We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Cultural experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Pueblo Cultural Center

Indian Pueblo Cultural Center
2401 12th St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Near North Valley)
866-855-7902
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 199 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Owned and run by the 19 Indian Pueblos of New Mexico, this important center showcases the history of the Pueblo people through ancient artifacts, dance demonstrations and art exhibits.
Anacortes, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Quality Cultural experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Very informative museum on the pueblo cultures, bookstore and gift shopping, cafe, and while we were there indian dances and artists selling their original wares. Very high quality and worthwhile.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    220
    56
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A peek into the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I visited here whilst in Albuquerque. It is not easy to find but worth the detour. It is a visual history of the Pueblo Indians. There are historical time lines, tableaux, dioramas and relics. Time the day right and there are dances as we'll. There is rather a sad section about an episode of attempts by the white NA to kill the Indian culture, but on the obverse side a lot of good came about. A part of America we knew nothing about. It was great. Don't miss it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“So glad we didn't miss coming here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

What a wonderful experience to hear about the Pueblo Indians, their history, art, dwellings and to watch the dancers! The restaurant and gift shops were also very authentic to the Pueblo tradition and well worth visiting.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting and enjoyable, great people and exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

It was recommended by the owner of the Turquoise Museum, and we were very happy we went. Luckily we arrived in time for the Buffalo Dance. Indian artists had beautiful jewelry and wares for reasonable prices. The exhibits gave a good insight into the culture and life style of the various Pueblo tribes.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very worthwhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a Saturday morning and were surprised to be able to witness ritual dances performed outside. Enjoyed the various exhibits and presentations.
Be sure to watch the video in the museum downstairs in the museum showing the delicate process of how an elderly woman makes and fires the beautiful black clay pots.
Per another review on TripAdvisor we decided to stay for a late lunch in the handsome restaurant. One of the best meals we have enjoyed this trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Pueblo Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Indian Pueblo Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Pueblo Cultural Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.