We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An odd but good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Albuquerque - Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites Albuquerque - Airport to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Albuquerque - Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 Sunport Place SW, Albuquerque, NM 87106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #24 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“An odd but good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I'll start off by saying that this was my first stay at a Staybridge property, so some points might be brand related and not hotel specific.

The good:
1) All rooms are suites and are a decent size, with a full size fridge/freezer, microwave, stove, etc. There are dishes, cutlery, pots and pans available in each room.
2) Shuttle - There is a free shuttle that you can reserve to take you into Albuquerque within a 2 mile radius. The shuttle was on time and the driver was friendly.
3) Fitness center - It's a very nice size, well equipped with free weights and machines, and best of all was empty every time I visted.
4) Staff - Everyone was quite friendly and helpful from FD to shuttle driver.
5) layout - The bathroom sink and vanity is outside the shower/toilet allowing 2 people to get ready at the same time. It's a nice touch.

The bad:
1) Noise - The hotel walls are thin, and the doors are loud. I heard people talking in adjacent rooms and in the hall, and I heard every door slam. This hotel just wasn't built well. If you are a light sleeper, be aware.
2) Breakfast - They offer little bags to take breakfast to go, but almost nothing is in an actual package. Oatmeal, cereal, cut up fruits, and hot items are almost impossible to take to go. They did have fruits and yogurt cups, and the second day they have a few packaged danishes, but nothing special. The coffee was decent, and I'm particular about coffee.

The odd:
1) The hotel is difficult to find, but its located in a hotel complex with a Hyatt Place, Holiday Inn, and 1-2 other hotels. You'll see the Hyatt Place sign easily as it's on a hill.
2) Bedding - This is not a negative, but if this is the new bedding, then it's a bit disappointing. The quilt felt a little scratchy and none of the covers were really anything other than unremarkable.
3) Towels - I was surprised at how worn and ragged some of the towels in the room. Similar to the bedding, it was unremarkable and usable.

I was coming from a TownePlace Suites ABQ which is a similar type hotel so many of my observations are contrasting the two hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay H, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Albuquerque - Airport, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for the feedback on your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your business so please know that we will promptly address all of the good, bad, and odd feedback that you provided us with so that next time every aspect of your stay is great! Thank you again for your reveiw and for being our guest. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    56
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
62
40
21
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We first visited Denver Tech Center Staybridge Suites (see my review of that property), then came here. What a difference as far as the room went. The Albuquerque room was much nicer.
We were upgraded (Priority Club Platinum Elite) to a 2 bedroom suite. The king bedroom was much larger that at Denver, and the entire suite just had that Staybridge Suites smile-making quality.
The grills worked and had placard instuctions and lighting. The room was quiet even though near Interstate 25.
One problem was the kitchen sink was plugged when we arrived and the disposal did not work. We were told we would have to wait until the next day for maintenance. The next day we were gone until afternoon, and arrived back in the room to find soap and water all over the kitchen floor. The dishwasher apparently had been run by the maid, but a stoppage must have occured with the drain to the garbage disposal. Maintenance told us that the disposal was not wired properly, so had to be plugged in to run continuously (without the ability to turn it off at the wall switch) - we passed on operating it. To the staff's credit, we were repeatedly offered another room if we wanted it, but we just did not feel the need to change rooms (because we did not plan to use the dishwasher, sink, or disposal). Overall we enjoyed the hotel, room, location, and staff.

Room Tip: Consider joining Priority Club (I like it better than Hilton HHonors for example). Then ask for an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay H, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Albuquerque - Airport, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for posting your review of our hotel. It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our suites and our helpful staff. I greatly apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with the garbage disposal in the kitchen of your suite. We really strive to make our hotel feel like a home away from home for our guests. This includes everything from the cleanliness of our suites to the ammenities that we offer to the smiling faces working throughout our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a quick overnight getaway and it was Great! Clean room and nice staff. Everything you expect in a Holiday Inn family hotel.

