We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 12th Street NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Bet Haemek - Israel
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“very helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is my second visit to this hotel and again it was a wonderful experioence.
Very friendly staff; I got excellent recommandations about restaurants (authentic Mexican).
No chance finding hem without their help!
Needed an adopter and received one for 24 hour use.
Close to the Old Town.
Nice rooms and good breakfast.
Good price as well!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Rudy C,

Thank you for staying with us not once but twice, and for reviewing our hotel. I am glad you were able to find some good food while you were here. Our staff loves to send our guests to find great food and Albuquerque has many! We hope to see you on your next trip to Albuquerque.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    93
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
90
100
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have stayed here 3 nights. The welcome was excellent at reception, and in fact the receptionists are extremely helpful. Breakfast is a good buffet, as in all Holiday Inn Express hotels and is complementary. The lady who serves at breakfast is also very nice too. The beds are huge and very comfortable. The only little gripe I have is that the room doesn't seem to be dusted every day. The beds are beautifully made, and fresh towels provided, but i noticed a thick coat of dust on the surfaces this morning.
The facilities are good too as in all Holiday Inns. This hotel is also well located as is relatively near to the centre of town, and near some good restaurants too. There is an interesting Indian Cultural Centre just across the road.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Mickigirl1310,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are glad that you found our reception and breakfast staff nice and helpful. We have passed on your comments regarding Housekeeping to our Executive Houskeeper. I am always amazed at how perfectly they get those beds to look. We are keeping a close eye on the dusting. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you are in Albuquerque!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have stayed here twice, due to convenient location, service, and wonderful staff. I agree with all points of praise from other reviewers, especially about staff and location. Easy walk to IPCC and convenience store/ gas station. Rooms were sparkling clean; breakfast well-stocked with all you need. Recommendations from desk clerk for dinner at the cultural center, topped off our evening with a wonderful meal. So good, we brought her back a dessert, as thanks. Would be happy to recommend this location of HIE to anyone who is nice enough to appreciate it. As for you parents who let your kids come out of the pool and drip all over this lovely place? That's poor teaching of how to treat other peoples' things. Stay home until you can be more considerate.

Room Tip: South or West are the quiet sides. Hotel is at busy corner, though we weren't disturbed by any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
ParticularTNgal,

Thank you for the wonderful review. I love this website for this very reason - Travelers giving others words of advise and tips. Our Housekeeping staff certainly does **Sparkle**! They do an outstanding job each and every day. I am glad that you had a great dinner across the street at the Pueblo Harvest Cafe. Our Front Desk Clerk sends thanks for the dessert. We look forward to you staying with us again and again. From our family to yours Happy Holidays!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed here twice now, and both times I was happy with my stay.

The rooms are very clean-- I appreciate how the Holiday Inn chain washes the duvet covers for each guest. I have grown so used to having to fold down any bedspread and lay out a towel to sit on that I love the fact that the bedspread is clean for me.

The beds are comfortable-- the TV works and the water pressure was hot and strong. What more could I want?

The standard Holiday Inn breakfast of their wonderful cinnamon rolls, microwaved eggs (yuck), hard boiled eggs (yum), cereal, bacon or sausage, juice, coffee, etc. You can even make your own waffles-- which the kids always seem to love here.

This location seemed to be a little off the beaten path. If you don't have a car, you are stuck.

Overall You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
TallGirl7,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for being a repeat guest. The hard boiled eggs are my choice for breakfast as well. There is always so much to choose from (hot cinammon roll, yogurt and granola, bagels, and of course the wonderful fresh pancakes). We look forward to your next stay with us. Have a wonderful Holiday Season!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

