We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully creative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jennifer James 101

Jennifer James 101
4615 Menaul NE Suite A, Albuquerque, NM 87110
+1 505-884-3860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 1,533 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderfully creative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you want a true foodie type of experience, this is the place. It's a tiny restaurant with very limited seating, so if you want to go- make a reservation! The menu changes seasonally as well as the specials. They also have half bottles of wine which was perfect for the two of us. Everything we had was scrumptious and we were very well cared for by the staff.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    10
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Fresh, seasonal and outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This place is always outstanding. The atmosphere is quite hospitable and efficient. The menu is creative and seasonal; the ingredients are very fresh. The execution is thoughtful, creative and always delicious. Tight wine list that is excellently selected. Kudos!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bare Bones”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We decided to give this restaurant another try as we were not totally pleased the first time, but perhaps it was an off day for them.

When ordering, I asked the waiter if I could have some blue cheese added to my salad, and it was as if I had ordered gold (of course, we are always willing to pay for anything extra) but the waiter told me that the cheese was limited in the kitchen, and I could not have it. The proper thing to do was tell me that he would ask the chef, but his mannerism was a total turn off.

We both ordered the rack of lamb, only to get a couple of bones with a very small amount of meat on them. I realize that rack of lamb usually does not have a lot of meat, but this was the smallest amount that I have ever seen anywhere. Thank God we had two pieces of bread which kept us full that evening.

We will not be returning to Jennifer James anytime soon or in the future.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An absolute must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Don't be put off by its strip-mall location -- this restaurant is excellent. We choose our meal from Jennifer's "late summer" menu and enjoyed every bite: The simple salad is fresh and delicious, as is the icerberg wedge with cava blue cheese dressing. The pork tenderloin in a peach-chipotle sauce was delicious, and the buffalo loin steak (a special that night) was superior -- fresh, mild and perfectly cooked. The portions are generous and the service is attentive and friendly. Save room for dessert, and indulge yourself in a full serving rather than "a taste" because you'll wish you had more. The wine list, like the menu, is small but well chosen.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Albuquerque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Absolutely magnificent. JJ101 is a jewel of fine dining in an otherwise dismal area of Albuquerque. Everything brought to our table was executed perfectly. The crab cake appetizer was presented with an apricot sauce that complimented it perfectly. With the size and heartiness of the crab cake, we skipped the Caesar salad and went straight to the trout entree (from the Julia Child 100th birthday menu). The head/skin on preparation and presentation served with a caper sauce produced the best fish dish I have ever experienced.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jennifer James 101 also viewed

 

Been to Jennifer James 101? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jennifer James 101, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.