We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“balloon fiesta stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   615 Central Ave NE, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Huning Highland Historic District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
“balloon fiesta stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A relatively inexpensive place to stay for a night or two, not the cheapest (but you probably wouldn't want that, the place next door claims $29.99 a night, but who knows what you're getting..)
Personally, as a guy travelling with my wife (both mid 50's) it was fine; we don't spend much time in a motel room. It was clean, although with this disinfectant smell when you first step in (could be a worse smell though, e.g., cigarette or just stinky). It had a bigger-than-mini fridge that worked well, a microwave, and a small coffee maker. The king bed was comfortable enough, and the a/c/heater worked fine (street noise if you kept window open). The room was small with no closet, just a bar for hanging clothes and a dresser. Did include a ironing board, iron, hair dryer, and smallish flat sceen tv. The bath was no frills, but clean and appeared recently renovated. Like I say, for a guy, perfectly acceptable; for a woman with higher standards, not so much, but she usually distrusts places under $100 anyway.
The motel was a very short walk to a decent coffee shop, a local burger joint, a family-style restaurant, and at least two very nice restaurants (the Standard Diner and The Artichoke Cafe).
The rate includes access to a tiny breakfast area in the check-in office. The coffee was excellent, and there were plenty of apples, bananas, muffins, oatmeal and cold cereal. Also had a small pool in the parking lot surrounded by a wall for privacy, it was usable, but bare bones- two plastic lounges, chair and table (again, this was Oct., so maybe didn't put out more than min. furniture).
Didn't feel at all unsafe, though there wasn't much around. You'd have to be a wimpy or naive traveler to say this was an unsavory part of town- mostly because the majority of ABQ appears unsavory to the first timer. (Of course, I didn't get a computer ripped off. Would tend to keep expensive items locked up in the trunk if we would be away all day in any place, like this, that doesn't provide a safe.) If you want to walk to Albuquerque's attractions, you should stay around the old town (which this wasn't near). Alternatively, you could stay near the seedy downtown if you want whatever "nightlife" the town has, otherwise you save by staying here and using you rental car. Probably 20 min drive to balloon fiesta, but could be significantly more traffic depending.
The second floor rooms may charitably be said to give a view (the mountains to the east, and early am hot air balloons to the west from the tiny bathroom window). You'll have to decide whether this is worth hefting your lougage up the one flight.
I agree that the front desk lady is not very friendly at first, but she'll warm up over time if you take the time to treat her nice. (The one request we had to fix the end-table lamps was handled relatively promptly.)
All in all, would have given this place a 3 and a half star rating if tripadvisor allowed for half stars in their "overall rating".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownabvi, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your stay and your feedback! This was last year when we were having a smell problem but now we have an air purifier in our office and the maids have cleaned up their act by a great deal. Again we apologize for the smell and this review helped us improve our performance! Our hotel is on Central Ave. which is one of the busiest streets in town during the night! Staying on Central is an experience and the part of Central at which our hotel stands, is probably one of the quieter parts of Central! This has also been cleaned up since last year and it is not nearly as noisy at night! Our pool is also very inactive during the fall season and this is the reason for the dirty look. We apologize for this. Our staff has improved by a great deal and it is in our interest to please the guests! Thank you for your feedback and we hope we can see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
12
21
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Fine for staying the night, especially if you have been driving all day like us, but the receptionist was not particularly friendly and there were some unsavoury characters hanging around the carpark night and day - but nowhere near as many as if you stay the other side of Nob Hill.

Nice bed, decent room but the worst breakfast and coffee machine so far on our two week trip. But then it was cheap and did the job.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownabvi, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We pride ourselves on good service as well as clean and comfortable rooms. We will try to improve the welcome from our receptionist people. As for the people around our area, we have no way of controlling who might be walking down to the street. The parking lot is secured and watched by camera's and personel 24 hours a day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here overnight when me and my wife were passing through town on our way to Colorado. Large bed that was quite comfortable, cheap price and decent neighborhood. Would stay overnight again. Pretty good coffee house across the street as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownabvi, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your experience. Whether you are just passing through, or staying for a week, we are you comfort station in Albuquerque.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed here when we were in town for a conference to save some money but instead we had a $400 tablet stolen from our room while we were away during the day!

We filed a police report as soon as we discovered the tablet missing and went to speak with the lady at the front desk. She immediately accused the maid and actually forced us to confront her in person, which was very awkward since it could have just as likely been somebody else who had access to the room. She finally put us in touch with the owner who has responded in a wide variety of insulting to deceitful ways. He initially accused the maid, then accused us of trying to scam him, then finally pretended to start a long, drawn out "claims process" and asked for our police report and receipt for the tablet. After sending him all of the documents he asked for he completely changed around saying that we hadn't provided him any "proof"! Why did he insist we spend all that time scanning and sending him those documents then?!

