We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Love Petrglyphs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petroglyph National Monument

Petroglyph National Monument
6001 Unser Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87103
505-899-0205
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 201 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Running, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Up to 15,000 petroglyphs or prehistoric rock art images have been found on the West Mesa volcanic escarpment, located along a 17-mile canyon outside of Albuquerque.
Columbus, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“I Love Petrglyphs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

I always enjoy examining petroglyphs, and I feel like you really should see this cultural monument if you are in the area. Like all National Parks, the visitors center here has very knowledgable staff. Stop there and let them help you decide how much to do because the place is pretty big, and the summer sun can be...wow...wear a hat. I also found the volcanic geography interesting. If you love the petroglyphs and haven't been to Three Rivers Petroglyphs near Ruidoso, please go there. It is kind of out in the middle of nowhere, so not as many people make it out there, but the the density and quality of the petroglyphs is mind-boggling!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    199
    61
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We almost skipped over this place, but I'm so glad that we didn't. It's located in the city, but is separated because it's a national park. It was very interesting. The petroglyphs were very visible and interesting to see. I wish that I had allotted more time for the visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great experience for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My girls participate in the Jr. Ranger program and loved this National Monument. The books were kid friendly and helped get my girls engaged in nature and the history of the monument. Wonderful experience for the whole family!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Definitely make a stop here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We ended up spending much longer at this National Monument than originally planned. There's much more to it than just looking at some petroglyphs (though those are awesome to see), particularly if you have younger children. My son loved the hike to the top and we loved just watching him take it all in. Everyone was very friendly too...definitely recommend.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Accessible windows into an ancient culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Centuries before the first Europeans arrived in the Upper Rio Grande Valley, ancestors of today's Pueblo people scratched fascinating images into the cliffs above the desert floor. Because "desert varnish," a phenomenon similar to rust, covered the naturally light-colored rock, these images are visible as sort of reverse sketches, sand-colored figures against blackish-brown. Many of the more than 25,000 petroglyphs in this park seem easy to explain; for example, they depict what appear to be goats, lizards or birds still seen in the area. Others are geometrical, such as spirals, which may have had a spiritual significance. The most surprising are images of macaws, a Central American bird whose closest range is southern Mexico. How did the pre-Columbian Pueblo people ever see them? They must have engaged in wide-ranging trade. Early Christian explorers and settlers also left their own rock drawings. Petroglyph National Monument is located within the Albuquerque city limits, somewhat incongruously across the road from a modern subdivision. Although the main trails around the petroglyphs are improved, they are nonetheless steep in places, and there's no shade. Wear sturdy shoes, carry water and slap on sunscreen. Better still, if you visit during the summer, go early, when the air will be cool and the morning light makes the most of the images. The park opens at 8 a.m.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petroglyph National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Petroglyph National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petroglyph National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.