We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Such A Nice Stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11979 South Crater Road, Petersburg, VA 23805   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not Such A Nice Stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Had many issues staying at this location. They charged me for a Reward Night, the lock was bad on my room door and they were out many food items at breakfast including the much coveted sticky buns. the pancake machine was broken as well. The staff was nice, but seemed overworked to me. Room was a little dated, but clean and comfortable. Bathroom was clean. Could have been a fluke,but I would choose another hotel if I had to stay in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear drumclub,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    37
    16
    16
    9
See reviews for
64
33
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The rates are satisfactory and the rooms were clean, but they had forgotten the soap for the rooms. When I went to the front desk I was told that there would only be one cake of soap would be allocated for each room. Let's see four adults and two children does not one cake of soap per room go very far. The breakfast was good, but the front desk folks also had to double up refilling the cereal dispenser, and the breads. Wonder if somebody called off or that's the way this pace is run. May have try another place on my next trip.

Room Tip: Make sure that you are on a floor with an ice machine. Our 4th floor did not have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Norb K,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our property. Our efforts are always to ensure our guests are satisfied and our hotel is maintained to be comfortable while you are with us. It is great to know you liked the breakfast you had. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you had with the room amenities and the service you received. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the HI Express on our way from Maine to North Carolina. We were tired and eager to relax for our final night. We travel frequently and fell we hit the jackpot with this lovely hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room was a delight! We were given a 1 bedroom suite which was very comfortable and large. It is two rooms and a nice sofa and chair in one room and the beds in another. The beds were clean and comfy. The refrigerator was a nice plus. The breakfast provided many choices, including a pancake machine, pre-made omelets, fresh fruit, good coffee and the typical cereals and pastries.

We feel it was a great value for all we enjoyed.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet. We always travel with a 3-way bulb, and I did use i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for four days with several little league teams. The staff was accommodating and the kids all had a great time. Plenty of breakfast was available. We found this to be a good family value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was the second time that we have stayed in this hotel driving back from SC to NJ. We were given a 1 bedroom suite which was really big for just the two of us. The beds were nice and it was clean. My major complaint was that the room was dark. The lights are not bright enough for my liking, however I would not have a problem staying there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a good stay, but I felt it was a bit expensive for a hotel that really wasn't close to downtown Petersburg or the battle ground. We thought it was a bit closer. Also, the girl working at the desk was nice, but she seemed to know absolutely nothing about the area (even though she said she was from Petersburg). At one point my husband asked for directions to the the battle ground and she asked if we wanted to get to Williamsburg? No....the Petersburg National Battlefield. She said she had never heard of it??? Really?? Then she asked us if that was a big attraction. I explained to her that not knowing about it was kind of like working at a hotel in Orlando and telling people you had never heard of Disney. Later that night we came back to the hotel with take out from King's BBQ which is just down the road and from what I have read a fairly popular restaurant in the area. Again she told me she had never heard of it. PLEASE tell the hotel manager to take some time going over local area attractions and restaurants with their front desk staff. Hotel guests should be able to rely on a local hotel for area information. Otherwise, our room was nice and big and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stopped here after traveling from Tennessee to New Jersey. The woman at the front desk was very friendly and gave us a great price. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast, which was not a simple continental breakfast. They had cereal, pancakes, sausage, bacon, oatmeal, cinnamon rolls, etc. The only downside of my visit there was the young man that ran the breakfast. The breakfast is from 6:30 am - 9:30am and a woman came down at 9:25 and was told by the rude man that she needs to get down here on time. She nicely asked if she could get more of the eggs and he told her no because it was closing up. I felt very bad for the woman because this man was just downright rude and inconsiderate. So... if you stay here and you want to take advantage of the free breakfast you better get down there on time or you will get rudely reprimanded by the punk running the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee

Address: 11979 South Crater Road, Petersburg, VA 23805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where contemporary hospitality meets thoughtful amenities, at the Holiday Inn Richmond Petersburg North Ft Lee. Located just off I-95 at exit 53 in Colonial Heights, we offer a convenient gateway to Petersburg, Hopewell, Prince George, Dinwiddie, Chester, as well as Fort Lee and Virginia State University. Surround yourself with a diverse range of attractions, from the thrills of Virginia Motorsports Park to the Petersburg National Battlefield and Pamplin Historical Park to the bargains at Southpark Mall. Even if you're in Petersburg/Colonial Heights to enjoy the great outdoors, we want you to enjoy our great indoors as well. Savor tasty grill favorites and delightful ambiance in the Mixing Bowl Restaurant, or dine in the privacy of your room. Enjoy the solitude of elegant rooms, featuring stylish décor and the comforts of home. Stay current and connected with high-speed Internet access. Stock your refrigerator with snacks, drinks, and easy-to-prepare meals. Polish up tomorrow's presentation at your spacious work desk with ergonomic chair. Hosting an event? Select from over 6,000 square feet of event space, including 5 elegantly appointed meeting rooms. Trust our on-site event planners to design a flawless catered event. We're here, ready with all you need to make your trip to the Tri-Cities a success. We're the new Holiday Inn Richmond Petersburg North Ft Lee! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee Hotel Petersburg
Holiday Inn Petersburg
Petersburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.