at a conference rate but there's a sign on the side of the building that say's Weekend rates start at $84. For a suite hotel that's pretty good. Oh, and you get the free breakfast with their sinful cinnamon roles.

  • Liked — Clean, COMFORTABLE, intelligent and very friendly staff
  • Disliked — not much within walking distance, just the AppleBee's
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

Everything was typically a good HIE, but this older building had a very small toilet/shower area. The sink/vanity is separate, which gives it more room.

Comfortable bed and terrific bedding. Had an Eastern view of sunrise over the Sandia mountain.

Had a king suite with sofa area, desk area, and kitchen area. All very clean.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small shower area
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

We're staying here for the Balloon Fiesta. I picked the Holiday Inn Express Midtown because it was centrally located and had a non smoking suite room available. Our room is on the 4th floor and is very clean and very quiet and decorated very tastefully (must be a renovated room?). The bed is a bit soft but comfy. There's a nice writing desk. There's free Wi-Fi. I think what makes the room a "suite" is that there's a little sink/microwave/refrigerator in the sitting area. The staff are very cheery, but maybe lacking a little on the service end (I had pre-requested a crib for our baby, but I had to ask for it again at check-in, and the receptionist asked me if I'd like her to put it on a luggage cart so that I could bring it to the room myself--uh, my arms are full and I have a baby, how about offering to have it delivered to my room or better yet, how about having it ready in my room when I arrive?) There's an Applebees across the parking lot that gives 10% off if you show your room key. "Full" breakfast is included (but is only palatable if you eat Continental breakfast) the eggs, sausage, and biscuits/gravy are all premade and under a heater and are truly disgusting. Some design flaws of the room: I'm not sure I would call the room a suite since it's really one big room with a semi-partition giving some privacy between the bed and the sitting area. The bed and the sofa both face the same TV. Also, the king bed faces the sink that has the most incredibly blinding bright light fixture. The tub/toilet are in a tiny, tiny area; you can't really close the door without some creative maneuvering, and the room has no ventilation so steam and odors invade the room immediately. The A/C unit is below the window and is loud. There's no enclosed closet, which really isn't a problem, but we have a curious baby, and it was difficult to babyproof without a closet. I had to stash the luggage rack up on the shelf above the clothes hangers and had to have the ironing board taken away because he could pull it down off its hanger. Oh well, I don't think I'd recommend this place for a family (definitely not with baby and not enough privacy for parents looking for some private space from their kids), but I'd maybe recommend it to a business traveler or just a couple.

  • Liked — quiet, good location, clean, free internet
  • Disliked — poorly designed room layout, yucky breakfast, not really a suite
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown

Address: 2500 Menaul Boulevard NE, Albuquerque, NM 87107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Albuquerque Midtown. Our all-suites hotel is centrally located in Albuquerque near the intersection of Interstates 40 and 25 and only a few miles from the Albuquerque International Airport. Our friendly staff invites you to experience our spacious and comfortable suites featuring the Express Bedding Package. All rooms at our Albuquerque hotel are equipped with a microwave and refrigerator for your convenience. An Applebee's restaurant is located adjacent to the hotel as well as an array of enticing shopping and dining options. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites offers easy access to attractions such as Old Town, the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center, Balloon Fiesta Park, and Sandia Peak Tramway. Business travelers will enjoy our hotel s close proximity to Intel, Lockheed Martin, University of New Mexico, Kirtland Air Force Base, Sandia Labs and General Mills. Complimentary local shuttle service is available from 7 AM - 10 PM. During your Albuquerque visit, be sure to enjoy all the amenities our hotel has to offer, including free high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary Express Start breakfast buffet, a brand new business center, fitness center, and a heated outdoor pool. We look forward to making sure you have a great stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Albuquerque
Albuquerque Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.