We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 12th Street NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 146 hotels in Albuquerque
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay. Rooms very clean. Beds super comfy. Hot breakfast eas included. excellent food. Service was outstanding. Penny and Harris were very helpful and friendly. Definitely would stay there again. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
SusanTRN,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are happy that you found all to be pleasant. Our team is so good at what they do. Your review keeps us all motivated to keep providing great rooms and great service. Happy Holidays! We hope to see you again soon.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    92
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
89
99
15
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had 2 rooms during the period of Balloon Fiesta week, despite the fact the hotel was full and busy, the staff was friendly and very helpful with information, directions and eating suggestions, the hotel is new and is clean and well maintained, this goes for the rooms, pool area, interior and exterior of hotel. Personally the only negative is that their is not much around the hotel to walk to, but I did walk to the Pueblo Cultural Center, which just happened to be having a series of dance demonstration and I had a good time, the hotel is next to I-40 entrance which allowed me to quickly get to were I wanted to go. Happy to have chosen this hotel and stayed at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
BronxRican1955,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a good stay. You are correct - there is not alot to walk to nearby. However we are very close to both interstates and most stores, restaurants are only 1-3 miles away. The land nearby the hotel is currently being developed and we are confident that new options for food and shopping are in our future. Thank you so much for staying with us.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express is located a couple of miles ENE of Old Town, just on the north side of I-40. We had a suite, which had a living room and a separate bedroom, as well as the usual kitchenette. It also had 1 1/2 baths. Since this suite was handicap accessible (not important to us, but that's what they gave us), the rod in the closet was down low, so we couldn't hang anything long. The closet was also narrow, so we had to put most of our clothes in drawers. Fortunately, there were two dressers, though we were still cramped for clothing space. Since we were in town for a week, it was nice to have the extra room space.

The beds were very comfy, so we slept well, though there were a couple of mornings during the week where intermittent truck noise early in the morning woke me up. (Our room faced south.) There was a small LG TV (instead of the usual Samsung) in both the living room and bedroom. The TV in the bedroom was quite flaky about changing the channel and had trouble syncing. The main bathroom was very large and had a big soaking tub and a walk-in shower area. There was plenty of counter space by the sink and plenty of hot water.

This hotel offers free wi-fi and free breakfast.

The only real negative we experienced was that we both developed sinus problems — stuffy nose and sneezing. I suspect this was caused either by animal dander left by previous customers' pets or by dust mites.

We would stay here again because it's a good location, reasonably quiet, and there's a good place for breakfast just a block away. (I can't eat the free breakfast in the hotel due to gluten-intolerance and limiting dairy.)

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
DebiDalio,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate the feedback as I am sure other travelers do as well. I am glad to hear that you liked our location and the comfortable beds. I do apologize for the issues you experienced with the TV and noise. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.J
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Its hard for a Holiday Inn Express to standout, and because of the dedication of the staff, this one does. The Sales Manager, Harris Balkin, greeted us at check-in and made restaurant suggestions. The next morning, he made the rounds of the Breakfast Room, interested in the guest and attentive to their requests. The evening & morning desk clerks were also very professional & personable.
Excellent parking, very convenient
.

Room Tip: The staff is very knowledgable and helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Rilydog,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Historic Old Town. I am glad to hear that we stood out! Harris is so good at providing our guests with great service and great recommendations. I am glad that you were able to meet him. I hope to meet you on your next trip to Albuquerque.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The parking was great, the staff wonderful, the room almost perfect and the breakfast much better than many hotels. Could not ask for anything else in a Holiday Inn Express. Will stay there again. We travel a lot each year, usually staying at Holiday Inn locations. This one was as good or better most,

Room Tip: We went for the Suite - well worth the few extra $$'s
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
TheOregonBryds,

Thank you for taking the time tor review the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Old Town hotel. We appreciate you letting us know what you liked about our location and your stay. I am glad that you have found a keeper for when you come back to Albuquerque. We look forward to your next stay.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were booked into a handicap-accessible room with roll-on shower and were very pleased with the room. It was large, clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and we both slept very well. The shower had a fold-down bench, which I imagine would be good for a wheelchair bound person able to move from chair to bench. The room amenities were typical for Holiday Inn Express hotels; towels fluffy and nice. The breakfast was also typical of what is offered at these hotels. Tasty and a good start to our day if nothing exceptional. The staff was courteous, professional and pleasant, which we appreciate. We enjoyed talking to one of the managers who made rounds during breakfast. He gave us some good information on the area as well as the hotel. All in all a pleasant stay and good value for the price during a long trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
OhioLinda,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with our hotel. From our fluffy towels to professional staff. We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay with us.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gales Ferry
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of the Intl Balloon Festival. Our bedroom window was directed toward the mountain view. When we threw back the curtains around 8 AM- WOW there were dozens of beautiful ballons in the air. We felt the location was fine-easy to get around ABQ from there. Would have been nicer to be able to walk to Old Town but, it was a short drive. The breakfast was good, plentiful, and freshly stocked during each breakfast we were there. The room was very comfortable. The hotel staff was very nice, relaxed, and made us feel very welcome. For the price, the convenience, and comfort, I highly recommend this hotel. The second morning 4 of the balloons came down on the grounds next to the hotel-way cool to hear them and see them so up close. Fascinating. Balloon festival a great time to visit ABQ.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
DWS177,

WOW! Sounds like you had a great time in Albuquerque and at our hotel. Balloon Fiesta is one of those things you just have to see to believe. I hope that you will be able to come and enjoy it again. Thank you for choosing our hotel.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Address: 2300 12th Street NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Casino Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#11 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Old Town district hotel is located off I-40. While staying with us you can visit the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center (within walking distance) and experience Native American cuisine, learn about our local pueblos and even see a traditional dance performance. Visit the Historic Old Town Plaza(approx 2 miles) to do some shopping, have some great food, and visit the many museums Albuquerque has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Albuquerque Old Town
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.