We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowbirds find a warm retreat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adobe and Roses

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Albuquerque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adobe and Roses
Save
You added Adobe and Roses to your Saves list
1011 Ortega Road NW, Albuquerque, NM 87114   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Albuquerque B&B and Inns
ohio
1 review
“Snowbirds find a warm retreat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Nestled in the north valley of Albuquerque, Adobe & Roses B & B offers peace and tranquility while just minutes from many stores and fine restaurants. As snowbirds from Ohio, my husband and I stayed in the king suite of the guesthouse for the month of February. It quickly became our home. Our gracious hostess, Dorothy Morse, made us comfortable in every way. We relaxed with plenty of space to entertain our family and old friends. Sometimes we just wanted quiet nights in front of the blazing fire in the kiva style fireplace on a few cold winter nights.
The trails along the Rio Grande were perfect for bike riding and hiking. We accessed it through Bachechi Open Space off of Alameda. We will definitely make this our home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
17
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our last stop on a trip thru New Mexico. While we unfortunately didn't have a chance to meet Dorothy, who took a rare opportunity to visit her daughter in San Francisco, I did talk to her on the phone, and she is very nice. I will also say that the accommodations are the best we've ever had at a B&B (and we've stayed at a lot). We had a large casita with our own living room, bedroom, bathroom and kitchen. And a little pond outside the door, with chickens and peacocks running around, which we found quite charming and relaxing. The location is great - its like being out in the country, but really only a short drive to the two places we wanted to see in Albuquerque, which were Old Town and Santa Fe. The spacious living room has one of those round 'kiva' corner fireplaces and a picture window looking out on the pond, and we could see the mountains from the bedroom window. Everything was very comfortable and complete - it was like having your own home away from home, but very New Mexico. We thought it was perfect, just the opposite of staying at a standard corporate hotel. We wanted local color, and we found it here. Another reviewer used the words 'delightful' and 'great value', and I will concur with that - you couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: They are probably all good. We had the larger of two casita 'halves' - our half had a separ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

DO NOT COME HERE if you expect this to be just like another Marriott or Day's Inn!!!

This is a detached or semi-detached room or suite in a private residence near the banks of the Rio Grande. It is also like staying in a private residence - reasonably quiet, spacious, walk-outside-your-door-and-you're-really-outside kind of place! Chickens and peacocks vie for your attention during your relaxed and wonderful home-made breakfast.

I will not stay anywhere else next time I'm in ABQ!.. A little tattered around the edges, but an excellent value and - hey - if you want corporate hotel perfection, please stay at a Marriott!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My friend and I rented the guest cottage of this great B&B and did our own meals. But you can also stay in the main house and either way you can accept meals there. The guest cottage has a comfortable living room, kitchenettes in both sides, fireplaces, and wireless for our computer. We found the Adobe and Roses gave us great access to I-25 to go north to do our touring, and also gave us great access to Old Town Albuquerque and the ABQ airport. And the grounds were unusually lush. Roses, datura, lily pads, pond. And a peahen (female peacock) greeted us every day. The B&B also has horses and other birds. The owner, Dorothy, is helpful with dinner recommendations and we ate at a great Mexican restaurant nearby, at her recommendation. The food was wonderful and there was quiet, live music which was a delightful surprise. Dorothy is a relaxed hostess and she enjoys her work. I would definitely stay there again for a short or a long stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This B and B is located in a quiet area of North Albuequerque and offers a peaceful relaxed stay in a delightful garden setting. The guesthouse is very clean and extremely well maintained. You could sit here all day on the patio and feel content doing nothing more than enjoying the garden with its water lily pond, roses, berry bushes, and garden creatures wandering by such as the peahen, roadrunner, chicken and guinea hens. These last two provide delicious fresh eggs for breakfast. Dorothy is an impeccable and gracious host who provides one of the best b&b experiences we have had. next time we'll be sure to stay more than two nights. The Gruet winery is only 10 minutes away and makes excellent champagne.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very comfortable and homey. We had the twin-side guesthouse and enjoyed a very restful evening on the covered portal overlooking the lovingly tended lily pond and garden. It's very quiet and peaceful. Dorothy is a sweet and caring hostess who provided a delicious full breakfast made to order. The accommodations are charming and well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very enjoyable experience. Dorothy is a perfect hostess and excellent cook. The surroundings are peaceful, comfortable and well kept. Dorothy has created a hidden treasure with a very personal touch. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return if we get the opportunity!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#9 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huning Highland Historic District
Downtown Historic Bed & Breakfasts of Albuquerque
Adobe Nido Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 25 in Albuquerque
5.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe and Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe and Roses

Address: 1011 Ortega Road NW, Albuquerque, NM 87114
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adobe and Roses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.