We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casita Chamisa

Save Saved
You added Casita Chamisa to your Saves list
Casita Chamisa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casita Chamisa
850 Chamisal Rd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87107   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 24 Albuquerque B&B and Inns
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We wanted to get to know Albuquerque and its neighborhoods, as we are considering moving there in the future. Our two nights at Casita Chamisa were great! Arnhold is a delightful host, full of interesting stories, and makes a mean blueflour pancake. The history of this house --as well as the history under the house portrayed in a video by his wife/ archeologist Kit-- were fascinating. We even attended church with him on Sunday morning in downtown Albuquerque and met some of his friends. The bed was comfortable, Sitting out on the patio and talking with the horses and the cats was fun. We were not in any rush to get anywhere, so enjoyed relaxing there. Yes, there are cobwebs, but we prefer that to staying in yet another motel with no character.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

If you want an anonymous, characterless place to stay, don’t choose Casita Chamisa.
If you want a distinctive, comfortable place where your host, Arnold, genuinely loves his customers, you should really enjoy this B&B.
The Queen Studio was spacious and airy with a comfortable bed and all you could need for a short stay in Albuquerque. The historic Old Town is only a few minute’s drive away.
Breakfasts were excellent with everything prepared fresh and with a great deal of care. Arnold happily explains the unique history of the site including its long native American connections and his wife’s enthusiastic excavations in past years.
Casita Chamisa is no ordinary B&B. I’d enthusiastically return there.

Room Tip: For one or two people, the Queen Suite is very good with plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We loved our experience at Casita Chamisa. It was comfortable and beautiful, and we were treated to a personal breakfast prepared by Arnold, the charming and friendly owner. His stories about the property, and the video about his late wife, were intriguing and heartwarming. The heated indoor pool was an added treat. If you are looking for an antiseptic chain hotel, this is probably not the place for you. If you are looking for a unique experience that you will long remember and treasure, we can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask Arnold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010 via mobile

We had such a great time! The house is so unique and so comfortable. The property is beautiful and everything about the place has a story. Water pressure was great. The studio has a kitchenette and a tempurpedic bed. We got the best nights' sleep both nights. It is peaceful and quiet at night. There is a heated, indoor pool and two person hot tub. And there was a little flat screen in our room.
Arnold is an absolute delight. He is a wonderful, older gentleman who makes the best breakfasts. He is very precise about things and has spent years perfecting his recipes. Everything he made us was special and delicious. You can tell he really enjoys sharing his home with people. We were there when some people called to book a room and he beamed and said "some people are coming to stay in the guest house" with a big smile and did a little happy dance. The place has a very interesting history and the stories of Arnold and Kit's lives are everywhere. He is so much fun to talk to and his smile will melt your heart. We will definitely make it a point to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Arnold is a very nice older gentleman but is very regimented.The guest house was cramped, dated, not so clean and kind of creepy. The outside door from the "greenhouse" did not lock. The kitchenette is ancient and had frost several inches thick. There were 3 of us women that had made reservations and after returning after dark the first night decided we just coulndn't stay there. We packed up, left some money on the table and left. I like quirky and different, but all I can say is this place made us very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, WA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Room was clean and comfortable.
Trash was not emptied once during our 4 night stay, towels were not changed nor bed made. The room lacked ventilation. There was an old wooden screen door leading outside, that was held closed by a hook and eye, so we did not feel safe leaving the inside door open at night. There was a very old table fan with a grate covering the metal blades that had spaces big enough for your whole hand to fit in - I was terrified to move it once the fan was on - and it was very noisy.
The location can't be beat for the Balloon Fiesta. We had requested to have our breakfasts to go, but that wasn't available, and breakfast was only served at 8:30 (video at 8:00).
Arnold was very friendly.
If you can go with the flow, and don't worry about being any place in a hurry, this place could be for you. If you are looking for room service and luxury, you should pass on it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

The B and B is ok, the location is awesome. The inn keeper is very nice, older, sharp but the rooms are dusty and I want to give other travelers a few heads up.
No daily service to rooms, innkeeper does not make beds, empty trash, freshen towels, etc. over the 5 days we stayed. Does not make breakfast if you are going to the balloon fiesta mass ascensions of the Balloon Fiesta. We did have breakfast , which was fine but he keeps his parrot in the kitchen and 4 cats roam the house, so we weren't thrilled to enjoy the breakfasts, I am sure it would be ok for some but not us. Also, allow 30 minutes before your first breakfast to view the video of inn keepers wife who was an archeologist who held a dig on the property where the Casita is and what they found. Kind of interesting.
Would recommend but the innkeeper could do a better job.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casita Chamisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita Chamisa

Address: 850 Chamisal Rd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87107
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Casita Chamisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casita Chamisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.