The only negative is that the breakfast is a little too generic... Some bacon or sausage with my eggs would have been nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay H, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Albuquerque - Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for posting your thoughts about our hotel! We truly appreciate your business and it's great to hear that we met your expectations as part of the Holiday Inn family. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite during the week of October 14-19, 2012. Comfortable beds, clean rooms and lobby, great breakfast, convenient to the airport, highway, Old Town in Albuquerque, etc. Could not hear the air planes landing or taking off.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay H, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Albuquerque - Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback about our hotel. It's great to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. We strive to make our hotel a home away from home for all of our guests. Thank you again for your kind words. We greatly appreciate your business and can't wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here with friends during the Balloon Fiesta in Albuquerque - definitely would come back again. The place was very clean, the rooms were very well appointed and comfortable, and the full kitchen was well-stocked with dishes, silverware and pots and pans. The staff was very friendly, efficient and accommodating - they even filled my cooler with ice when I was leaving to start home. Only one of our 3 rooms was ready when we arrived at 3:00 (this was during the Baloon Fiesta after all) - but the front desk staff suggested we register for the room that was ready, and that they would call us as soon as the other rooms were available - which they did. They were very helpful with directions, places to eat and answering any questions we had. This was my first time at a Staybridge Suites, but it will not be my last.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay H, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Albuquerque - Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for posting your thoughts about our hotel! It is a great pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your room, our team members, and the ammenities that we offer. Thank you again for your kind words and thank you for being our guest. We can't wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We recently stayed at the Staybridge Suites with another couple. Both couples had a Queen Studio. Our room was comfortable and clean. There were only a couple of issues. Firstly since we were traveling with another couple we had hoped that our rooms would be in the general proximity of each other. No so...the rooms were on different floors and areas of the hotel. We planned our trip so that we could attend a couple of sessions of the Balloon Fiesta. Because of the time we were there, the hotel was completely booked and told us they could not switch rooms around. Staff were very professional and pleasant and we understand that the hotel was full. The second issue was that we were unaware beforhand that there is no housekeeping service on the weekend. This was minor and we worked around it. The breakfast was hot with a meat offering, eggs and waffles along with yogurt fruit and toast. Overall this hotel was very nice and is located in an area right by the rental car return which made getting to and from the hotel very easy from the highway. Be forewarned however that if you are not renting a car there are no restaurants within walking disatance. We had rented a car so this was not an issue for us.

Room Tip: The biggest fault we had with the Queen Studio is that the television stand/dresser is only about 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay H, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Albuquerque - Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We truly appreciate your business. I am so sorry that we couldn't get your rooms near each other. If we know ahead of time that guests are traveling together we do try our best to at least get them on the same floor if not side by side. Balloon Fiesta is a very busy time for us but again I apologize that we could not accommodate your room location needs. I'm glad to hear that you found our team to be helpful and professional but I am sorry that you were not informed upon check in of our housekeeping policies. Thank you again for your reveiw of our hotel and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

When planning our trip to the Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta, I booked a hotwire hotel and this is the one we received. When we arrived, we were treated like second class citizens by the front desk staff. I believe she was upset at the rate we were able to get for the room. In addition, she indicated the room was not "cleaned" and we would need to wait. This was after 3 PM on the arrival day. She then did not bother to let us know when the room was ready, even though we were waiting in the lobby.

Even though the room was adequate, I would never willingly book a room at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay H, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Albuquerque - Airport, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
First and foremost I would like to greatly apologize for the disappointing service you received while staying with us. I would also like to thank you so much for providing your feedback. We truly appreciate your business and I would like to reassure you that all of your comments and concerns have been addressed with the front desk department. Again I greatly apologize for the lack of proper customer service that you received. Balloon Fiesta is a busy time for us but that is in no way an excuse for poor customer service. I hope you will come back and give us another try to prove to you that your previous experience is not at all up to the standards that we strive to achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Albuquerque - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Albuquerque - Airport

Address: 1350 Sunport Place SW, Albuquerque, NM 87106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#21 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Albuquerque - Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albuquerque Airport hotel offers ideal location near junction of major highways. Welcome to the Staybridge Suites Albuquerque - Airport hotel, close to the junction of I-25 and I-40. Just a mile from the Albuquerque International Sunport Airport (ABQ), our hotel offers a complimentary shuttle to the airport and to any area attraction or business within a 3-mile radius of our accommodations. Located near downtown Albuquerque, our hotel is close to many attractions and activities. A few sights within 10 miles of our Albuquerque hotel include Old Town, the Albuquerque Biological Park, Journal Pavilion and Balloon Fiesta Park. Business travelers enjoy our extended stay Albuquerque hotel's location because of its proximity to area businesses, including Lockheed Martin, Kirtland Air Force Base, Sandia Labs, the University of New Mexico and the University of New Mexico Hospital. Our other convenient amenities for business travelers include complimentary high-speed Internet access, an on-site business center and flexible meeting space. Whether you're staying with us on leisure or business, you can appreciate our hotel's comfortable amenities, which are designed to make your visit memorable. Those cozy amenities include a 24-hour fitness center, a complimentary full breakfast buffet, putting green, home theater and on-site laundry services. Book your Albuquerque hotel room reservations now and enjoy excellent deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Staybridge Suites Albuquerque - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Albuquerque - Airport Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Albuquerque - Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.