We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Value Place Brownsville, TX

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Value Place Brownsville, TX to your Saves list
Value Place Brownsville, TX
995 Media Luna Road, Brownsville, TX 78520   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Snohomish, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was our first experience with a Value Place accommodation. We saw the ad in a tourist brochure so decided to check it out and we were very pleased with our experience. I agree with cocoa3c's review. We have been coming to Brownsville in the winter for the past 8 years and generally stay 2-3 weeks. We have stayed in other extended stay motels and must say that this was the cleanest accommodation. The staff really prides themselves on making sure the room passes the "white glove" test. The fixtures and appliances are well maintained. I always carry cooking supplies including coffee pot and slow cooker because we alternate camping in state/national parks and "motel camping". If you don't have cooking equipment, you can purchase a basic service for 2 for $30 and a coffee pot for $10. I think that it is good value and would rival any thing you could buy at Walmart. We require a non-smoking room. Lots of places will alternate smoking and non-smoking or a room will be designated non-smoking but there is the lingering odor of a smoker. Or a smoker will stand outside your room and the A/C sucks the smoke in. This isn't a problem here because floors 1,2,3 are all nonsmoking. Smoking is only allowed on the 4th floor. My only reccomendation would be to try to avoid a Sunday check-in because the office is closed on Sundays so it makes the logistics a little more difficult. We will stay in other Value Place locations and will definitely return to this one.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at Value Place Brownsville, TX, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear you had a great experience. Because our Studio Attendants follow checklists of simple, thorough and effective housekeeping practices ,they know they're making a difference to each and every guest—as well as to the Value Place employees who live onsite and whose job it is to ensure that we're upholding our superior cleaning standards. We wish you well with your future travels and hope you'll come back and visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
3
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

The concept is nice - stay a full week for a low price. BUT beware of extra charges. I was charged a $30 penalty because I got blood on 3 towels (Cut shaving) . When questioned about it, the manager said that was the company policy - a cleaning charge. I advised it was the first I had heard about it. I was told that I signed a paper agreeing to this at check in. I was not given a copy of the "agreement" by the way. And, I specifically asked the manager at check-in what the deposit was for. He only said it was to make sure no one stole the remotes. Change of linen after one week is extra $7.50. No coffee machines, but you can buy one in the office for $30. And then there was the noise which the management permitted until someone, usually me, complained. e.g. people slamming doors in the hallway, yelling in the hallways at 3 AM, heavy metal music in the parking lot at 11PM along with skateboarding, allowing beer drinking in parking lot by residents, and loud parties in rooms into the late hours of the morning. In addition, there is a $45 penalty if you do not notify the front desk of your departure at least 24 hours before leaving. I called the corporate office to complain about the $30 towel penalty, but I have not gotten a call back. (3 days). Also, their website's e-mail does not work, and if one calls the corporate office, one gets a recorded message and a request to leave an voice-mail. This from a company the alleges outstanding customer service on its website. I do not recommed staying here at any price.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

I was a bit nervous about booking at Value Place, since I could find only one review on it, but I was pleasantly surprised. This extended stay hotel is geared to "per week" stay for travellers on a smaller budget (like my husband and I) and those who don't need amenities. The rooms are small, but well designed and functional. They promote their cleanliness which the rooms exibit. There was no dust on the window ledge or the top of the fridge (yeah, I checked...lol). The kitchen two burner stove top and microwave suffices for supper meals. I would advise keeping all food in the fridge, as bugs can be attracted.
We stayed two weeks and found the location nicely situated for accessing restaurants just across the parking lot (Denny's, Tony Roma''s), area golf courses, the Brownsville visitor center just up the street, a driving range across the street, the very nice Sunrise Mall within walking distance, nearby bus routes, and the freeway and main roads for going downtown to the zoo or museums, or to South Padre Island or to any of the fairly close Nature reserves. I brought my netbook and got the more secure ethernet hook up for a small weekly rate. There is also a tidy coin operated laundry facility.
The staff was very friendly and willng to meet any needs even with just a call after front desk hours ended. Our room was at the back and was quiet from any traffic sounds. I don't know what the front rooms facing the freeway are like. The rooms seem to be well sound proofed between rooms and floors as well.
For me the drawbacks were that you had to bring all of your kitchen utensils, dishes and cookware for your stay, that there was no place to sit outside on the property, or a pool, which I would have appreciated. Like I said, it's economy and not really for hanging out in the rooms too much. Also, the staff aren't well informed as to the local sights or activities, but you can go to the visitor center.
Near the end of our stay, we could see that the place was pretty much booked up, so it can't be too bad. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at Value Place Brownsville, TX, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. No matter what brings you to Value Place, you can count on a respectful, helpful and friendly team dedicated to keeping the Value Place promise to our guests. We wish you well with your future travels and if there is ever you need lodging, we hope you'll choose Value Place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Value Place Brownsville, TX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Place Brownsville, TX

Address: 995 Media Luna Road, Brownsville, TX 78520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Brownsville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Brownsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Place is a much better place Before you decide to stay at Value Place, we want you to be prepared—prepared for a better guest experience. What that means to us is a truly affordable, incredibly clean, safer, simple, flexible experience. And this is more than just a nice idea—it’s the Value Place promise. So how do we do it? By combining all the convenience of a hotel and all the essentials of an apartment. We’re a hybrid—and that makes us better than a hotel, an apartment or any other short-term or long-term housing accommodations you’ll find. Think about it—no extras padded into our price, no hidden fees. No lease to sign, no utilities to set up. And that’s just for starters. Find out how we’re different and what to expect when you’re here. What to expect when you arrive After a brief room tour, you’ll register, pay for the week plus a refundable $100 deposit, and agree to our house rules—which basically come down to common-sense policies that protect the privacy and security of each and every guest. Value Place is a family-friendly place, and children 17 and under stay free. To maintain a consistent guest experience at all of our properties we do have a No Pet Policy, except for service animals. Then we’ll show you to your guest room. It’s that easy. What to expect in your room Although Value Place offers several room choices, the essential features stay the same. You can always count on a simple but fully furnished studio with a kitchen that includes a full size refrigerator and freezer, a microwave, a two-burner stovetop and plenty of cabinet space. You’ll also find two drinking cups, a trash bag, a roll of bathroom tissue and a bar of soap to get you started—because at Value Place, we figure you’d rather shop on your own terms than pay for extras you may not need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Value Place Brownsville, TX reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Place Brownsville Hotel Brownsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Value Place Brownsville, TX, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.