We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandia Peak Inn Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sandia Peak Inn Motel to your Saves list
Sandia Peak Inn Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4614 Central Avenue Southwest, Albuquerque, NM 87105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 148 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I feel compelled to write a note to compliment the owners of this property on the very high standard of this motel. The property is spotless and you can tell it is privately owned by the attention to detail. The room is super comfortable and the bathroom is very big and spacious and so clean. The breakfast is continental with fresh fruit which is a lovely change and there is plenty of food.

The garden is quite interesting as well.

Finally I must mention Bernadette who was so helpful and very knowledgable about things to do while we were in Albuquerque. She was always happy to help and answer our questions. Nothing seems a bother to her. Thank you so much for making our stay so good. Travelling from Australia through Alaska, Vancouver Bc and across Route 66 from Chicago to Santa Monica this is by far the best service we have received Thank You

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    165
    43
    16
    17
See reviews for
209
356
47
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shiloh, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Very clean and very well maintained. Because it is located on Central Avenue you can travel the town from the west all the way to the east without driving the Interstate. You see so much more of Albuquerque that way. We had a suite with a king bed, refrigerator, and Comcast Cable. Kay is the manager you will see the most of. She is very involved and energetic. If you call the hotel directly and mention Tripadvisor, you can even get a discount on your room! This is not a part of a hotel chain and is of a unique design.

If you visit when it is hot, you may need to let the air conditioning run in your room before it is completely habitable. Once the a/c gets caught up, you will have no problems staying cool. Best thing is to turn it on and then go to El Charrito's across the street!

Also, because it is located on Central Avenue, there is no lack of places to eat. We ate at El Charrito's across the street and also visited Bob's Burgers and Golden Pride. Some of the best breakfast burritos and fried chicken are at Golden Pride.

Please note that Central Avenue (Old Route 66) is a main traffic artery. Sound never kept us up at night, but it is possible to hear traffic noise from cars and motorcycles as in any metropolitan area. If you need absolute quiet, I would suggest ear plugs or a property away from Albuquerque.

You will be very close to Albuquerque Old Town and not far from the Aquarium and art museums.

Breakfast is pretty good. There is a Golden Malted Waffle Baker. A hint: The anti-stick spray is in the drawer directly under the baker. A short spray of both baker surfaces will deliver a solid waffle without tears.

You may also meet travelers here from other countries. We met Italians, Australians, and New Zealanders when we stayed at Sandia Peak Inn.

The swimming pool is located in an area where rooms once were. You will look in some of the room windows and see an indoor pool. We didn't use it, but saw several families who did and they seemed to enjoy it.

Oh, and if you know Ernie Pyle, the World War II war correspondent -- his home in Albuquerque was converted into a branch of the public library. Interesting to look at if you are into that part of history.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor without windows facing the street will be quieter. If it's hot, tur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Arizona
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night on way to Colorado. Nice clean motor inn, large rooms and nicely appointed. The owner really went out of her way to insure we had a comfortable stay and a room that met our needs. Helpful with dining recommendations and put out a nice breakfast in the morning.
Never had an owner who was as nice and attentive to her guest's needs and satisfaction. A real rarity these days.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Very clean and nice. My husband and I were traveling through on business. We really didn't know what to expect. But we're pleasantly surprised. The owner is extremely nice and helpful. Lots of fresh fruit for breakfast. Definitely will stay here again!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with friends. Location is easy to find and good access but is not in the downtown area, a 10 minute drive or $15 cab ride. Free parking at the motel.

Our triple room was big with 2 huge beds and a further double. Room and all areas were clean but could do with a little modernisation. Air con in the room was also very loud and the toilet rarely flushed properly.

Pool area was very disappointing, extremely small and unappealing. Breakfast was also extremely poor, with poor fruit juice substitutes and very little offerings. Space was very limited, so much so that on the first morning we had to take food back to our rooms.

Staff were friendly but didn't all speak great English. Also didn't refund my deposit until prompted. They also wouldn't call a cab for us, had to go back to our room to do this ourselves.

Pretty reasonable on price but things could be quite a lot better.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at the Sandia Peak at the end of a long road trip and found that it was by far our best stay. The owner, an extremely polite Indian woman, bent over backwards multiple times to make sure everything was in order. We needed just a single king bed but she only had two smoking rooms, but offered them at a discounted rate. She said she was in the process of converting all of the smoking rooms to non-smoking and that was all she had left. We looked at both smoking rooms and they actually didnt smell that bad. She felt bad offering them even after we said it was ok, so she then offered a lower price on a non-smoking double bed, which was spotless.

I cant imagine anyone having an issue here, or if so, it couldnt be because of the owner. Extremely accommodating and would definitely stay there again even before considering a larger chain hotel that had more amenities.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here overnight while passing through from Dallas to Durango, CO. We definitely enjoyed our stay! The rooms were VERY clean, the staff was very kind, and the breakfast provided was of good variety. The motel is near Old Town, and easy to get to from I-40.

The room wasn't too hot when we arrived, we had dinner plans so we just cleaned up and turned it on while we were out, and returned to a nice cool room. Check-in was a breeze, I called ahead and reserved our room over the phone. We traveled with our 8 & 5 year old kids and they each found something they liked at breakfast. Great overnight stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sandia Peak Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Peak Inn Motel

Address: 4614 Central Avenue Southwest, Albuquerque, NM 87105
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#34 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandia Peak Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of the Southwest! We are closely located to Old Town, Botanical Gardens, Aquarium, and other tourist areas. Clean rooms with a Southwest flare and expanded Hot breakfast with fresh fruit,Waffles boiled eggs Pastries and more are few of our amenities. Also includes Heated indoor pool with free WIFI. Sandia Peak Inn takes pride in its service and adds a personal touch from the moment you walk in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sandia Peak Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Peak Hotel Albuquerque
Sandia Peak Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandia Peak Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.