We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Destiny Inn Bed & Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Destiny Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Destiny Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
517 High Street, Petersburg, VA 23803   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Petersburg B&B and Inns
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We recently spent the night at The Destiny Inn with friends while visiting the Petersburg battlefields. The Inn is perfection. Perfectly delightful hosts, spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, elegant comfort in every detail. We will definitely return. We enjoyed dinner just a short walk from the Inn, and breakfast was beautifully served and delicious at the Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

we just wanted a place to sleep in for the night during our 10 hrs drive. But Destiny Inn was sooooo much more than just a nice place to sleep in. the room was clean and scented, bed was sooooo comfy! we slept throught the whole night without waking up or back aching. The house was nicely decorated, we can definitely see how much effort the host family has put into! not to mention how warm and friendly they are! and we also found Petersburg is a city with history, a lot of battlefields around, too bad they were all closed when we were around due to the shut down. If we ever get to go there again, we would definitely stay in Destiny Inn once more!


  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Junaluska, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

September 18 and 19 were two of the most memorable days and nights we have had in a long time. Our hosts, Perita and Mitch, went out of their way to help make it so. The renovated house in old Petersburg is a marvel. They have taken an old, dilapadated house and returned it to its elegance of the late 1800's. They have also done remarkable things with the old carriage house out back. The beauty of the deck and yard invite you to relaxation or to party. The elegance, beauty, and comfort of the rooms makes it a place to which I'd like to return. On top of everything else, the breakfast was also delightful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Seldom do businesses, products or properties live up 100% to their promises. DESTINY INN DOES! To quote their PR exactly, "Specializing in premier guest services and elegant affairs since 2007...making memories in the comfort of casual elegance..." From September 18-20, 2013, my brother and I, a first cousin and our spouses experienced all the above. All of us in our 80's and one age 90 met to remember the past and prepare for the future. The ambiance and perfect understanding and service of the Destiny Inn met our every need. All of this was experienced in the midst of historic Petersburg (coming back strong) and encouraging one of us who was born in this very home in 1923 and the rest of us who visited there every year. Our hosts were two of the most gracious, caring persons we have ever known. Their B&B must be experienced to be believed.

Room Tip: All equally good, well appointed, quiet...sizes vary a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, SC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Destiny Inn in Petersburg, VA, is a lovely place to stay. Based on the "before" pictures, the owners, Mitch and Perdita, have done an amazing job of renovating this building. Every detail has been thoughtfully planned, and it feels like a home with all the family pictures. The owners made us feel right at home, chatting with us and giving us information on restaurants in town. Breakfast was wonderful as was their hospitality. We highly recommend this B&B for anyone staying in Petersburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We found out about the inn online and were impressed both with the reviews and their website. The price was affordable for a B&B, and when we walked in, we were very favorably impressed. The house is beautifully restored and decorated, Mitch and Perita were gracious hosts, and the room was beautifully decorated, immaculately clean, and very comfortable. We enjoyed the backyard and rec room during the evening--a great way to unwind while on vacation. The breakfast was very nice too. We will definitely stay there again if back in the Petersburg area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We found The Destiny Inn on a web search as a layover for a long drive. So happy we did. The innkeepers were welcoming and we felt immediately at home. Most of the house is open to guests with a comfortably formal entry, living, and dining room. A small library and upstairs seating area offer many options for relaxing. Our room was tastefully decorated as was the entire property. Our hosts helped us choose a great spot for dinner and were adept at foreseeing our needs while also respecting our privacy (a wonderful balance). Breakfast was simple and elegant. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Destiny Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Destiny Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 517 High Street, Petersburg, VA 23803
Location: United States > Virginia > Petersburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Petersburg
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Destiny Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.