We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of tranquility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn

Save Saved
You added Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   310 Rio Grande Blvd., SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Albuquerque B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An oasis of tranquility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here one night a couple of months ago, but I haven't had the opportunity to post a review until now. So here it is.

On arriving at the Inn after a long, tiring nearly 24-hour journey from Australia, we were charmed by this place and its friendly staff. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe casita – the Kachina. Lots of space – far more than we really needed for just one night – and very comfortable, with wonderful furnishings and room decoration, (including some beautiful artworks). And the breakfast, (much commented on by other reviewers), lived up to its reputation.

The Inn is an oasis of tranquillity. Its courtyards and garden area are lovely, with lots of interesting little corners and curiosities. (In fact it’s so lovely, that at the time we were there, a beautiful peacock – from who knows where – had appeared in the garden a few days earlier and was clearly intent on taking up permanent residency there.)

And the Inn is handy for the Old Town centre, a safe ten-minute walk away. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    61
    21
    19
    6
See reviews for
37
128
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed four nights at this lovely Inn in Old Town, Albuquerque. It’s a beautiful, quiet place with a gorgeous garden and lush vegetation. The accommodation is very private as guests stay in individual “casitas” (Spanish for “little houses”). Each casita varies as some have kitchens/kitchenettes and separate lounges while others are a one bedroom casita, each with its private bathroom of course. They all include a fridge and a coffee maker. Some have individual little gardens with nice water fountains and garden table and chairs, the smaller ones share the big garden which also has a fountain and benches around the place. The setting is beautiful and very relaxing and popular with local wedding receptions. We were fortunate to witness a garden wedding while we were there, it was beautifully organized. Casa de Sueños includes a generous full breakfast and also a cook to order menu as part of it. The quesadillas and omelettes were delicious. The breakfast room is in the main building and it is bright and beautifully decorated as is the lobby. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful in every aspect, charming people. Just about four blocks from the hotel and across Central Ave., what used to be the Historic Route 66, is lovely Old Town, a very attractive place full of quaint shops, restaurants, galleries and museums. In Old Town there is the ABQ Trolley that starts its 85 minutes tour at the Plaza, a very informative, fun tour. And at the end of a great day, it was always a pleasure to return to the comfort and quiet of our casita.

Room Tip: All rooms should be fine in this place as guests are in separate little houses (casitas) and the are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Best stay of an 18-day trip. Your own personal little house with kitchen, living room, and gorgeous grounds. Wonderful complimentary breakfast, nice staff. Walk to Old Town. Everything you could want. Hope to come back some day.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Casas de Suenos is an awesome B&B! We stayed there for a week, using it as our base of operations for excursions and side trips. We had a large group which stayed in 5 different types of rooms. Our rooms ranged from small, 2 person rooms to large, 6 person suites. Each room is decorated in classic Albuquerque style. These are older type casitas, so don't expect The Ritz. Breakfast every morning was cooked to our order, and food is delicious! The staff is friendly and the rooms were always clean! The pull-out couches in the suites had a blowup mattress. Very comfy! Overall, I would highly recommend this B&B for your Albuquerque stay. It's close to Old Towne, which has some amazing shopping and dining.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This "Fabulous" property is a Jewel of a Find!! :) We were welcomed with a tour of the grounds and ushered to our divinely decorated Casita!! :) There is a nice blend of the "historic" adobe and "updated" contemporary appliances. The breakfast was superb and our chef was dedicated to preparing our eggs just the way we "liked" them...yummy!! :) The grounds, hospitality, food, and staff are wonderful and trust they will earn my "Excellent" rating upon completion of the facility upgrade plans currently underway!! :) This gem of a place is tucked away less than a mile from Old Town and a pleasant "Oasis" for the local visitor needing respite or the far away traveler seeking solace after a day of exploration and shopping!! :)

Room Tip: Simply express your needs to the staff...they will accommodate you, nicely!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We enjoyed staying at this unique B&B near Old Town. The grounds are lovely with grass, seating, water features, sculptures and cats. We stayed in the Ivy Cottage which is older than some of the newly renovated rooms but it has its own private sitting area with a small water fall. Charming! Breakfast in the sunny, happy breakfast area was very good especially the breakfast burrito and quesadillas. The staff is very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Simply put, we loved this stay & didn't want to leave! We stayed a long weekend & loved every moment. It may seem quirky to some, but if you love old town and that whole aura- this is your place! We were fortunate enough to be treated to the "Manzano" room, which had a Jacuzzi. We loved the exposed beams, saltio tile, everything just lent itself to that special feeling. Even though we live in the same state, Casa de Suenos made it feel like we were worlds away. We left rejuvenated. The breakfast in the mornings- like many before me, its wonderful, enough said! It may seem quirky to some, then maybe the "some" need to stay @ their usual hotel! "SteveBot" before me, summed it up the best with his review.

Room Tip: Manzano has the jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn

Address: 310 Rio Grande Blvd., SW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighteen self-contained casitas set in two acres of magnificent gardens. Stay includes gourmet breakfast and most rooms have hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casas De Suenos Old Town Country Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casas de Suenos Old Town Historic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.