In the end he came up with some little story about creating an employee training video (obviously to cover his own butt) but that does not change the fact that the management is deceitful and not at all concerned with customer satisfaction or providing a safe environment. I highly discourage anyone from staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownabvi, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
This is the first and only complaint of this nature that we have ever had at our hotel. While we understand your frustration, however we have absolutely no proof that the tablet in question was ever at our location. Our staff is screened for criminal history, and we are confident that they are honest, hard working people. There has never been a complaint about any of them before, or since.
According to our interpretation of NM statue 57-6-1, the guest has the responsibility of providing some sort of proof that the missing property was ever at our location, or taken by someone other than the owner, from our location. Filing a police report is not proof of any crime or wrong doing in and of itself. Neither did the officer find any reason to arrest or even question any of our staff about the incident.
As I am sure you can imagine, due to laws such as NM statue 57-6-1, it would be quite simple for a guest to claim that anything was taken from their room, leaving us paying large sums of money for claims that may or may not have validity. That is why we, and the police expect some sort of evidence that the item was ever here, or taken from the room by someone other than the owner.
We also think the claim may be somewhat suspect because the guest chose to stay at our location another night, even after making the complaint and calling the police.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Bottom line: very good value for the money. The staff were friendly, and the room was clean and spacious. The room that I stayed in, at least, looks like it had been refurbished recently, so it really was a decent space. Even had a little side room with a desk and love seat where I spent a good deal of time working. It's conveniently located, within walking distance of both downtown and the University of NM. Bus stops are nearby as well, and they're a good deal - $2 for an all day bus pass. Also, the hotel is located very close to some good restaurants. I highly recommend the "Holy Cow" gourmet hamburger place across the street - good burgers, good ambiance, awesome milkshakes, and a very friendly owner.
If you want to be nit picky like some of the other reviewers, then yes, you could find a few things that weren't stellar. The towels were indeed thin, though they certainly sufficed. The pool was not incredibly inviting, but it was adequate for a bit of tanning and a dip, and I enjoyed the hour I spent there. And the neighborhood isn't necessarily the most charming I've ever seen, but I didn't fear for my life or anything (but I wasn't a female walking alone at night, either).
I would definitely stay here again on a visit to ABQ. Anybody who gave this less than 4 stars has some crazy high expectations - it really was a fantastic value. (By the way, here's a hint - I got the best price for the room by going directly to the America's Best Value Inn website rather than through another website like Expedia.)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownabvi, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you very for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed our location and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I'm glad i choose this hotel for my 1st visit to beautiful Albuquerque(May 4th to May 8th 2012), The lady at the front was very nice indeed always there to help with any uprising issues, I was in room 211 which was very clean very big and the bed was very big and comfy.

The hotel offers a free breakfast which i never had as i was sleeping late everyday, I needed some sleep as i just finished my busy easter period at Bakers Delight back in Sydney, So i needed the big sleep ins, Im guessing though it would of been nice as the service always was.

You get free highspeed WIFI which was really good and maybe dropped once in the 4 day stay, You also get COMCAST for free with over 100 channels which was just awesome, The bathroom was good and meet my needs, From the outside it does look like your normal American Motor Inn BUT the room was one of the best i have ever stayed in! I paid about $56 a night and i've never stayed in such a nice room for around $50.

The Hotel is close to everything, Nob Hill, Downtown ABQ, The Rail Runner and many Resturants and Cafes, I didn't eat in them as i was on a budget and ate big lunches at Wendys and Dennys.

When i return to Albuquerque i will be staying here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownabvi, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
We are glad to have served your needs so well. We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

We had a medical emergency and had to abort our Amtrak train vacation and ended up here in Albuquerque NM. This Motel was very inexpensive and the room for the money was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was large and the bedroom had a micro, refrigerator, and a LCD TV.

The staff was very friendly. I would strongly recommend this Motel.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtownabvi, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
We are located within two blocks of two major hospitals and offer special rates to those who find themselves in need of a place to stay when they have loved ones with a medical issue. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our service, and hope your loved one is doing well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 615 Central Ave NE, Albuquerque, NM 87102
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Huning Highland Historic District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Travel Inn is a newly remodeled and renovated property. All the amenities at the inn are brand new; from the bedding to the LCD flat screen televisions. We have wireless internet throughout the whole property and also offer a business center computer. We offer great quality at affordable prices. Please come and check us out next time your in Albuquerque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.