We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome breakfast, service and room quality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandia Peak Inn Motel

Save Saved
You added Sandia Peak Inn Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandia Peak Inn Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4614 Central Avenue Southwest, Albuquerque, NM 87105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast, service and room quality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

After a big drive from Big Bend National Park in Texas we were looking for a place to stop and rest, we needed hot showers and a comfortable bed and Sandia Peak Inn ticked all those boxes. On arrival Kay upgraded our rooms for free and we were treated to King-size beds and extremely spacious rooms. Kay was great with helping 4 very tired adults choose a restaurant for dinner and her advice not to miss the breakfast that is included in your room fee shouldn't be ignored. The breakfast was amazing, the best I have ever had in a hotel! The two males in our group tucked into waffles and fruit, ytoast, pastries, cereal, hard bolied eggs and fresh juice and coffee. We left Albuquerque with a great impression thanks most definately to our stay at this Motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    122
    27
    12
    13
See reviews for
158
274
41
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Absolutely wonderful overnight stay. Kay is an absolute delight. From the minute you walk through the door to the goodbye hug she continues to pamper you. Beautifully maintained 2 story Inn built by her husband. Rooms, linens, towels have the freshest smell. Nothing like i have ever experienced anywhere. Very clean, light breakfast fare, 5 minutes off I-40. Definitely recommended.
Wendy-Canada

Room Tip: I would assume all were like ours. Very,very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Having been in the hospitality and resort business for over 50 years I must say this place has a lot of larger chain hotels beat hands down , the friendliness of the manager [Kay] and the cleanliness of the rooms plus Kays willingness to please every guest that she came in contact with ---- well I have not seen this display of attention in a motel at this price anywhere , we were like long lost friends just returning home , it will be our pleasure to return to Kays Inn next year we could not have asked for anything better ,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Based on tripadvisor, I called from the road as we made our trek from Flagstaff. Having never been to Albuquerque, I relied on reviews from past guests. i was surprised that "Kay" answered the phone herself and made our reservation for one night. Once we got in, we stayed for the three night duration of our trip. I'm not one to give small motels a chance...we usually count on chains. But once you enter, you realize how exceptionally clean this property is, and that is my number one criteria! Location is great...a couple of miles from Old Town and Downtown.
The fact that the owners live on the property speaks to the care they take to maintain it. Very neat and tidy, clean and plentiful breakfast area and comfortable bed and linens. Her rates were beyond great and amenities included mini fridge and microwave, shampoo and soap. There is an indoor pool but we did not have time to check it out. Kay takes great pride in her accommodations and you can tell... I feel like I made a new friend for life. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to a friend. If you are a Ritz person...stay at the Ritz. But if you are a "when in Rome" type of person...this is the place.

.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Like others I found this reasonably priced motel on Trip Advisor. It is a pretty good Route 66 stopover and an ideal location from which to explore Albuquerque - easy access to downtown and to all local amenities. The owner seemed pleasant and friendly and our room was clean and quiet. Breakfast included a variety of fruits, much to my wife's satisfaction. The only downside was no wifi available in the room - when raised with the owner she wanted to upgrade us to a room with wifi for an extra $5 each. Given the small cost it would have been nice if the owner had waived this and moved us nonetheless but alas she saw fit not to. Otherwise, we were happy with our stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

What a great stay or should I say visit we had. We were welcomed & treated like family throughout our stay. For example, a buddy & I were in Albuquerque for a Model Sailboat Regatta at nearby Tingley Beach, loaded down with large boxes of equipment. When Kay, the manager, became aware of how crowded the equipment made us, she offered us the use of the unoccupied adjoining unit to store & have easy access to our equipment - at no charge! For five days we had two units for the price of one! In spite of our needs, the rooms are spacious, clean & well maintained. The rooms reflect the southwest motif nicely. Beds & pillows were very comfortable. The breakfast room was spotless & offered a variety of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt & juices. Of course Kay is there every morning to greet her guests & to make sure nothing is left incomplete, she even makes waffles for her guests! While we were there Kay had the motel's internet service upgraded, although there were no internet problems while we were there. I believe the Sandia Peak Inn should be rated the #1 small sized motel in Albuquerque! We have already made reservations for our return next year for the next regatta. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. If you plan to stay at the Sandia Peak Inn - be prepared to be spoiled.

Room Tip: Call Kay direct for reservations for a lower rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We found this motel on our trip of Route 66, we had gotten to Albuquerque quite late and we were just looking for a place to spend one night. My partner saw it just by chance and we were meant to stay one day, however we stayed for four! The amenities and breakfast were excellent, and the owner was lovely. We would definitely recommend this place to other travellers, as it is wonderful value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandia Peak Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Peak Inn Motel

Address: 4614 Central Avenue Southwest, Albuquerque, NM 87105
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#9 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#13 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandia Peak Inn Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of the Southwest! We are closely located to Old Town, Botanical Gardens, Aquarium, and other tourist areas. Clean rooms with a Southwest flare and expanded Hot breakfast with fresh fruit,Waffles boiled eggs Pastries and more are few of our amenities. Also includes Heated indoor pool with free WIFI. Sandia Peak Inn takes pride in its service and adds a personal touch from the moment you walk in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandia Peak Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Peak Hotel Albuquerque
Sandia Peak Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandia Peak Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.