We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fine Choice for Any Traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 12th Street NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 146 hotels in Albuquerque
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“A Fine Choice for Any Traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Motels in Albuquerque seem, for the most part, to pop up wherever a builder and his investors can find an empty lot. That certainly seems to have been the case with the Holiday Inn Express Old Town which, though more or less across the street from the large Indian Pueblo Center, is blocks away from Old Town itself. On the other hand, this large motel-hotel is less than a mile from the I-40 freeway and little more than that from the I-25, the two main interstates that bisect New Mexico.
Like most HIEs throughout the country, this offers travelers just about anything they might want, from a comfortable night's rest to a reasonably pleasant continental breakfast in the morning. Check-in and out is quick and the front desk personnel, especially the night staff, outgoing and very friendly.

My wife and I have been to Albuquerque on many occasions and stayed at many different motels when we done so. If none of them have overwhelmed us with their excellence, we have never been disappointed in any of them either. Certainly the HIE Old Town is also a fine establishment and, if there is nothing that makes it stand out above all the others, any traveler will be pleased if they choose it when stopping in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
BigP,

Thank you for taking time time to review our hotel. I am glad that you have found nice hotels and good service during your visits to Albuquerque. I do hope that you will continue to stay with us when you and your wife are in Albuquerque again, we would love to try to overwhelm you with our excellence.

Kathleen E. Holguin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    92
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
90
99
15
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Chose this while driving route 40. Easy and convenient to get to. Penny at front desk gracious and welcoming both when we called ahead and on arrival and checkout. Room immaculate and even though we were on the interstate side heard nothing once we closed the blackout curtains. Standard complimentary breakfast and USA Today to read. Would definitely recommend and return to.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
DoDeCo,

Love the title! We love Penny too. She certainly does a wonderful job making our hotel each guests home away from home. I love the tip on the blackout curtains, good to know. We hope you will stay with us again on your return trip on I-40. Thank you for reviewinig our hotel.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Nice new hotel on the outskirts of old town. Neighborhood a little dicey but right across from Indian culture center which is great. Rooms are spacious and nicely appointed great breakfast. There is a pool and it is located very near I-40 and I-25.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
vacationlover061,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and I'm sure future traveler do as well. We look forward to having you as our guest again. Happy Holidays!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great service by the staff, I wish they had little better breakfast... I went with my sister and her kids ... It was nice the concierge was a great help........... We only a night there while we were traveling to Dallas TX... THANKS...............

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Nazish76,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We really appreciate it. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Should you have further suggestions regarding breakfast options I would be happy to pass them along to our parent company. We are always looking to improve. Hope to have you as our guest again!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orefield
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Very teasonable rate. Good breakfast. Nice pool. Very clean. Overall, we were very happy with choice.

We had 2 bedroom suite which was huge. Unfortunately it faced the street and was somewhat noisy.

Sara worked the night shift and was excellent. We joked with her asking about the freshly baked cookies. 1/2 hour later she called our room and stated the cookies were ready. Nice service!

The location was convenient but you will need a car. Old town is about 1 1/2 miles away. Walgreens across street with a convenience store next door. Highway 40 is right there.

In sum, we were very happy with HIE.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
TonyLehighValley,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your time in Albuquerque. I am glad that you enjoyed the space that your suite had. I do like the layout of those rooms as well, plenty of room for a family. Sarah is so great at what she does, she truly is one of our many faces of what hospitality is. Our location is wonderful as it is so close to both interstates. I do have to agree that a car is necessary if you are staying mulitiple nights. However the city bus is always another option. There are a handful of stops nearby. We look forward to having you as our guests again!

Happy Holidays!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bet Haemek - Israel
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is my second visit to this hotel and again it was a wonderful experioence.
Very friendly staff; I got excellent recommandations about restaurants (authentic Mexican).
No chance finding hem without their help!
Needed an adopter and received one for 24 hour use.
Close to the Old Town.
Nice rooms and good breakfast.
Good price as well!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Rudy C,

Thank you for staying with us not once but twice, and for reviewing our hotel. I am glad you were able to find some good food while you were here. Our staff loves to send our guests to find great food and Albuquerque has many! We hope to see you on your next trip to Albuquerque.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have stayed here 3 nights. The welcome was excellent at reception, and in fact the receptionists are extremely helpful. Breakfast is a good buffet, as in all Holiday Inn Express hotels and is complementary. The lady who serves at breakfast is also very nice too. The beds are huge and very comfortable. The only little gripe I have is that the room doesn't seem to be dusted every day. The beds are beautifully made, and fresh towels provided, but i noticed a thick coat of dust on the surfaces this morning.
The facilities are good too as in all Holiday Inns. This hotel is also well located as is relatively near to the centre of town, and near some good restaurants too. There is an interesting Indian Cultural Centre just across the road.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Mickigirl1310,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are glad that you found our reception and breakfast staff nice and helpful. We have passed on your comments regarding Housekeeping to our Executive Houskeeper. I am always amazed at how perfectly they get those beds to look. We are keeping a close eye on the dusting. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you are in Albuquerque!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Address: 2300 12th Street NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#11 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Old Town district hotel is located off I-40. While staying with us you can visit the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center (within walking distance) and experience Native American cuisine, learn about our local pueblos and even see a traditional dance performance. Visit the Historic Old Town Plaza(approx 2 miles) to do some shopping, have some great food, and visit the many museums Albuquerque has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Albuquerque Old Town
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town Hotel Albuquerque

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;