We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pamplin Historical Park

Pamplin Historical Park
6125 Boydton Plank Road, Petersburg, VA 23803
877-726-7546, 804-861-2408
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 Attractions in Petersburg
Type: Historic Sites, Military Museums, Parks, Amusement/ Theme Parks, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Featuring the exciting National Museum of the Civil War Soldier, Tudor Hall and a recreated Military Encampment, this 424-acre park relives the life and times of a soldier during America's "War Between the States."
Lexington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

great place to pass time at if you have time to spare. not a young kids things. definitely something you wouldn't plan a trip to do though

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    19
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Truly a National Treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

As an American, you owe it to yourself (and to your children) to visit this magnificent National Park. It's not only beautiful in its appearance, but it's filled with Civil War history in a way that enables you to "feel" the experience. You MUST go through the Civil War Museum. I learned so much...that I hadn't learned (or perhaps forgot) in my school days.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemberServices1865, Public Relations Manager at Pamplin Historical Park, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Google Translation
We appreciate your positive comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Mills, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Civil War Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I visit all National Parks when I travel the states, but I am especially interested in the Civil War era. This park is not part of the NP, but it has to be one of the best park/museum I have visited in my travels relating to th Civil War.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemberServices1865, Public Relations Manager at Pamplin Historical Park, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“An Excellent and Unbiased Effort to Honor and Preserve the History of Civil War Soldiers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

First of all, the scope of this private museum is massive, and rivals any public museum I have been in. It provides an in depth and up close look at the experiences of the civil war soldier. In addition, it takes an honest look at slavery as practiced on this plantation. Most importantly for me, it has some of the best preserved the earthworks form the Petersburg siege, at the point where Grant finally broke through on April 2, 1865. This is a must see for any student of American history.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemberServices1865, Public Relations Manager at Pamplin Historical Park, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Great, thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Should be much better known”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I practically had the place to ourselves the day we went. Why everybody doesn't know about this place is beyond me - it is fantastic. Incredibly informative and entertaining with knowledgable, welcoming staff. Well worth a trip out from Richmond or Petersburg.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemberServices1865, Public Relations Manager at Pamplin Historical Park, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for helping to spread the word about Pampin Historical Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pamplin Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Pamplin Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pamplin Historical Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.