We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bistro at Market and Grove

The Bistro at Market and Grove
424-424 N. Market St., Petersburg, VA 23803
804-732-4480
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 96 restaurants in Petersburg
Price range: $15 - $21
Cuisines: American, French, Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great people and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Had my wife's birthday party there. Did a great job. Fabulous food and staff. Had about 25 people and everything turned out great.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    51
    23
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Va
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Gourmet Food at Reasonable Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Bistro has an eclectic style with attentive service but what really catches your attention is the food. It ranges from good to excellent. The sausage and grapes appetizer is suprisingly good and different. The entrees are both tasty and filling. The creme brulee cheesecake is divine as is the key lime pie and I very seldom order dessert out. I have tasted most items on the menu and have not been disappointed. The chef usually makes an appearance and greets his patrons. I like it and i'll be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmville
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Hard to find, nice inside, but old and a musty smell. The waitress was good and attentive. The food was average. Salmon was a tad dry and overcooked, maybe 2 tablespoons of veggies (would have liked more), all in all was okay, but I wouldn't seek it out again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, North Carolina
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“great find a little off the highway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Bistro at Market and Grove is in the historic district of Petersburg. We were travelling from NC to Baltimore and wanted to eat lunch somewhere in the middle of the ride, but didn't want fast/chain food. We went to Tripadvisor and searched restaurants in Petersburg and found the Bistro. The service and food are really good. We only had lunch, but our sandwiches were fresh and inventive. The dining room has an interesting feel, w/ southern charm. If travelling on I-95 or you are in Petersburg for some other reason this is a worthwhile stop.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Find on our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We found the Bistro at Market and Grove by happenstance when traveling this Spring. When we saw the wildly eclectic decor we were not sure what to expect. However, a look at the menu reassured us, as the food looked and sounded interesting (without being over the top) and the wine list was nice, with some interesting choices. We had a lovely and tasty meal and found this diversion from our long trip to have been well worth it. I highly recommend the Bistro to all travelers.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro at Market and Grove also viewed

 

Been to The Bistro at Market and Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bistro at Market and Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.