We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding customer service and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 12th Street NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding customer service and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This HoIiday Inn Express (HIE) staff should be the standard against which the IHG corporation bases all its properties. It is obvious that management of this property understands the concept of customer service and staff attitude.
Housekeeping was timely and complete. The breakfast was appropriate for the HIE price range. Common area maintenance (painting, etc.) was good and on-going. The only comments for improvement were minor and passed on to a receptive front desk: (1) housekeeping should keep a better eye on bathroom "paper products" (don't be chintzy about supplies, even if customers do walk off with an occasional box of tissues); (2) the front entry doors were occasionally erratic in opening (cleaning of the tracks and lubrication should take care of this); (3) because of the location at a major intersection, the next renovation of rooms/suites on the intersection side should include more window soundproofing (a third pane?); (4) the room thermostat(s) need upgrading/replacement (indefinite feel when changing modes).

However - will we stay at this HIE again? - most assuredly!

Room Tip: Rooms/suites away from the intersection would be quieter at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
AFSBob,

WOW! Thank you for the wonderful compliment! Without our guests we would not be here. This is something that we all take very seriously and is also why we are in the hospitality business. We appreciate your observations as well as your recommendations. We will be looking into the items you listed. Have a great day! We look forward to seeing you again.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    93
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
90
100
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I've stayed a many, many hotels and this one had some of the best staff I've ever dealt with. From the front counter staff, to the lady serving breakfast, I was extremely satisfied. Exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
tbellchoc,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate it more than you know. Your comments put even bigger smiles upon all of our team member to know that they are some of the best ever! Thank you again. We look forward to your next trip to Albuquerque.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel is clean, and the staff is wonderful. I was greeted cheerily when I arrived and the check in process was quick and efficient. Penny at the front desk even called my room about a half hour after I settled in to check if everything in my room was satisfactory. I have stayed in many hotels, and have never had the staff call to inquire if my room was satisfactory! I know that if I had found anything amiss (which I did not), they would have had it fixed in short order. If I stay in Albuquerque again, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Sammi112345,

Thank you, thank you, thank you! We can't thank you enough for your review. I couldn't agree more - Penny does a wonderufl job at our Front Desk, always friendly and so caring and our staff truly cares about the cleanliness and most of all our guests. We always want to make sure you have all you need while you are with us. Come back to visit us again.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for 2 nights travelling from Australia. We were really satisfied with the price and the location of the hotel. The complimentary breakfast which is provided daily adds to the value with free wifi and friendly staff (Harris Balkin) Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling through albuquerque.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
GLA2694,

Thank you for your review! I am glad that you found our location to fit your needs (price, breakfast, and wi-fi). Harris is a wonderful asset to our team and I am glad that you had a moment to speak with him. We hope to see you again on your next trip to or thru Albuquerque!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I have to write this review so people know how good this place is because it really is outstanding. My kids loved the pool and the front desk staff Penny was just great. Location was very convenient parking was spacious and the breakfast area was very good. Hotel is only four years old.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
DamionBrown,

YAY! I am so happy that you and your kids are happy with our location and our staff (Penny). Thank you for taking the time to let others know that we are a great find in Albuquerque. Hope to see you on yoru next trip.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Motels in Albuquerque seem, for the most part, to pop up wherever a builder and his investors can find an empty lot. That certainly seems to have been the case with the Holiday Inn Express Old Town which, though more or less across the street from the large Indian Pueblo Center, is blocks away from Old Town itself. On the other hand, this large motel-hotel is less than a mile from the I-40 freeway and little more than that from the I-25, the two main interstates that bisect New Mexico.
Like most HIEs throughout the country, this offers travelers just about anything they might want, from a comfortable night's rest to a reasonably pleasant continental breakfast in the morning. Check-in and out is quick and the front desk personnel, especially the night staff, outgoing and very friendly.

My wife and I have been to Albuquerque on many occasions and stayed at many different motels when we done so. If none of them have overwhelmed us with their excellence, we have never been disappointed in any of them either. Certainly the HIE Old Town is also a fine establishment and, if there is nothing that makes it stand out above all the others, any traveler will be pleased if they choose it when stopping in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
BigP,

Thank you for taking time time to review our hotel. I am glad that you have found nice hotels and good service during your visits to Albuquerque. I do hope that you will continue to stay with us when you and your wife are in Albuquerque again, we would love to try to overwhelm you with our excellence.

Kathleen E. Holguin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Chose this while driving route 40. Easy and convenient to get to. Penny at front desk gracious and welcoming both when we called ahead and on arrival and checkout. Room immaculate and even though we were on the interstate side heard nothing once we closed the blackout curtains. Standard complimentary breakfast and USA Today to read. Would definitely recommend and return to.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
DoDeCo,

Love the title! We love Penny too. She certainly does a wonderful job making our hotel each guests home away from home. I love the tip on the blackout curtains, good to know. We hope you will stay with us again on your return trip on I-40. Thank you for reviewinig our hotel.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Address: 2300 12th Street NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#8 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Old Town district hotel is located off I-40. While staying with us you can visit the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center (within walking distance) and experience Native American cuisine, learn about our local pueblos and even see a traditional dance performance. Visit the Historic Old Town Plaza(approx 2 miles) to do some shopping, have some great food, and visit the many museums Albuquerque has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Albuquerque Old Town
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.