We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy pancakes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grove Cafe & Market

The Grove Cafe & Market
600 Central Avenue, SE, Suite A, Albuquerque, NM (Huning Highland Historic District)
505-248-9800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,398 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Huning Highland Historic District
Description: The Grove Café & Market is East Downtown’s artisan breakfast and lunch café. Enjoy an abundance of fine foods and culinary treats while sipping specialty coffee, tea and wines on our spacious outdoor patio. Sunday Brunch specials highlighting seasonal ingredients, salads featuring local and organic produce, housemade english muffins and signature cupcakes…the grove is here for your everyday cravings.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yummy pancakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I love the grove for breakfast and brunch. The pancakes are my favorite. They are crepe style with fresh fruit and a creme fraiche. I also get a side of their yummy bacon. The line can sometimes get long but don't worry it goes fast.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    100
    17
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Breakfast and Lunch Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Within 5 minutes walking distance from our Albuquerque hotel we enjoyed both a late lunch
our arrival day and breakfast the next morning at The grove Cafe and Market. The Grove is
an extremely popular spot, particularly on a Sunday morning and tables are sometimes a bit
scarce. Patio and inside seating are available. The menus are innovative and include a wide
variety of both breakfast items and brunch/lunch entrees. You place your orders at the busy
counter and the food is delivered to your table. We opted to pass up a free hotel breakfast
bar at our hotel for the Sunday morning visit and were pleased we had done so. The pricing
is reasonable and the entire staff is pleasant and most helpful. The food is a bit eclectic but
quite good, and the bakery products are first rate. A very good and interesting spot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Terrific food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great place for breakfast, especially if you (like us) stay at one of the motels across the street with sub-par breakfast. Everything fresh and done well.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Repeat Visits Never Disappoint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Located in a former warehouse of some sort on Central Avenue NE, a few blocks from the Hotel Parq Central on historic Route 66, The Grove Cafe and Market offers breakfast and lunch Tuesday through Sunday. There is an enclosed patio. Other retail businesses are across from the main interior dining space. Whenever we are in Albuquerque we visit The Grove Cafe -- for the food -- at least twice, if we can.

Although there's a casual atmosphere, this cafe and market is an excellent restaurant. The menu is designed to appeal to those who prefer wholesome eating, whether you’re an omnivore or a vegetarian.

Breakfast is served all day. Lunch includes entree salads like a Nicoise salad with homemade lemon basil vinaigrette, and hot and cold sandwiches. The grilled cheese n’ greens is a standout with ricotta, gruyere, braised kale, roasted tomatoes, pickled fennel pressed on sourdough. The grilled cheese n’ greens that my wife ordered was accompanied with a green pea and white bean side. All hot and cold sandwiches are accompanied by seasonal sides.

The Grove Cafe offers Intelligentsia brand coffees and teas. Feel good about the growing and fair trade production involved with these coffees and teas. Hand-squeezed orange juice and lemonade are also on the menu.

Something I just learned. The Grove Cafe caters using locally grown organic produce and seasonal ingredients. That's a plus for Albuquerque residents.

We always stop in at The Grove Cafe whenever we're in town where repeat visits are always happy occasions for us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pricey lunch, diverse menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Delicious sandwiches, many healthy and gluten-free options. Lovely outdoor patio seating. However, a tad on the pricey side.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grove Cafe & Market also viewed

 

Been to The Grove Cafe & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grove Cafe & Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.