We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter break Texas trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 12th Street NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 146 hotels in Albuquerque
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Winter break Texas trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great service by the staff, I wish they had little better breakfast... I went with my sister and her kids ... It was nice the concierge was a great help........... We only a night there while we were traveling to Dallas TX... THANKS...............

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Nazish76,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We really appreciate it. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Should you have further suggestions regarding breakfast options I would be happy to pass them along to our parent company. We are always looking to improve. Hope to have you as our guest again!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    91
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
82
95
15
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orefield
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Very teasonable rate. Good breakfast. Nice pool. Very clean. Overall, we were very happy with choice.

We had 2 bedroom suite which was huge. Unfortunately it faced the street and was somewhat noisy.

Sara worked the night shift and was excellent. We joked with her asking about the freshly baked cookies. 1/2 hour later she called our room and stated the cookies were ready. Nice service!

The location was convenient but you will need a car. Old town is about 1 1/2 miles away. Walgreens across street with a convenience store next door. Highway 40 is right there.

In sum, we were very happy with HIE.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
TonyLehighValley,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your time in Albuquerque. I am glad that you enjoyed the space that your suite had. I do like the layout of those rooms as well, plenty of room for a family. Sarah is so great at what she does, she truly is one of our many faces of what hospitality is. Our location is wonderful as it is so close to both interstates. I do have to agree that a car is necessary if you are staying mulitiple nights. However the city bus is always another option. There are a handful of stops nearby. We look forward to having you as our guests again!

Happy Holidays!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bet Haemek - Israel
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is my second visit to this hotel and again it was a wonderful experioence.
Very friendly staff; I got excellent recommandations about restaurants (authentic Mexican).
No chance finding hem without their help!
Needed an adopter and received one for 24 hour use.
Close to the Old Town.
Nice rooms and good breakfast.
Good price as well!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Rudy C,

Thank you for staying with us not once but twice, and for reviewing our hotel. I am glad you were able to find some good food while you were here. Our staff loves to send our guests to find great food and Albuquerque has many! We hope to see you on your next trip to Albuquerque.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have stayed here 3 nights. The welcome was excellent at reception, and in fact the receptionists are extremely helpful. Breakfast is a good buffet, as in all Holiday Inn Express hotels and is complementary. The lady who serves at breakfast is also very nice too. The beds are huge and very comfortable. The only little gripe I have is that the room doesn't seem to be dusted every day. The beds are beautifully made, and fresh towels provided, but i noticed a thick coat of dust on the surfaces this morning.
The facilities are good too as in all Holiday Inns. This hotel is also well located as is relatively near to the centre of town, and near some good restaurants too. There is an interesting Indian Cultural Centre just across the road.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Mickigirl1310,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are glad that you found our reception and breakfast staff nice and helpful. We have passed on your comments regarding Housekeeping to our Executive Houskeeper. I am always amazed at how perfectly they get those beds to look. We are keeping a close eye on the dusting. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you are in Albuquerque!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have stayed here twice, due to convenient location, service, and wonderful staff. I agree with all points of praise from other reviewers, especially about staff and location. Easy walk to IPCC and convenience store/ gas station. Rooms were sparkling clean; breakfast well-stocked with all you need. Recommendations from desk clerk for dinner at the cultural center, topped off our evening with a wonderful meal. So good, we brought her back a dessert, as thanks. Would be happy to recommend this location of HIE to anyone who is nice enough to appreciate it. As for you parents who let your kids come out of the pool and drip all over this lovely place? That's poor teaching of how to treat other peoples' things. Stay home until you can be more considerate.

Room Tip: South or West are the quiet sides. Hotel is at busy corner, though we weren't disturbed by any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
ParticularTNgal,

Thank you for the wonderful review. I love this website for this very reason - Travelers giving others words of advise and tips. Our Housekeeping staff certainly does **Sparkle**! They do an outstanding job each and every day. I am glad that you had a great dinner across the street at the Pueblo Harvest Cafe. Our Front Desk Clerk sends thanks for the dessert. We look forward to you staying with us again and again. From our family to yours Happy Holidays!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed here twice now, and both times I was happy with my stay.

The rooms are very clean-- I appreciate how the Holiday Inn chain washes the duvet covers for each guest. I have grown so used to having to fold down any bedspread and lay out a towel to sit on that I love the fact that the bedspread is clean for me.

The beds are comfortable-- the TV works and the water pressure was hot and strong. What more could I want?

The standard Holiday Inn breakfast of their wonderful cinnamon rolls, microwaved eggs (yuck), hard boiled eggs (yum), cereal, bacon or sausage, juice, coffee, etc. You can even make your own waffles-- which the kids always seem to love here.

This location seemed to be a little off the beaten path. If you don't have a car, you are stuck.

Overall You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
TallGirl7,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for being a repeat guest. The hard boiled eggs are my choice for breakfast as well. There is always so much to choose from (hot cinammon roll, yogurt and granola, bagels, and of course the wonderful fresh pancakes). We look forward to your next stay with us. Have a wonderful Holiday Season!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

WOW! What a wonderful visit to a PRISTINE hotel and hosted by a very professional and informative staff! Had to travel to Albuquerque for a two day personal business trip and wanted to use one night's worth of Priority Club points. I called the hotel and asked if they would honor the points on a weekend night, the attendant on duty; Ms. Sarah was very informative, specific with her information on how I could achieve this request by calling Priority Club. After calling Priority Club (which again was very helpful) I was able to obtain a two-night stay with one night using points and the other night paying. Once arriving at the hotel, again Ms. Sarah was extremely helpful in checking us in after a long days journey. We were provided with an OUTSTANDING suite for a reasonable price, especially in this economical sensitive times! The location of the hotel was close to the Native American Cultural Center and provided a very comfortable surrounding for our stay! The Holiday Inn Express was centrally located, easy access to the Interstate, fuel stop, quick shopping and close access to Old Town Albuquerque. The breakfast buffet was absolutely fantastic! The culinary attendant was very friendly and ensured that the hot food line was fully provided for at all times. The cleanliness and exquisite appearance of the eating area was again a very comfortable and pleasurable experience! The staff was very helpful in explaining questions I had regarding some "pending" charges and again was extremely professional in all aspects. Truly personified CUSTOMER SERVICE attitude and performance, thank you so much! Great stay, if ever traveling to the "Duke City" again this will be our FIRST CHOICE/PREFERRED CHOICE of stay!

Room Tip: Nothing I could contribute could add to the positive experience we enjoyed at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
SandyDuff60805,

Thank you! Thank you! thank you! I can't tell you how much these reviews mean to us. You are correct, Sarah is so informative, and professional. She is one of of the many assets that make our team and hotel wonderful. I am so happy that you had a great time with us and in Albuquerque. Using those wonderful Priority Club points is also a bonus. We look forward to you and your family and friends next stay with us. Have a Happy Thanksgiving.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Address: 2300 12th Street NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#11 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Old Town district hotel is located off I-40. While staying with us you can visit the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center (within walking distance) and experience Native American cuisine, learn about our local pueblos and even see a traditional dance performance. Visit the Historic Old Town Plaza(approx 2 miles) to do some shopping, have some great food, and visit the many museums Albuquerque has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.