We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11979 South Crater Road, Petersburg, VA 23805   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed overnight after a long drive from N.C. It's very clean & comfortable. Better than most one night stays we have during our travels. The breakfast buffet is better than most and the staff was very helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    43
    16
    17
    11
See reviews for
70
36
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom suite. The location is very convenient - just off of 95. The suite was huge. The online photos don't do it justice. It was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast provided a nice selection. My biggest concerns while traveling are safety and cleanliness. I loved that the mattresses had plastic covers - one more defense against bed bugs - none to be seen! I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stopped on our way from PA to NC. We were welcomed by Jennifer, an excellent ambassador for Holiday Inn, who was very friendly, professional and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located right off I-95 with a gas station close by also. The room decor is average, but spacious. The breakfast buffet had great selections, and the staff was very pleasant. We didn't use the amenities due to our short stay, however, they all looked well maintained. All employees offered to help or assist in any way possible, but Jennifer was a superstar when it came to customer service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were so tired from driving and my wife caught a flu, and we stopped at the Holiday inn and Shaneika and Jennifer went out of their way to make my family as happy as they can. The kids loved the pool and it was great to have a snack counter for the kids. My kids also loved the upgrade to the suite. My son felt like he was on Home Alone!!!
Thanks again
The Henry Family

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel has a convenient location and typical amenities. I didn't get a chance to use the indoor pool, but it looked good at a glance. Breakfast was fairly typical, rooms were very spacious. While the lobby and breakfast area were fairly nice, the rooms were not quite as nice (worn carpet, bathtub not well-maintained). There are very few choices for restaurants nearby, although the Lighthouse across the street was a good seafood meal. Lots of young Army soldiers staying here - made for some loud evenings for some other folks in our group (didn't bother me though).

Room Tip: the rear of the hotel faces toward I-95
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear 2kidsin2w,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback. I am happy to know that you found our location convenient and hotel amenities commendable. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations especially with the condition of the room accommodations you were given and level of noise encountered. I have taken note of your comments and I appreciate them as this is our best resource of improving guest satisfaction.

Once again, many thanks for your review. We look forward to your future reservations.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, New York, USA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Clean, comfortable, safe place to stay for the night. Great breakfast selection which is free, complimentary. Hot & cold items to choice from. Low hallway noise, comfortable beds, little light 'glowing' from outside into the bedroom, clean bed/bathroom, nice shower. Heated pool & hot tub was really 'heated' and felt wonderful after a long day on the road. There is a chair lift for the pool & for the hot tub if needed. Great location first exit on I-95S after I-295S merges into I-95S. Gas stations nearby to fuel back up before going back on the road. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Join the Priority Club for free to earn free nights at the many chains (Holiday Inn, Crowne Plaza, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stopped here on our way from NJ to FL. Hotel is located right off of I-95. We had a 1 BR with a pull out couch in the living room. The room was clean and spacious. The included breakfast buffet was fairly good and had plenty to offer with scrambeld eggs, tasty cinammon buns, bagels, yogurt, fruit, cereal, etc. The price was very reasonable and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sljonesharris, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank You so much for taking time out of your schedule and giving us your feedback with our hotel. We do read as well as share all of the comments and feedback with our staff. Thanks Again and we do look forward to your future visits with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Petersburg, VA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee

Address: 11979 South Crater Road, Petersburg, VA 23805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay where contemporary hospitality meets thoughtful amenities, at the Holiday Inn Richmond Petersburg North Ft Lee. Located just off I-95 at exit 53 in Colonial Heights, we offer a convenient gateway to Petersburg, Hopewell, Prince George, Dinwiddie, Chester, as well as Fort Lee and Virginia State University. Surround yourself with a diverse range of attractions, from the thrills of Virginia Motorsports Park to the Petersburg National Battlefield and Pamplin Historical Park to the bargains at Southpark Mall. Even if you're in Petersburg/Colonial Heights to enjoy the great outdoors, we want you to enjoy our great indoors as well. Savor tasty grill favorites and delightful ambiance in the Mixing Bowl Restaurant, or dine in the privacy of your room. Enjoy the solitude of elegant rooms, featuring stylish décor and the comforts of home. Stay current and connected with high-speed Internet access. Stock your refrigerator with snacks, drinks, and easy-to-prepare meals. Polish up tomorrow's presentation at your spacious work desk with ergonomic chair. Hosting an event? Select from over 6,000 square feet of event space, including 5 elegantly appointed meeting rooms. Trust our on-site event planners to design a flawless catered event. We're here, ready with all you need to make your trip to the Tri-Cities a success. We're the new Holiday Inn Richmond Petersburg North Ft Lee! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee Hotel Petersburg
Holiday Inn Petersburg
Petersburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Petersburg-Fort Lee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.