We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ride, Hike and Enjoy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandia Peak Tramway

Sandia Peak Tramway
10 Tramway Loop NE, Albuquerque, NM 87122
505-856-7325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 125 Attractions in Albuquerque
Type: Trams, Mountains
Activities: Mountain biking, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The world's longest aerial tram ride takes visitors 2.7 miles to the 10,000-foot peak of the Sandia Mountains.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
MN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Ride, Hike and Enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The tram ride itself was excellent reaching right up into the clouds. Looking down from the top we could see the city of Albuquerque...a beautiful sight! We hiked along the peak of the mountain which had excellent trails in lush forest and several overlooks where we could stop and view the valleys below. The trails were well marked and reasonable in length.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,464
    494
    80
    23
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A "must see" for anyone visiting Albuquerque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

OK, it's not the cheapest activity in the world, which is why I give it a 4 rather than a 5; that said, it's absolutely worth it, especially if you're an out of towner or you're a local wanting to share a uniquely Albuquerque experience with your guests.

While there are other Trams out there, this is the worlds longest and it's right here in Albuquerque...yup...this is the only place you can take a ride on the worlds longest Tramway. The views are absolutely stunning and change constantly as you ascend...equally impressive are the views once you reach the top; a panorama of the entire Rio Grande Valley awaits you once you arrive at the top.

I personally like the ride the best during late summer where you can watch dozens of scattered monsoonal thunderstorms roam the valley. I also like to plan my trip around sunset...nothing like watching the sun slowly set from the top of the mountain.

Even in summer, it is advisable to bring a jacket...it is much cooler at the top of the mountain and often windy. Spend some time taking in the views and meander about on some easy hikes. There are some longer and more difficult hikes as well if you're so inclined. Stop in for a beer or eats at High Finance...if you intend to eat dinner, reservations are a must. Personally, I prefer Santiago's at the base of the Tram; you still get some pretty spectacular views and IMHO, the food is better and is much more reasonably priced. Reservations are highly recommended for Santiago's as well...without them, you could be in for a very long wait.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I've been to Albuquerque number of times, but this is the first time I've had the chance to ride the Tramway. I'm sorry it took me this long as it was a great experience. Aside from the breathtaking views and awesome beauty of the area, it is really good for putting the city of Albuquerque into perspective with regard to the Rio Grande Valley and the various mountain ranges in the area. I highly recommend.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Sandia Peak Took My Breath Away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Riding the Tram is a great adventure and I highly recommend that you try it, especially if you want to see the mountains, up close and personal. We rode the tram to meet friends who hiked up the challenging 9 mile La Luz Trail and had a great lunch at the restaurant at the top of the mountain. Unless you take this ride, you might underestimate the depth of these exquisite peaks. Do not miss this ride!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must when you're in Albuquerque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've had some good times up here on the Crest. I've taken friends and family up here for some great views and even celebrated a birthday up here. You can see not only the city but the surrounding valleys. There are little tubes where you can catch views of different areas, some as far away as Los Lunas. In the summer, they even offer rides on the ski lifts. I've created good memories up here, and it's something that you have to do while you're in Albuquerque. BEWARE THOUGH! Summer months and Balloon Fiesta season it is PACKED with tourists. Come during an off day or season and you can enjoy it better without the crowds.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandia Peak Tramway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandia Peak Tramway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.