We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petroglyph National Monument

Petroglyph National Monument
6001 Unser Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87103
505-899-0205
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 125 Attractions in Albuquerque
Type: National Parks, Geologic Formations, Historic Sites
Activities: Running, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Up to 15,000 petroglyphs or prehistoric rock art images have been found on the West Mesa volcanic escarpment, located along a 17-mile canyon outside of Albuquerque.
Superior, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Hard to find but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

GPS does not work around here and the park is really spread out. Saw just one small part but we did see lots of petroglyphs in a natural environment. Will spend more time next time around.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    146
    38
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“I Love Petrglyphs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

I always enjoy examining petroglyphs, and I feel like you really should see this cultural monument if you are in the area. Like all National Parks, the visitors center here has very knowledgable staff. Stop there and let them help you decide how much to do because the place is pretty big, and the summer sun can be...wow...wear a hat. I also found the volcanic geography interesting. If you love the petroglyphs and haven't been to Three Rivers Petroglyphs near Ruidoso, please go there. It is kind of out in the middle of nowhere, so not as many people make it out there, but the the density and quality of the petroglyphs is mind-boggling!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We almost skipped over this place, but I'm so glad that we didn't. It's located in the city, but is separated because it's a national park. It was very interesting. The petroglyphs were very visible and interesting to see. I wish that I had allotted more time for the visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great experience for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My girls participate in the Jr. Ranger program and loved this National Monument. The books were kid friendly and helped get my girls engaged in nature and the history of the monument. Wonderful experience for the whole family!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely make a stop here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We ended up spending much longer at this National Monument than originally planned. There's much more to it than just looking at some petroglyphs (though those are awesome to see), particularly if you have younger children. My son loved the hike to the top and we loved just watching him take it all in. Everyone was very friendly too...definitely recommend.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petroglyph National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Petroglyph National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petroglyph National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;