We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel amenities at a picture-perfect vintage motel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandia Peak Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sandia Peak Inn Motel to your Saves list
Sandia Peak Inn Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4614 Central Avenue Southwest, Albuquerque, NM 87105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 147 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel amenities at a picture-perfect vintage motel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a fun place! Straight from a Route 66 postcard, this motel offers much more than a standard budget hotel would... and does it with character. The grounds are impeccably neat and clean, and the location feels very safe. Kay, the proprietor, is a gem - friendly, efficient, and ever on call. When she saw our family of four - mom and dad, plus two teenaged boys - she insisted we take a room with three queen beds instead of two, for just the price of our two-bed suite. The beds were great, with new mattresses and linens. The large flat-screen TV was visible from all the beds, and had free movies-on-demand – which was handy for us, since it rained and we opted to stay in for an evening. The fridge was very cold. Everything was very clean and worked perfectly. The room had several small tables, as well as a larger table and chairs, so we had plenty of room to spread out, recharge our gadgets, etc. Use of the laundry facilities was at no charge to guests. The Mexican restaurant across the street (recommended on a card in the room) was very good too. We were only in Albuquerque for a night, on our way home from a long trip in the mountains... but when we return to Albuquerque, this is where we'll stay! Sandia Inn is really lovely and comfortable... from check-in to the generous, complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    156
    40
    13
    15
See reviews for
201
339
46
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This is such a nice, pleasant place to stay. And you absolutely can't beat it for the price. Our room was really large and so comfortable and clean. The location leaves a lot to be desired, but it is SO worth it. If we're ever going through Albuquerque, this is where we'll stay, for sure.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We used Sandia Peak Inn as an overnight stop while driving across country. The room was clean, and the staff was helpful even as we arrived very late in the evening. There weren't many restaurants within walking distance, but it was a great deal for a quick stop.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I will agree, the staff and owner are over the top accommodating. Exterior is very clean and well maintained.as for the rooms, I get this is a budget Motel and if I keep that in mind it's a little easier to take. We reserved 2 king size rooms. Neither A/C worked and the shower rod was broken in one of the rooms. The decor is very dated. There is a reason the property is gated. It is in a scary neck of the woods. Not close to restaurants and even if it were not safe to be out walking around. Gas station across street has bars on all the windows. Look it is an okay place to stay, clean, friendly, priced right, but it is a BUDGET Motel, in a not so safe area. Oh, one other thing, laundry room clean, washer/dryer very clean, was not afraid to do laundry. But, I don't think we will be returning.

Room Tip: We were in 105 and 103. Neither A/C could cool the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had book a room with two queen beds on check in the staff so super friendly and helpful. We were offered a suite for just $15 more that came with 3 queen beds. The clerk told me they had just put in all new mattress and linens and they looked new. The extra bed really came in handy when my youngest decided to sleep sideways. We will be staying here again on our return trip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This motel is so thoroughly (and accurately) reviewed, the only thing I can add is that it's actually relatively newly built, even though it looks old. The look of it mimics other classic "Route 66" motels in the area, but the family that runs it apparently built it from the ground up between 2001 and 2005. So while it looks really basic, the rooms are actually large and relatively modern.

The location is fine, just not very convenient to quickly reach the airport, Sandia Peak, Nob Hill, or the interstates. It's kind of in the wrong corner of town for those places. (But great if Old Town really matters to you.)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I made this reservation the evening before we arrived, based on many positive reviews from Trip Advisor. We were just going to pass through Albuquerque and needed a stopover for one night. Tried booking on the internet when the line was busy - no internet availability for the date came up. We called several times, still busy, and were about to give up when the proprietor answered the telephone - very friendly - said there was a King Non-smoking room "no problem" and took our reservation. Go figure! We arrived around 6 pm the following day, were greeted in a very enthusiastic manner, and the room was totally great - king bed, large room with a frig, huge TV on the wall, free (excellend and fast) internet and free breakfast which was deliciious and included fresh fruit and waffles - I would call it a "continental Plus". Highly recommend this clean, pleasant and friendly establishment which is located convenient (2 mile drive at the most, in a straight line) to the Old Town area of Albuquerque which has lovely shops and restaurants. My only complaint is the Albuquerque seems to have zero gourmet coffee shops in the area and believe me, we searched high and low, before leaving town! But that is not the fault of this very nice hotel.

Room Tip: No fitness center, but we were not looking for that amenity. Location is on a busy but central str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sandia Peak Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Peak Inn Motel

Address: 4614 Central Avenue Southwest, Albuquerque, NM 87105
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#35 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandia Peak Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of the Southwest! We are closely located to Old Town, Botanical Gardens, Aquarium, and other tourist areas. Clean rooms with a Southwest flare and expanded Hot breakfast with fresh fruit,Waffles boiled eggs Pastries and more are few of our amenities. Also includes Heated indoor pool with free WIFI. Sandia Peak Inn takes pride in its service and adds a personal touch from the moment you walk in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sandia Peak Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Peak Hotel Albuquerque
Sandia Peak Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandia Peak Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.