We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAFF & A GREAT HOTEL!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Brownsville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Hotel Brownsville to your Saves list
Magnuson Hotel Brownsville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   715 North Expressway 77/83, Hwy 77 & the Price Road Exit, Brownsville, TX 78520   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Brownsville
New Braunfels, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GREAT STAFF & A GREAT HOTEL!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I just have to say Thank you to the staff at this Days Inn they were great and very accomodating! I have nothing negative to say about this hotel from the moment my family and I got there the staff did everything to make sure we had a plesant stay... Check-in isn't until 3pm and usually my family and I runlate for everything but for some reason we made great time It was 4th of July so i was assuming it would be crazy checking in, called to ask if we could check in early they said no problem we were given a great room downstairs facing the pool the beds are FANTASTIC!! And so is the AC. IDK about you guys but to me those two are most important when i stay in a hotel and of course cleanliness. Now this hotel is older but the hosekeepers do an excellent job of cleaning these rooms everything was spotless!! They don't offer breakfast which kinda sucked since we were on a budget but they have a resturaunt on the property and omg its delicious!! and very budget friendly they have a bfast plate for $2 yep $2 our family ate breakfast for less than $12 and that included drinks!!! if your coming to Brownsville and you have a choice stay here! The price, the staff, and the location are all great when we come to brownsville this is the hotel we will be staying at!! Cant say enough good things about them. Thanks again for making our family vacation memorable :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
5
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We recently stayed here this past weekend, and its gross!!! There was hair in the bathtub, dried up toothpaste on the sink and the bathroom floor was stained. Not to mention the tub no-slip stickers were black,old and peeling off. (We had to lay a towel down to step on while we showered) The little paper key sleeve even had dried up food on it! I threw it away immediately thinking "how hard is it to get a new piece of paper that holds a plastic key?". One of my pillows had stains on it, but luckily there were 2 others I could use. It is however convenient to the beach and other restaurants. I think next time I'll pay an extra $50 for cleanliness. P.S. I have no idea what WeeklyTraveler2000 was talking about. Maybe he's confused which Days Inn he stayed at, because this place is clearly not "wow"!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel before and it is a great improvement. I first saw the new paint on the outside and then the new lobby furniture. I got to my room 107 and every thing was new great bed and current. Not bad for $59.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

Broken lock on door,cracked walls, waiter using fly swatter on tables and curtains at meal times. No coffee refills.

Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

I booked a 2 night stay at this Hotel online without properly reviewing the condition of the property. We arrived after a long drive in the early afternoon. My first sign that something was wrong was that there were only 2 cars in the entire parking lot, and one was a Semi. We found the lobby was old and outdated. Upon arriving in out room, we found it smelled of cigarrettes and was very musty, like old wet carpet, which was probably the case. The pillow cases had blood and other (don't ask) stains on them. There was a hole in the wall the size of my hand. To top it off, when we opened the window shades, we found it opened onto the alley, across which was several derelect duplexes with chairs strategically placed on the roof to better watch the coming and goings in the hotel rooms and parking lots. Days Inn should drop the accreditation for this property.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxworth, Mississippi
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

We stayed here with our three children for about 70.00. It was a nice hotel. Maybe needs some updated but really for the price it was better than some of the other hotels. The breakfast is great. You go to the in house resteraunt and they take your order. It has free internet service in the lobby. The staff were okay, nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

This hotel was what you expect of your average, bargain-priced Days Inn. We were happy with the cleanliness of the room - no visible dirt. We did not make use of the pool, so are unsure of the quality of that. This hotel would be perfect for those who just need a clean, comfortable bed for the night.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Hotel Brownsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Brownsville

Address: 715 North Expressway 77/83, Hwy 77 & the Price Road Exit, Brownsville, TX 78520
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Brownsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Brownsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Brownsville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Brownsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel Brownsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.