We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place - great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandia Peak Inn Motel

Save Saved
You added Sandia Peak Inn Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandia Peak Inn Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4614 Central Avenue Southwest, Albuquerque, NM 87105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 145 hotels in Albuquerque
Jefferson City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice place - great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This place is right out of the Route 66 era. Park at your door. The room was comfortable, the continental breakfast was ok, the staff was friendly and helpful. The only downside was the roaring mufflers and loud stereos of cars waiting at the stoplight 75 yards from our door. My wife and I take earplugs on our trips for noisy locales. I slept ok. The price was only $67.55 inc tax so I can buy some new earplugs if need be.

Room Tip: No elevator so get a first floor room unless you don't mind carrying your stuff upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    122
    27
    12
    13
See reviews for
158
274
41
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belle Mead, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

You will be warmly welcomed by owner/manager Kay who takes great pride in this motel that she and her husband designed and built. Facility is sparkling clean and well maintained. Breakfast room is cheerful with good assortment of breakfast items. We were upgraded to a handicapped accessible room which was enormous.We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

On the edge of town, but worth the extra driving. Manager could not have been better. She was super enthusiastic and extremely helpful. Continental breakfast with many choices and personally attended by manager. Great internet connection. Very clean and comfortable. The price was low and a great value. If my husband and I are in Albuquerque again we will be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We migrate seasonally through Albuquerque, and the Sandia Peak Inn is our stay over if we are anywhere near its location when we stop for the night. The property is spotless, the rooms are clean, and the owner is pleasant and helpful. One could easily see her becoming a personal friend, even with only two visits a year.
This year we planned our trip to coincide with the Balloon Fiesta (that is quite a spectacle!). The room cost was accordingly a little higher than normal at $113 tax included. I thought that was pretty fair for a very nice room (close to a mini-suite in size) with a king bed on the Fiesta weekend.
I thought the check-in process left a little to be desired. I made phone reservations for us and another couple. when we got there, he had a little trouble getting the room and rate I had reserved for him, and it seemed that she had no record of my reservation. But she managed to get us both into excellent rooms.
Another minor negative is that the general neighborhood is a little run down, but it is very close to the Rio Grande River and famous Old Town. So I give the location a high rating anyhow. It is on old Route 66, in fact.
As a further measure of her service level, since we had to get up early to attend the balloon ascensions, she got up extra early to make coffee and have breakfast ready at 5AM! Hard to beat service like that.
All in all, you won't find a much better lodging at any price in that part of Albuquerque.

Room Tip: If you are at Sandia Peak Inn, you will have a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

You will never find a more reasonably priced or beautiful motel in Albuquerque. The owner is the nicest person on the planet and she does everything possible to make your stay a pleasant one. This was our second trip to new mexico from Buffalo and we will be going again soon and our first stop will be The Sandia Peak Inn.

Room Tip: Always ask to see a room before you pay for it. If they wont show you, leave
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Warm friendly greetings on arrival. hotel upgraded to a suite fabulous stayed here 2 nights very clean Fab small pool great to relax after a day sightseeing...owner very attentive and helpful...well worth a visit here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed only one night but the memory will last long. We were greeted by Kanak (Kay, as she is popularly known) and she was so convivial and charming that you won't go without talking to her. We were given a double occupancy room with queen bed. The room is well made keeping in mind what one might need during the stay. She has rooms for big families and rooms for physically challenged. I was surprised by her interior designing skills as she hired none but all self-made. I have seen many motels provide ice dispensers but not water dispensers. You will find one in this motel. The continental breakfast has wide choice and she is always busy taking care of her customers. I would call her a lady with 'wheels on heels'. Never seen her resting on chair even for a minute. That needs some real passion there to serve customers 24/7 and she has it. While I was talking to her, another customer walked in as asked if she can arrange breakfast next morning at 6.30am, Kanak's instant reaction with a smile was "Yes, I can do it".
This place provides a nice and comfortable stay and is clean inside and outside. It is conveniently located near old town and is on Route 66.

Room Tip: Pick any, you won't be disappointed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandia Peak Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Peak Inn Motel

Address: 4614 Central Avenue Southwest, Albuquerque, NM 87105
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#8 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
#13 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandia Peak Inn Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of the Southwest! We are closely located to Old Town, Botanical Gardens, Aquarium, and other tourist areas. Clean rooms with a Southwest flare and expanded Hot breakfast with fresh fruit,Waffles boiled eggs Pastries and more are few of our amenities. Also includes Heated indoor pool with free WIFI. Sandia Peak Inn takes pride in its service and adds a personal touch from the moment you walk in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Sandia Peak Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Peak Hotel Albuquerque
Sandia Peak Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandia Peak Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.