We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandia Peak Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sandia Peak Inn Motel to your Saves list
Sandia Peak Inn Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4614 Central Avenue Southwest, Albuquerque, NM 87105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Red Bluff
1 review
“Great place to stay !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

My husband & I were just traveling through Albuquerque & stayed here for just one night. A very clean room & a comfortable clean bed are a must for us. This motel provided both. Best nights sleep on our whole trip. 5 stars! The heating/AC unit was whisper quiet. Bathroom was very clean. Nice towels. Liked having a microwave & refrigerator in the room. Staff was very pleasant. Breakfast was just a standard continental style; no big wow. We would definitely stay here again, & will recommend SANDIA PEAK INN to our friends !

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    153
    39
    13
    15
See reviews for
200
333
45
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

We picked this place because of the reviews here. We've stayed at Monterey Non-Smokers Hotel in the past, but they don't have king-size beds. Both properties are similar...clean and well run.

Sandia Peak is a 2 story property with an indoor pool. There was a mix-up with our reservation, so we got a king suite for $57.90 + tax! The room was large, and there were plenty of surfaces for our stuff. Everything was very clean. They provide a couple small packets of shampoo and some soap...no luxurious toiletries, but that's okay. The shower water pressure was fine, and the towels were soft and large (btw, you only get two...ask if you need more). Shower and toilet were separate from sink area, and the shower area has a sunlamp for warmth.

We didn't hear road noise from Room 103, but the heater does indeed crank up loudly when it cycles on. The bed was pretty firm.

Was glad to see some wheat bread at breakfast (I could've used some peanut butter for protein). There were bananas and apples, along with the donuts and cereal. My husband said the coffee was good, but I didn't see any makings for tea. Kay said they would soon be getting a wafflemaker. Note: the "Cheerios" type cereal is already sweetened, you don't need to add more sugar!

We'd definitely stay here again. Kay aims to please and she does a nice job!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthicum, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Yes, this is a two story motor court-style inn a la Motel 6, not a hacienda as described by another reviewer. However, we liked it so much we made a return visit a week later rather stay elsewhere. Kay, the manager, is a wonderful person who goes out of her way to make you happy. She upgraded us to a deluxe suite twice and recommended some terrific places to eat. Our chamber was huge, probably 40 X 18, plus en suite, with a king and a single bed, easy chair, triple dresser, table and two arm chairs, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and large TV. Believe me when I state it was a great room worth double the rack rate. Breakfast was so-so, with the usual 'continental' choices (we prefer a super hearty cooked breakfast), but keeping in mind the very low price, I can't complain, only advise. The hotel is located just west of the Rio Grande on the south side of Historic 66, so beware there will highway noise early in the morning - as with every other hotel in the area (99% are on US 66, aka Central). No crying babies or wild parties disturbed our sleep. Plenty of parking for guests, free lobby use internet, loads of nearby stores for travelers' supplies, endless dining choices, plus close proximity to the main tourist trap make this a smart choice.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel based on the reviews posted at tripadvisor. It was so mediocre we double-checked that we were indeed at the same hotel! The Sandia Peak Inn is a typical by-the-road motel with old beds and bedding. The street traffic is noisy and the AC unit sounds like a jet engine starting when it cycles on and off all night.

The breakfast is very skimpy (a true continental breakfast) with cereal, toast and bananas.

We were disappointed to return one evening to see that the room hadn't been visited by housekeeping (beds were not made and room not cleaned).

On the positive, Kay (the manager) was very friendly and kept asking if we were happy with our room. Then again, she knew that we used tripadvisor to find her.

The room rate was $60/night for 2 double beds (room includes microwave and large-ish fridge).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

This hotel is located 4 blocks from Old Town. It is unique in its hacienda furnishings and friendly staff. You get all this at a very affordable price.
There is a microwave and refrigerator in the room.
Lots of usable furniture not usually seen in this price range.
Internet connection is simple and there is instant hot water.
Room has a nice odor and a relaxing feel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

I and friends from Holland stayed in the Sandia Peak Inn on our wau through New Mexico. Our room was big and very comfortable. Our beds were fabulously comfortable. I am a very light sleeper and the quietness of this location is perfect for a good nights sleep. We asked for extra pillows and extra towels and they were brought to our room quickly. This Inn is located so close to the best attractions and within walking distance to shopping. Now here is the most important part...the manager here is WONDERFUL! She is quick to respond to your needs and is eager to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Look for this Inn and stay here, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

This was my first vacation entirely on my own. I stayed at the Sandia Peak Inn because it had gotten wonderful reviews from fellow travelers and I wanted a central location for traveling as I was visiting Albuquerque for six nights. When I called, it was as though I was going to meet friends, the hosts, Kay and Pat were genuinely interested in me and my vacation needs since I was traveling alone and it was my first time in New Mexico. I was warmly welcomed when I arrived and given recommendations for food and sights, which turned out to be right on target for enjoyment. My room was very large, totally spotless (as was the entire motel and the grounds). My bed was as comfortable as my own at home. I truly miss the comfort of the Inn and the friendship of my hosts. I will come back. Diann

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandia Peak Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Peak Inn Motel

Address: 4614 Central Avenue Southwest, Albuquerque, NM 87105
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#36 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandia Peak Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of the Southwest! We are closely located to Old Town, Botanical Gardens, Aquarium, and other tourist areas. Clean rooms with a Southwest flare and expanded Hot breakfast with fresh fruit,Waffles boiled eggs Pastries and more are few of our amenities. Also includes Heated indoor pool with free WIFI. Sandia Peak Inn takes pride in its service and adds a personal touch from the moment you walk in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandia Peak Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Peak Hotel Albuquerque
Sandia Peak Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandia Peak Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.