We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service, upscale feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farina

Farina
510 Central Ave. SE, Albuquerque, NM 87102 (Huning Highland Historic District)
505-243-0130
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 1,536 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Huning Highland Historic District
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, upscale feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a margarita pizza and each had salads. This is good, old fashioned style - really tasty with fresh ingredients. Pizzas have the thicker outside crust, but mostly thin crust. I loved it - reminds me of Italian pizza.

The mother and daughter next to us talked us into having the butterscotch budino. It was great! Like a custard.

The restaurant also has a nice wine selection.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    51
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Brooklyn, NM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is basically your classic, Brooklyn-style pizza (think Gramaldi's without the line around the block). Coal and brick and very high heat (not sure what Farina has or doesn't).

Your pie will get burn spots, what that's what makes this pizza so great.
Good quality ingredients. Delicious crust and sauce.

Pepperonis are crispy on the edges like bacon!
Meatballs as a topping is a must.

The service is good and the ambiance is very good.
Great beers on tap and a delicious Tiramisu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Pick!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Eat here and you will be glad that you tried it. Small but too cool on the inside w/friendly folks and fine eats. Spinach salad was healthy size and very tasty w/just the right amount of a light dressing. Perfect before our salsiccia pizza - fennel sausage was excellent addition. Splurged on dessert - tiramisu - what could you do to make it different? Nothing and that was OK because served in its own little glass tumbler, it was to die for and we loved every luscious bite!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Best pizza I've had since I left Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I agree with the previous reviewer. Excellent pizza - nice thin crust, tasty toppings, excellent salads (I had the verde salad which was delicious). The only negative would be the noise. It was really crowded when we went and we were literally sharing a table with two very loud ladies sitting next to us. However, the wine, food and dessert more than made up for it. If you're in ABQ and want good, authentic Italian pizza (not the typical Italian-American pizza slathered in cheese and nasty toppings) make sure you stop here. Service was attentive and friendly. Highly recommend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Albuquerque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Nice crispy thin crust, creative topping, and the best salads I have found at a pizza place. Good prices. Good beer and wine selection, well thought out. My only negative thoughts that it gets awfully noisy when crowded so it is hard to carry on a conversation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farina also viewed

 

Been to Farina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.