We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown

Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown to your Saves list
Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   615 Central Ave NE, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn ) (Huning Highland Historic District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #98 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cannot recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, these folks were very rude. I reserved a room online and the woman at the front desk asked if we had already paid...of course that sets off alarm bells in our heads...she didn't know if we owed her or not? I entered in our debit card number and security code online and assumed that it was paid for when we got a confirmation number. Turns out it was only a reservation...which was fine except she gave us the worst attitude when we were confused. I really don't know why she was so upset with us...but from the smell of the lobby it seemed like we were interrupting their dinner (we could hear other people in the room behind her desk). I would never spend money at this place again. The room was decent but not worth the condescending attitude.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownabvi, Manager at Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We are sorry for your confusion about whether you had prepaid for your stay. Once that had been determined, we hope we helped you as best we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    22
    12
    12
    8
See reviews for
14
25
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I will continue to stay at this great motel! I made my reservations early in the year & even requested a certain room. As expected there were no problems what so ever! The property was clean & well kept. The manager/owner is a delight. Our room (108) was warm & comfortable. Being disabled I especially love the large bathroom (not handicapped accessible). The housekeeping ladies were a delight to talk to. It was very quiet the whole week we were there. Thank you again. We will be seeing you again next visit. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownabvi, Manager at Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We are familiar with this guest and are happy to be able to supply all needs, and fill all requests of her and all our guests, if possible. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a basic 2-story motel, with exterior corridors and all rooms overlooking the parking lot. Amenities are sparse: when I went to front desk to ask for hangers or a luggage rack, the response was that rack not available and no hangers other than what was in room were available. When I stated that there were NO hangers in the room, the clerk did manage to rustle up 4 hangers as requested. Breakfast was just the basics: cereal, mini muffins, apples or bananas, OJ, coffee. I would not feel safe walking in the neighborhood after dark. One morning there was a homeless person sleeping by the vending machine right outside the office. We stayed 3 nights; did not have housekeeping either morning. The 1st morning was excuseable; we had Do Not Disturb sign out from 10 – 12 while we were napping so we missed the window of housekeeping. But next day we put out the sign requesting Maid Service when we left for the day at 9; was disappointed when we returned that evening to see that no housekeeping had been provided. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownabvi, Manager at Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We are saddened to hear you did not fully enjoy your experience here. We have been training some new maids as of late and are sorry to hear they didn't serve your needs. We hope we have that problem fixed for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

After a full day my husband and I were pleasantly surprised at this large, comfortable room. It was actually 3 rooms. There was a separate room with a desk and sofa. A TV had been removed but was not a problem for us. The room was clean and had very nice decor. The bed was very comfortable. Everything was in working order. We enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownabvi, Manager at Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We are very glad to hear you enjoyed our location so much. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A relatively inexpensive place to stay for a night or two, not the cheapest (but you probably wouldn't want that, the place next door claims $29.99 a night, but who knows what you're getting..)
Personally, as a guy travelling with my wife (both mid 50's) it was fine; we don't spend much time in a motel room. It was clean, although with this disinfectant smell when you first step in (could be a worse smell though, e.g., cigarette or just stinky). It had a bigger-than-mini fridge that worked well, a microwave, and a small coffee maker. The king bed was comfortable enough, and the a/c/heater worked fine (street noise if you kept window open). The room was small with no closet, just a bar for hanging clothes and a dresser. Did include a ironing board, iron, hair dryer, and smallish flat sceen tv. The bath was no frills, but clean and appeared recently renovated. Like I say, for a guy, perfectly acceptable; for a woman with higher standards, not so much, but she usually distrusts places under $100 anyway.
The motel was a very short walk to a decent coffee shop, a local burger joint, a family-style restaurant, and at least two very nice restaurants (the Standard Diner and The Artichoke Cafe).
The rate includes access to a tiny breakfast area in the check-in office. The coffee was excellent, and there were plenty of apples, bananas, muffins, oatmeal and cold cereal. Also had a small pool in the parking lot surrounded by a wall for privacy, it was usable, but bare bones- two plastic lounges, chair and table (again, this was Oct., so maybe didn't put out more than min. furniture).
Didn't feel at all unsafe, though there wasn't much around. You'd have to be a wimpy or naive traveler to say this was an unsavory part of town- mostly because the majority of ABQ appears unsavory to the first timer. (Of course, I didn't get a computer ripped off. Would tend to keep expensive items locked up in the trunk if we would be away all day in any place, like this, that doesn't provide a safe.) If you want to walk to Albuquerque's attractions, you should stay around the old town (which this wasn't near). Alternatively, you could stay near the seedy downtown if you want whatever "nightlife" the town has, otherwise you save by staying here and using you rental car. Probably 20 min drive to balloon fiesta, but could be significantly more traffic depending.
The second floor rooms may charitably be said to give a view (the mountains to the east, and early am hot air balloons to the west from the tiny bathroom window). You'll have to decide whether this is worth hefting your lougage up the one flight.
I agree that the front desk lady is not very friendly at first, but she'll warm up over time if you take the time to treat her nice. (The one request we had to fix the end-table lamps was handled relatively promptly.)
All in all, would have given this place a 3 and a half star rating if tripadvisor allowed for half stars in their "overall rating".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownabvi, General Manager at Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your stay and your feedback! This was last year when we were having a smell problem but now we have an air purifier in our office and the maids have cleaned up their act by a great deal. Again we apologize for the smell and this review helped us improve our performance! Our hotel is on Central Ave. which is one of the busiest streets in town during the night! Staying on Central is an experience and the part of Central at which our hotel stands, is probably one of the quieter parts of Central! This has also been cleaned up since last year and it is not nearly as noisy at night! Our pool is also very inactive during the fall season and this is the reason for the dirty look. We apologize for this. Our staff has improved by a great deal and it is in our interest to please the guests! Thank you for your feedback and we hope we can see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Fine for staying the night, especially if you have been driving all day like us, but the receptionist was not particularly friendly and there were some unsavoury characters hanging around the carpark night and day - but nowhere near as many as if you stay the other side of Nob Hill.

Nice bed, decent room but the worst breakfast and coffee machine so far on our two week trip. But then it was cheap and did the job.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownabvi, Manager at Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We pride ourselves on good service as well as clean and comfortable rooms. We will try to improve the welcome from our receptionist people. As for the people around our area, we have no way of controlling who might be walking down to the street. The parking lot is secured and watched by camera's and personel 24 hours a day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here overnight when me and my wife were passing through town on our way to Colorado. Large bed that was quite comfortable, cheap price and decent neighborhood. Would stay overnight again. Pretty good coffee house across the street as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownabvi, Manager at Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your experience. Whether you are just passing through, or staying for a week, we are you comfort station in Albuquerque.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown

Address: 615 Central Ave NE, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Huning Highland Historic District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Travel Inn is a newly remodeled and renovated property. All the amenities at the inn are brand new; from the bedding to the LCD flat screen televisions. We have wireless internet throughout the whole property and also offer a business center computer. We offer great quality at affordable prices. Please come and check us out next time your in Albuquerque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Albuquerque Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.