We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This little piggy went to bed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 12th Street NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Topeka, KS
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This little piggy went to bed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

At the halfway point headed home is Albuquerque, NM and a stay at the Holiday Inn in Old Town. Had a great stay, comfy beds and pet friendly. We had a late check-in and it was quick. Absolutely no issues the whole stay. I would definitely stay here again on our yearly trips to California. Excellent breakfast, fast on/off I-40 and courteous service. Parking is lit, but not necessarily close to the entrance. I guess the early bird gets the worm. Great showers and ammenities, soon after, this little piggy went to bed. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Arrive early for closer parking. Get the suite, much more room than a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
CA_Native_in_KS

Thank your for writing this wonderful review. I am so happy that you found our hotel to be comfortable and most of all confortable for your legged famiy member too! We hope to see you soon again on your next trip to or thru Albuquerque.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    102
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
95
112
17
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express on our way home and chose it because of the reviews, and it is just off i-40. It is very clean, and has comfortable rooms. The breakfast was good, and the staff was friendly and helpful. This was everything we were needing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
trans4med,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that our hotel fit all of your needs. We look forward to having you as our guests again soon.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The room was fresh and clean. Check in staff were helpful and friendly. Use of the pool was a bonus.

The breakfast was below par but included so can't complain too much.

Although we used the motel car park, we wanted to haev some drinks in the town centre. Public transport is TERRIBLE and not too many cabs either. If you want some drinks in town, i'd recommend staying closer to city centre.

So location wasn't great but the stay was perfectly fine otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Henrytherabbit,

Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. I am happy that you found the room clean and our staff friendly. We have a wonderful team that is always happy to assist. I am sorry that you found transportation to be an issue. There are a few options including the city bus that has a stop right outside the hotel. If you are looking for transportation later at night then a taxi is the way to go. I will make note of your comments for breakfast. We are always happy to hear suggestions that our guests may have to improve.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel is just off the I-40 freeway on 12th Street, across from the Pueblo Cultural Center (ask for coupons from the desk). Our room faced away from the freeway, and was comfortable, spacious, quiet and clean.

All working the front desk were helpful and friendly. The hotel breakfast was OK, but the Cultural Center has terrific food.

You will need to drive to Old Town Albuquerque.

After looking at the other hotels, this was the best for the area.

Room Tip: Much quieter on the side away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
sbaca2010,

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you found our hotel to be comfortable. I couldn't agree with you more, the food at the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center is delicious! I hope that you were able to take advantage of the wonderful events they have going on there as well. Dancing, Live Music on Friday and Saturday nights, and of course the wonderful museum. We look forward to having you as our guests again soon!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

There have been those on here that said this was in a bad area. It is right next to the expressway in a major city but we felt safe and didn't worry about our car or anything. Most of the staff there was WONDERFUL. Harris at the front desk gave us some great tips for our day-trip to Santa Fe. We spent two nights here. The room, pool and breakfast were exactly what you would expect from a HIE. The room was clean, comfortable and we had a great view of the mountains. It's a quick drive down to Old Town, the zoo, aquarium, etc. And you are close to the highways to hop and go to any other destination in region. It was a great central location for us to use as a base. Our major complaint...the last night we were there the batteries died in the smoke detector in our room at 2 a.m., waking the whole family up. We couldn't tell if it was a problem throughout the hotel or just ours. We tried calling the front desk for about an hour before someone finally answered. He came up and pulled the detector out of the ceiling. The next morning as we checked out the woman at the desk asked how everything was and we said we didn't get much sleep due to the smoke detector. She shrugged and said, "sorry." After the great customer service we had received up to that point, we expected more from this highly rated staff. Disappointing. They probably would have gotten a 5 if it hadn't been for that, but it left us with a sour note.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view. not only is it nice to look out at the mountains, but that's on the opp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
deltaduck2,

Thank you for taking a moment to review our hote and our staff. I am glad that you were happy with the location and with most of our staff. I do want to apologize that the smoke detector woke your family up and that the issue was not resolved in a better way. We take great pride in our facility and our service. I do hope that you and your family will stay with us again on your next trip to Albuquerque. Have a wonderful Summer!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigo, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed 4 nights for a wedding at the museum. We were with family and friends so there was a block of rooms set aside which worked out well. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The breakfast was the usual fare. The only complaint I have is the elevators smelled bad. Old Town was close by (driving) and theer is a Native Cultural Centr across the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
jrmack1426,

Thank you for your stay with us and your review. I am glad that we were able to accomodate your party. I am so sorry that the elevator smelled badly. I will be sure to have them check more often to ensure their cleanliness and freshness. Thanks for the feedback.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, N.M.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here a few times while in Albuquerqe for business. Very convenient to Highways 40 and 25. Not much w/in walking distance, but plenty of shopping, restaurants and Old Town are just a short drive away. Accross the street from the Native/Pueblo Cultural Center which is well worth a visit. Check their schedule for Native dancing that is presented many times during the week and weekends. There's a good restaurant at the Center as well.
Staff has always been helpful and friendly. Rooms are large and well appointed. We've never had any complaints, nor have we experienced the noise problem some have mentioned.
Nice hot breakfast and fitness center (small, but a nice wall of windows) are a plus for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
jimdaninm,

Thank you for your review and your loyalty to our hotel. Please pass on our name and number to your friends and collegues. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Address: 2300 12th Street NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#6 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Old Town district hotel is located off I-40. While staying with us you can visit the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center (within walking distance) and experience Native American cuisine, learn about our local pueblos and even see a traditional dance performance. Visit the Historic Old Town Plaza(approx 2 miles) to do some shopping, have some great food, and visit the many museums Albuquerque has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.