We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst experience ever! Don't stay here! Save yourself.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Sands Motel

Desert Sands Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Albuquerque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Sands Motel
Save
You added Desert Sands Motel to your Saves list
5000 Central Ave, Albuquerque, NM 87108 (Highland Business)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 145 Hotels in Albuquerque
Wonderland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The worst experience ever! Don't stay here! Save yourself.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

It is the worst experience I have ever had. It seems that the hotel has some illegal activities at night. The doors don't close so anybody can come into your room in the middle of the night and personnel do not want to fix this problem. The personnel is rude with horrible attitude. They wanted to call the police because I arrived at 9 pm. and it was not a good time for them to arrive. The second day they kicked me out because I arrived with my brother and no visitors are allowed. The did not give me my money back for the rest of the nights and I had to go to another hotel in the middle of the night after a big fight with the personnel. They don't allow you to arrive late or have visitors drop you off. It is located in a bad area. Managers don't care about the customer service experience. It is the worst hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sandybell1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

The first room they sent me to had a broken bathroom & no working air fan. The second room was better--the loo was dirty, but not un-usable, & the room fan worked. The mattress seemed new & was fairly comfortable. Unfortainatley there were people in & out of the room next door all night & imagine my surprise when I woke up to multiple bug bites over my body. The doctor said it was spider bites, but I still took precautions for bed bugs. As I left the maid was in the room next door, "sweeping" the carpet with a dirty rag... I love crappy old hotels, but I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyetaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albuquerque hotels

albuq
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

ask about room 109 there is suposed to be some ghostly activitys in there some say it is a poltergiest?well not go back to that room again but the hotel is clean and beds are comfertable cheap rooms

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alovato28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

This is a cool retro hotel with a nice big neon sign. The rooms aren't fancy but it is cheap.
The area has character too.with some nice restaurants not far. The movie "no country for old men" was filmed here we found out.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottsweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,303 reviews
Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown
Albuquerque Marriott
Albuquerque Marriott
#54 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#11 of 145 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
Barcelona Suites
#75 of 145 in Albuquerque
3.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sands Motel

Address: 5000 Central Ave, Albuquerque, NM 87108
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Highland Business
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 145 Hotels in Albuquerque
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Sands Motel provides and economical way to spend time in Albuquerque with Coronado Mall, Veterans Hospital, University of New Mexico,and Old Town within easy reach. We provide nice, clean rooms with an excellent staff and hot coffee waiting for you in the morning. We invite you to spend your time in Albuquerque with us and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desert Sands Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing