We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely let down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Albuquerque Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Albuquerque Airport to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Albuquerque Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Sunport Boulevard Southeast, Albuquerque, NM 87106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #26 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Greenwood, Indiana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Absolutely let down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I love staying at Hyatt Place hotels -- usually -- because the rooms are very large and comfortable, the decor is tasteful, and the services fit exactly what I need. This time, however, I was very disappointed. First, I had an exceptionally difficult time figuring out how to get to the hotel. The address, when using a GPS, takes you to the drive in front of the airport. I could see the hotel, but there wasn't any way to get there. I finally figured out that I had to exit the airport, travel north, turn on a little street that winds around through an industrial area, and turn between two other hotels in the area.

When we arrived, the desk was not staffed. There were guests at the bar, and I could hear people talking, but we stood for at least 5 minutes waiting, in spite of the fact that the staff were literally around the corner yukking it up with the guys at the bar.

When we got to our room, I discovered that the toilet would not flush properly and needed attention, and called to the front desk. Half an hour later no one had been there so I called again, and was informed that the young lady was the only one there and could not leave, and she couldn't tell me how long it would be. 20 minutes after that, a young man finally came to the room, snaked the toilet, and left. Later that night, as my daughter and I were getting ready for sleep, I discovered that the sink also would not drain if the water ran for more than a few seconds. My daughter ended up brushing her teeth over the bath tub, and we went to sleep.

We ordered dinner from the "gallery kitchen" which wasn't spectacular but ok. Breakfast was good.

One thing I didn't know is that this hotel DOES have a shuttle to the airport. We could have turned our rental in the night before and not paid for an extra day if I had known that. The website doesn't say anything about a shuttle.

All in all our stay was frustrating and disappointing. I would probably stay somewhere else if I'm needing a hotel near the Albuquerque airport again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    116
    35
    11
    16
See reviews for
80
84
41
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights both arriving & departing New Mexico. Great location, convenient to the ABQ airport, very clean & the staff is wonderfully accommodating. We didn't have a car the first night & the front desk recommended a great restaurant & provided a ride w/the Airport shuttle service. Liked the breakfast & will certainly return on our next visit to Albaquerque!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed here twice in the last week. The staff are superb; friendly, accomodating and professional. The room was spacious and very clean, with good quality linen. I had no problems with the shuttle or taxi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menasha, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

It's a Hyatt so it was very beautiful and very well-maintained. Rooms were very comfortable but not posh. The breakfast was excellent with an actual cook who continually makes hot dishes for the duration of the breakfast hours. The shuttle service was a bit wonky stranding us at the car rental place on Thursday night for over 45 minutes even though the hotel was 5 minutes away. They did however get us to the airport in plenty of time the next morning. The location was very near the airport, the car rental place, and 2 major highways but there was no noticeable noise while in the room. There are only a couple of restaurant choices nearby so people without a rental car will need to make use of the shuttle service or take a cab. All in all a nice place that is very convenient. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I chose the Hyatt because it was so close to the airport and had a good rate. Hyatt has a good name and this property did not fail. I spend well over 150 days a year in hotels, usually one night at a time, so I can appreciate a great place to stay. I picked up quickly at the airport by their hotel shuttle. Warmly greeted at the front desk and I was on my way to my room in just a few short minutes. The rooms are large with a separate seating area from the sleeping area.
Wet bar with mini fridge. A small bar in the lobby is open until 11:00PM for beer and wine. Food available 24/7. Great included breakfast with a few hot dishes.
The only con is with the bathroom. It's very dark. The light is covered with a thick, yellowing shade that does not allow much light in the room, especially behind the double layer shower curtain. And why, of why do hotels put the bath towel rack INSIDE/OVER THE BATHTUB???
That's just crazy. The towel is damp before you ever use it. That towel rack would be better off placed on the wall over the toilet, rather than that cheap, framed hotel art.

Overall, a near perfect stay. I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Are family had two rooms at Hyatt place for several days. I booked due to good reviews on Tripadvisor and other sites. Rooms had a nice seating area with sofas, good beds and a nice breakfast setup. It only took 10 minutes to drive to down town and had a few restaurants within a short drive. Only complaint was one of the rooms on the 6th floor was under the roof air conditioner and was slightly noisy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The is hotel has so much to offer. We arrived almost at 11 pm my husband
was very tired and he wanted a beer. Guess what this hotel has a bar with
decent prices. The room is very roomy and very modern. The bed OMG!
very nice slept as if I were in my own bed. The free breakfast was amazing.
They have breakfast sandwiches egg/bacon and cheese biscuits and bagels
with egg/cheese spinach and mushroom. Real steal oatmeal not the envelops,
fresh fruit and a variety of juices. My only complain is the coffee is not good at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Albuquerque Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Albuquerque Airport

Address: 1400 Sunport Boulevard Southeast, Albuquerque, NM 87106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#26 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#33 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Albuquerque Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Albuquerque Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Albuquerque Airport Hotel Albuquerque
Hyatt Albuquerque
Albuquerque Hyatt Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Albuquerque Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.