We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow I feel like I'm on an alien planet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mesa

Blue Mesa
15,2 Miles North of Rainbow Forest Museum (South Entrance), Petrified Forest National Park, AZ
Website
Improve this listing
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow I feel like I'm on an alien planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A trail that descends into a land of mountains made of different colored layers with petrified wood strewn about. I'm still having a hard time fathoming how amazing and beautiful this place is.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    14
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedgefield
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Blue in the desert?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The colors of the Blue Mesa is so uncommon that you can only stare and stare and happily click away. The next picture is even prettier than the previous one. Take the drive, it is just an extra 3.5 miles. Don't miss out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt, Maryland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“just a great experience (1 of 2)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent a day in Petrified Forest Nat Park last winter. was lucky as it was a perfect weather; clear, sunny and cool. Stopped at all the tourist spots along the drive, and the Blue Mesa ties for the best. Great views, and a very interesting trail which drops down from the road level to the gully floor. The trailhead is not evident, and the first few hundred feet are steep, so then you get to the canyon floor you have very little company, which suited me very fine. The walls are even more interesting and colorful when seen from below than from the top. In my book this (and the trail from Kachina Point/Painted Desert Inn) are the not-to-be-missed parts of the Park. Wear comfortable shoes with rubber soles (boots better) and enjoy the unique colors. Sun/rain shelter is available at the trailhead; no shelter after you leave the rim of the mesa.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Vistas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Blue Mesa Loop is about half way between the Painted Desert Visitor Center and The Rainbow Forest Museum. It's easy to miss the turn off to the loop. The loop is about 3.5 miles long. Some of the most scenic vistas can be seen from the stops along the way. Do yourself a favor and get out at each of the pull offs. There is much more to see from the viewing areas than you can see from the car. About two thirds around the loop you will come to the Blue Mesa Trail. The trail is a one mile loop thru the amazingly colored badland hills. The paved trail descending into the badlands is steep and not for everyone.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
351 reviews 351 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“We asked the Park Ranger what we had to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

And she said if we had to see one thing, it was Blue Mesa. She was right. It's about an 18 mile drive into the park, but it's well worth it. The strata of the mesa was beautiful on the sunny day we went there.

There's a nice path down into the valley below, with the occasional informational signpost. As I said with the Painted Desert, it was a wonderful day, reasonably cool but sunny, and no one was there.

With these views, Americans need to visit our country's parks to understand how lucky we are to live in such a beautiful country.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mesa also viewed

Petrified Forest National Park, AZ
Petrified Forest National Park, AZ
 
Petrified Forest National Park, AZ
Petrified Forest National Park, AZ
 

Been to Blue Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.