We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible collection of real atomic bombs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The National Museum of Nuclear Science & History

The National Museum of Nuclear Science & History
601 Eubank Blvd SE, Albuquerque, NM 87123
505 245 2137
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 208 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Museum of Nuclear Science & History is the New Mexico’s only congressionally chartered museum in its field and a Smithsonian affiliate. Visitors can explore how nuclear science continues to influence our world. The museum strives to present, through permanent and changing exhibits and displays, the diverse applications of nuclear energy in the past, present and future along with the stories of the field’s pioneers. Originally known as the National Atomic Museum, it was established in 1969 as an intriguing place to learn the story of the Atomic Age, from early research of nuclear development through today’s peaceful uses of nuclear technology.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Incredible collection of real atomic bombs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

learn all about the cold war and the atomic bomb. Something for everyone of all ages but men over 40 who remember the cold war will love it the most. Kids under 7 might not enjoy it as the concept may be over their heads. Allow several hours as the is so much to see. where else can you touch real atomic bombs! The history that they have preserved here is amazing. the bombs that were accidentally dropped from planes but did'nt explode are there, scary. Gift shop has lots of commercial junk, but you might find a nice souvenir to remember your visit. They close the parking lot gates at 5 and they don't let you forget that.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    137
    33
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Definitely for Science lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Overall, a good museum. Some areas better than others. Not really for lower elementary aged children. Personnel not kid friendly. Outdoor exhibits need major work.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
271 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“This is only for Scientist, Chemist, Air Force and maybe War Historians”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Lots of reading, lots of information if you are interested in the sciences, air force or WWII and yes the Cold War and Nuclear Race of Arms! I would rate it Very Good because I'm a history, trivia and active duty military but I don't want to confuse people. Nice Parking, Nice Gift shop and the museum has a lot of crap (Good and Bad) but is is very disorganized and not logically connected. One minute you are reading about Germans, Japanese, Russians, Air Force and list goes on to Nuclear Power Plants. I thought there would have been more stuff about Navy Vessels but nooooo. There was some type of Kids display/interactive center similar to the ballon museum that was a littel annoying. Don't get me wrong some of the displays were good but the place lack movies to educate the non-reader and also not enough interactive touch screen stations. Given this subject of late, I expected much more! The place looks big on the outside but small on the inside. SMH!!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fascinating look into our nuclear history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This museum offers a comprehensive look at our nuclear history, with exhibits including chilling replicas of Fat Man and Little Boy, the atomic bombs that dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki, and "duck and cover" drills schoolchildren used to do during the Cold War. Seeing examples of nuclear weapons as well as devices that harness nuclear power for our benefit give it a balance and a hopeful look at the future. I was especially struck by the history of "Broken Arrows" -- nuclear weapons that have been dropped, lost, or gone missing over the years. It's kind of amazing the human race has survived as long as it has.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Visited the museum today not expecting to see anything really impresive. But I was completely wrong. There has been a great deal of work put into it and from what I've learnt there is a continuous effort for improvement. Stuff for kids to do and interesting facts that will impress every adult. Generally I believe it sheds light on many aspects of the race to build the first atomic bomb during WWII. Again, GREAT JOB!!! I forgot to mention, reasonably priced, with the entry at $8 for adults.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National Museum of Nuclear Science & History also viewed

 

Been to The National Museum of Nuclear Science & History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National Museum of Nuclear Science & History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.