We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent way stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 12th Street NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent way stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a first-class way stop on a tourist (or other) trip through Albuquerque. It's a quick ride from the airport, close to a Walgreens and just across from the Native American cultural center, which has an excellent restaurant.

Room Tip: The 'mountain' view is probably not worth the extra $10. The hotel is not that near the moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
matvox,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad that you liked our location. The mountain view is amazing depending the time you spend in the room and the time of day. I never can get over the amazing colors you will see the mountains change at sunset and sunrise. Many guests also choose this room type just to be on the front side of the building because of traffic noise. I do hope that next time you are in Albuquerque that you will stay with us again. Have a great Summer!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    103
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
96
115
17
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Arizona
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We notified the hotel ahead of time that one member of our party has severe asthma and to please have a fragrance free room available for us. And they did!! Huge kudos to the housekeeping staff and management for that special effort .. you really can't know how much it was appreciated.

We are Platinum members of the Priority Club so also had a very nice upgrade as well.

The beds were tripled-sheeted, very comfortable and had both soft and hard pillows to choose from. Nice touch!

The breakfast buffet is extensive and the woman staffing the buffet was extremely polite and helpful when I asked for a to go bag to put some breakfast in as we didn't have time to eat there.

I will definitely stay here again when in Albuquerque!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Weeyahneh,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with that fragrance free room and comfortable stay. Our housekeeping staff works each day to make sure that each guest has a nice clean room to rest in. I will pass on the word to our Breakfast attendant. Hope your "To Go" breakfast was enough to get your day going. We hope to see you again on our next trip to or thru Albuquerque.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights.. This hotel has good parking facilities. The staff are very helpful and the room was nice and spacious. Rooms were clean and breakfast which was included in the price was more than adequate. On the flip side there are no restuarants near the hotel and this hotel is not walking distance to the old town. We used the public bus, the bus stop is right across from the hotel. But make sure you know the timings and routes before you use them.

In the old town we ate in a fabulous cafe called bebe cafe situated in the patio market just off the main square in a small courtyard. The food was absolutely fantastic. Perfect for a light lunch. We had a crepe with fennel, caramalised onion and walnuts and soup. Yum!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Tryandtell,

Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you were happy with the accommodations, staff and our breakfast. I can never pick what I want when I stay at a Holiday Inn Express. So many choices! The closest restaurant is the Pueblo Harvest Cafe which is right across the street. They serve Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Maybe you can try them the next time you are in Albuquerque. Have a wonderful Summer. Hope to see you again.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logandale
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Clean and modern hotel. The rooms were clean a d very comfortable. The free breakfast offered a nice selection of food choices. One negative was the wireless Internet. When I called down to the front desk for a pass code, nobody answered (it was 10:30 pm) so no Internet that night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
gschwob,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am happy that you had a comfortable stay and a nice breakfast with us. I do apologize that someone was not available to provide the internet code to you. I know how important it is for us to be "connected". I do hope that you will stay with us again on your next tirp to Albuquerque. Have a nice Summer.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My family stayed here for a few nights when they were in town from the East Coast for our wedding. The sales director/manager (? - not sure of his exact title) Harris was very helpful and personable. The customer service was great and they were open and receptive to requests and suggestions. (They gave us a block deal for our wedding that was supposed to be a special rate but when we looked it up online it listed the same price. So that was a little disappointing but maybe it was the early bird special that was the same rate as the wedding special or something.)

The place is a little more pricey than I think it should be but a good value for the locations. It is in a nice area of town, near Old Town (the name "Old Town" in the title of the hotel is slightly deceptive, as it is nowhere near walking distance of Old Town) and the freeway, centrally located so that getting around ABQ is easy (with a rental car or cab). It is near another hotel, a Native American cultural center (it is on Indian land) and a travel center, so it seems to be a safe place to stay.

The rooms were nice and they had an indoor swimming pool and hot tub that worked well, and a small suntanning area (wish they had an outdoor pool but I guess you can't have everything!). They offer a hot breakfast. The food was so-so but hey, it's free! (The cinnamon buns were great. :)) The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. Due to the excellent customer service and nice location, I would highly recommend this hotel. Best wishes, fellow travelers!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
ABQTraveler27,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you and your family were pleased with our facility. I am glad that you were able to use our wonderful and relaxing pool area. Our rates can fluctuate day to day depending on room type, demand, etc. A group block is best because we actually hold rooms at that rate until the cutoff date. Also depeding on the terms of the contract you often will not have to pay up front as compared to the on-line special where you may have to. We wish you a long and happy marriage and look forward to having you as our guests again in the future.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

While in NM for our daughters wedding we stayed 2 nights on different days. Both check- ins were easy. Staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, breakfast was good. Easy hwy access. Close to old town as well as other good eating venues. Would stay again if ever in NM.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Baheli,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. Congrats to your daughter. We wish the happy couple all the best. I am so glad that your stays were cofortable. We look forward to having you as our guests again soon!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

At the halfway point headed home is Albuquerque, NM and a stay at the Holiday Inn in Old Town. Had a great stay, comfy beds and pet friendly. We had a late check-in and it was quick. Absolutely no issues the whole stay. I would definitely stay here again on our yearly trips to California. Excellent breakfast, fast on/off I-40 and courteous service. Parking is lit, but not necessarily close to the entrance. I guess the early bird gets the worm. Great showers and ammenities, soon after, this little piggy went to bed. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Arrive early for closer parking. Get the suite, much more room than a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
CA_Native_in_KS

Thank your for writing this wonderful review. I am so happy that you found our hotel to be comfortable and most of all confortable for your legged famiy member too! We hope to see you soon again on your next trip to or thru Albuquerque.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Address: 2300 12th Street NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#6 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Old Town district hotel is located off I-40. While staying with us you can visit the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center (within walking distance) and experience Native American cuisine, learn about our local pueblos and even see a traditional dance performance. Visit the Historic Old Town Plaza(approx 2 miles) to do some shopping, have some great food, and visit the many museums Albuquerque has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.