We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great price, location, amenities and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandia Peak Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sandia Peak Inn Motel to your Saves list
Sandia Peak Inn Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4614 Central Avenue Southwest, Albuquerque, NM 87105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great price, location, amenities and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

For those on a budget (who isn't?), this is one of the best values we have found in years. Easy checkin, clean comfortable room, good wifi. Breakfast was as expected - good coffee and rolls, waffles, toast and jam, fruit, cereal. Will definitely come again.
In addition, it is a delightful locale - art work, well kept up, cozy setting. The owners obviously care about this place and their clients.
Only negative - street traffic, but not bad at all.
Will definitely be staying here as we travel through Abuquerque once or twice a year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    154
    39
    13
    15
See reviews for
200
333
45
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

What the other reviewers don't tell you is that the owner of this motel really expects you to be out of your room by 9:30AM. And if you are not out by the 11AM check out time, someone will beat on your door continuously until you are out.

The continental breakfast is served from 7AM to 9AM. The expectation is that you will get up before 7, bathe and pack, go eat the breakfast, then leave the property. At 9:30 the maids knock on your door and if they find you in your room they are pretty put off.

I arrived at 11:30PM one night after a long day's drive. The room was incredibly hot, the air conditioning had not been on for several days apparently, so I did not sleep well. When the maids knocked on the door at 9:30AM I told them I was still sleeping. I woke up next at 11AM and went into the bathroom. For the next ten minutes the maids knocked on the door. By the time I was done in the bathroom they had gone, so I got in the shower. For the next ten minutes the phone rang. By the time I got out of the shower the phone had stopped, but as I was drying off and putting on some clothes the owner began pounding on the door and screaming. When I finally had on enough clothes to be decent I went to the door and told her that if she would not scream at me for ten minutes I would get out of her motel and never come back. Which I did.

If you are not going to get up at 7AM and get off the property by 9:30AM do everyone a favor and don't stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed there in late May. Check-in was easy and efficient. The room (king bed) was typical motel, but still comfortable, as was the bed. We didn't expect much of a breakfast, and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of items offered.

Only two minor complaints...first, the location, along Central Ave. (Rt. 66) tends to be a bit noisy as there's lots of traffic going by day and night. Also, the owner was very conscious of her TA rating and kept urging us to write a good review (BTW, this review is totally unbiased as I am from the East Coast). Finally, we asked for a copy of our bill at checkout, and all we got was a xerox copy of the check-in form, rather than an itemized bill.

Having said all that, I would probably stay here again if I were in Albuquerque. It's not too far from Old Town, and, as I said, the bed was as comfortable as many high end hotel chain beds. And the room was, in fact, clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Management so kind. Room big and clean and unique. Love this kind of place. Vintage feel. Quiet and cozy. Would definitely come back again. It was a great stop on our cross country trip and a nice change from a big chain hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our last night of vacation. The motel is 15 min from the ABQ airport on old Route 66. Breakfast was very nice. The room was spacious and clean. The service was friendly and readily available. We checked in late (10pm) and it was not a problem. The price was very reasonable. I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Sandia Peak Inn. Kay, an owner, checked us in. She was very nice and answered all of our questions about the area, including dining and attractions. The property is well maintained. The room was clean and everything associated with the room worked well. Linda managed the breakfast area. There were several people having breakfast, but there was ample food, fresh fruit, beverages. Linda worked with everyone and offered to make waffles. Although this property is not a "Big Chain" property, but it was clean, safe and priced right.

PS: Call and book direct.

Room Tip: Call Kay directly. She will work with you to select the best room at the right price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Long story short, I decided at the last minute to do a road trip from east to west coast with the kids. When we were pulling into Albuquerque around 8pm on a Saturday night, I went to my go to source (Trip Advisor) for hotel reviews and this place came up at the top of the list, but for half the price of the bigger chain hotels listed. I tend to stay in chains when traveling alone with the kids, simply because I know what to expect and there is always a front desk area that gives me a sense of security. But I thought I'd take a chance on this one, and I'm glad I did.

Here is the scoop, as I see it:

1. Kay, the owner, is wonderful. She is the kind of hostess that knows all of the guests name and the story that goes along with their journey. She works hard (without making it look hard) at creating an environment in a hotel that I haven't found anywhere outside of a B&B.

2. We stayed in Room 204, which is a corner room with AMAZING space. There are 3 queen beds, a bathroom with separate toilet/shower, dorm fridge, microwave, table with two chairs, tv, and still plenty of floor space for my rambunctious kids who have been in car seats for HOURS and HOUR to jump around and get the wiggles out. It's not luxury by ANY stretch of the imagination. But it is super clean (perhaps cleaner even than most other 3-4 star chain hotels I've stayed in), safe, and I know that if I needed anything, Kay would do her best to help me out.

3. The negative about the room, and I'm not sure if it's all rooms or just this room... the air conditioner had been turned off for the day when we arrived, so the room (late May) was stuffy and hot. It took a good three hours with the a/c running on 68 to finally cool the room down. It's a standard motel wall unit a/c, so it's not quiet, but I suspect that the humming a/c actually helped to drown out the Saturday night noise...so no complaints there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandia Peak Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Peak Inn Motel

Address: 4614 Central Avenue Southwest, Albuquerque, NM 87105
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#36 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandia Peak Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of the Southwest! We are closely located to Old Town, Botanical Gardens, Aquarium, and other tourist areas. Clean rooms with a Southwest flare and expanded Hot breakfast with fresh fruit,Waffles boiled eggs Pastries and more are few of our amenities. Also includes Heated indoor pool with free WIFI. Sandia Peak Inn takes pride in its service and adds a personal touch from the moment you walk in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandia Peak Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Peak Hotel Albuquerque
Sandia Peak Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandia Peak Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.