WOW! What a wonderful visit to a PRISTINE hotel and hosted by a very professional and informative staff! Had to travel to Albuquerque for a two day personal business trip and wanted to use one night's worth of Priority Club points. I called the hotel and asked if they would honor the points on a weekend night, the attendant on duty; Ms. Sarah was very informative, specific with her information on how I could achieve this request by calling Priority Club. After calling Priority Club (which again was very helpful) I was able to obtain a two-night stay with one night using points and the other night paying. Once arriving at the hotel, again Ms. Sarah was extremely helpful in checking us in after a long days journey. We were provided with an OUTSTANDING suite for a reasonable price, especially in this economical sensitive times! The location of the hotel was close to the Native American Cultural Center and provided a very comfortable surrounding for our stay! The Holiday Inn Express was centrally located, easy access to the Interstate, fuel stop, quick shopping and close access to Old Town Albuquerque. The breakfast buffet was absolutely fantastic! The culinary attendant was very friendly and ensured that the hot food line was fully provided for at all times. The cleanliness and exquisite appearance of the eating area was again a very comfortable and pleasurable experience! The staff was very helpful in explaining questions I had regarding some "pending" charges and again was extremely professional in all aspects. Truly personified CUSTOMER SERVICE attitude and performance, thank you so much! Great stay, if ever traveling to the "Duke City" again this will be our FIRST CHOICE/PREFERRED CHOICE of stay!

Room Tip: Nothing I could contribute could add to the positive experience we enjoyed at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
SandyDuff60805,

Thank you! Thank you! thank you! I can't tell you how much these reviews mean to us. You are correct, Sarah is so informative, and professional. She is one of of the many assets that make our team and hotel wonderful. I am so happy that you had a great time with us and in Albuquerque. Using those wonderful Priority Club points is also a bonus. We look forward to you and your family and friends next stay with us. Have a Happy Thanksgiving.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel is well situated in an area a short drive from Old Town, downtown and just off the interstate, so as long as you have a car, you are a short distance from all of Albuquerque. Additionally, just across the street is the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center which is a really great attraction with an even better restaurant inside. We showed our room key and received 10% off lunch at the restaurant.

The hotel seems pretty clean and well taken care of, but it wasn't without issue. First off, the breakfast staff didn't keep hot water available throughout breakfast for tea. Usually you can depend on the Holiday Inn Express to keep water available throughout the evening so you can enjoy tea before bed (especially if you're sucking down green tea to keep from getting sick), but this HIE didn't keep hot water ready for any time of day. They did have a coffee maker in the room which we used to heat up water 1 night, but we noticed it had not been cleaned the next day while we were out, I know in this case it was just water but make an effort to let me know that I'm not drinking out of a dirty container. I also stumbled upon an extremely dirty public restroom in the lobby while we were checking out, I hope that was an isolated incident. Also, staff didn't seem to be at the front desk at all times as I'd expect, there were several times where I had a question and they were no where to be found.

Overall, it's not a bad place to stay, but this was a far cry from the service I've experienced at other Holiday Inn Express hotels in the past.

Room Tip: Change rooms if you get stuck next to the laundry room (room 122 I think). We came back from the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Scott R,

First of all Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I do want to apologize for us not having water readily available for you and other guests as well, and for the lack of desk staff being at the front desk. All comments are greatly appreciated as they help us to know what we are doing well on and where we can use improvements. I do hope that if you decide to return to Albuquerque at any time that you will consider trying us again.

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a really pleasant and enjoyable stay at this location which must be attributed to the very friendly and helpful staff, from the front desk to the lady serving breakfast. They are good examples of what the hospitality industry should be.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmabqww, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
MMJBSC,

What a wonderful compliment! Our team members really do love what they do. We enjoy making people happy and comfortable when they are in our home away from their home. Thank you for taking time out of your time to let us and others know of your experience with us. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Kathleen E. Holguin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Address: 2300 12th Street NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#6 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Old Town district hotel is located off I-40. While staying with us you can visit the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center (within walking distance) and experience Native American cuisine, learn about our local pueblos and even see a traditional dance performance. Visit the Historic Old Town Plaza(approx 2 miles) to do some shopping, have some great food, and visit the many museums Albuquerque has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Albuquerque Old Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Albuquerque Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.